Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Killin > Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Main Road
Killin
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK21 8TN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 95
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 66 Reviews
                9/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lavjan 10 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights as stop over. Pitches so close together, why do you have to face another van!

Why do the Caravan Club charge for wifi!

This was not the site for me, back to independent and CL sites, where you have more choice and more relaxed.

The location of Killin and Loch Tay is excellent.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

Our second visit to the site this time stay over on our way home from our Scotland tour. Lovely little site by the river toilet facilities are lovely plenty of hot water, did not use the showers, wash up area laundry and a drying room. The staff are helpful and friendly a nice walk into the village a newsagent, coop, bakers, gift shops, restaurants and cafés and a couple of pubs and of course the falls. Busy road but the noise did not bother us. But when we were there, there was a lot of building work was going on at the side of the site and it was very noisy through the day. Not sure for how long. We will be back when we tour Scotland so convenient.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Katiecaravan 2 reviews from this member

Well once again we were at this site in June, we try and have at least two long weekends here every year! We love this site as it is well laid out always very clean and the people are so nice! Killin itself is only a small village and it doesn't look as if there's very much to do but believe me that is not the case! The site is lovely and central for the village, the Coachouse Hotel is directly over the road from the site entrance, many a fabulous night has been spent in there as they have some (very good) bands and singers on at the weekend, Janice and David along with their family own this hotel so you always get a very warm welcome! The Falls of Dochart at the end of the town is lovely for a meal or just a drink they've also opened up a lovely wee coffee shop in their premises which is also lovely. The Smiddy is also lovely for a meal and is very child friendly they have also opened a new bistro but it was just in the process of opening when we were there in June so we've not tried that out yet (1st port of call when we return to the site next month)If you fancy spending a little more the Bridge of Lochy at the other end of the village (across from the golf course) is also lovely for a meal, we often make that our Sunday treat! All in all it's a fantastic site which we would thoroughly recommend!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Caledonian1 2 reviews from this member

I visited site 4 times this year in my wee vw camper

Toilets spotless

Site spotless

Gardens and paths very well kept

Patrons and staff very friendly and polite

Killin locals friendly

Well done to the management for a well organised and managed site.

Free fishing on site with wide river running past certain pitches.

An additional bonus is the historical and natural beauty of the site location and the surrounding areas.

Historical derelict Finlarig castle nearby (free to explore at your own risk)

The falls of Dochart (Fast running rocky rapids and can be viewed from the main road) these are stunning and will be a memory you will never forget.

There is a very well managed Hotel almost directly across the road from the site and food is available, there is a pool table and great entertainment at the weekend.

Shops, store and off licence + 2 other bars/restaurants 10-15 mins away along a visually pleasant streetlit walk

Suitable for my needs but others needs may differ

I look forward to my return

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JOHN G W 18 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site for a two nights on returning from the Highlands, it is set in a lovely setting on the outskirts of Killin, we were greeted by some very friendly wardens, our pitch was set next to the river and the whole site was well kept, the toilets were very clean, we used the laundry facilities and found them very reasonable, it was only a short walk into Killin with excellent restaurants and pubs, the only downside was tat the T. V. Reception was non existent, but all in all a very nice site and one that we would return to.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ukblueuk 9 reviews from this member

Beautiful site in a beautiful location. People have complained about the toilets and showers saying they're dated, nothing at all wrong with them, nice and clean all the time. Just a pleasant stroll away is Killin with its pubs (dog friendly) and co-op, which had extremely pleasant staff. Now for the down side, the prison wardens who run this site. We were told straight away, not to walk our dogs on site (fair enough) not to let them even have a wee on the grass ( tell that to the dogs), but I have never met such a miserable bunch in my life, some have said fantastic wardens polite & pleasant, well it must be if your face fits. They really need to loosen up a bit, especially to dog owners. One bloke was told not to tie his dog outside the toilet while he nipped in. While its important to keep a site in good order and making sure dog owners behave, they need to remember people are on holiday and they are here to unwind not tiptoe over the grass. And it costs nothing to smile. I would have said this was the best site I have ever been on had the wardens been a bit more polite (note to wardens - go into the local co-op and see some true customer service) we pay your wages

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aldoscott 19 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic weekend at Maragowan. The site is very picturesque and well kept. The shower facilities were spotless as were the grounds.

You can walk into Killin and there is a small hotel at the gates to the site for a drink or a meal.

The wardens are efficient ( perhaps a little snippy ) but they do a good job of maintaining the site.

We will return to this site and recommend everyone to try it.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caz duncan 2 reviews from this member

Good clean site, family friendly, highly recommend. Lots to do locally, lots of places to eat good pubs inns around for something to eat. Shops very close by including supermarket. Toilet facilities on site spotless, lots of wild life around site, small play park for kids staff helpful. Definitely be back.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Site is a just a few minutes walk outside the village and although on the main road we were bothered by traffic noise at all.

Usual high standards from the CC in the facilities block, although it seems fairy old the inside is very well kept and very clean. The wardens were very friendly and cheerful - full marks to them.

Pitches are on gravel hardstanding and plenty of room. A small children's play area and the site backs onto the river so access to the riverbank.

Easy walk into the village which has a good size coop, several other small shops and numerous cafes, hotels and restaurants. The Falls of Dochart are in the village and pretty spectacular.

Good bike rides from the site, a few easy ones on extremely quiet lanes and many more challenging into the hills.

The site was fairly busy but we were surprised at prices of £28 per night for non members shown in reception. £18. 50 for members is still fairly expensive for this time of year.

A good site and its proximity to the village is a bonus. Would use again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil41 48 reviews from this member

Lovely site, we had a good pitch next to river, toilet block very good warm clean and with plenty of hot water. Nice walk into village with a couple of gift shops a good coop that sold the lovely soft morning rolls and every thing else you should need

The water falls are spectacular and there are two or three places to eat and drink. The pub next to the site is good and does good food, very popular with the site visitors and they have live music at the weekend.

They have a parakeet that kept my OH amused. The site is surrounded by hills with great views.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Killin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7214 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019