Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Killin > Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Main Road
Killin
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK21 8TN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 95
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 66 Reviews
                9/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elstead32 3 reviews from this member

We loved this site, the location is wonderful, we pitched adjacent to the river & every day the ducks came to investigate us!

The site is very peaceful, the wardens extremely helpful & the pub across the road was brilliant!

Live bands/singers played on the Friday & Saturday night, the pub was packed & only a 3 min walk back to the van. Fantastic!

The toilet block (my husband used this, I prefer my own bathroom), was immaculate & well maintained. We will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Briary 14 reviews from this member

Husband and I visited this site and yes everything was lovely. Large Pitches and clean toilets/showers.

We were able to walk to the golf course just up the road where we had an excellent round on a superb golf course.

The club stewardess gave simply the best service to us and our friends that we had ever experienced. We therefore had an evening meal there in the evening which was absolutely fantastic and excellent value for money. As long as you book the meal with them you don't even have to have played golf.

Highly recommend you visit - even for the scenery whilst eating.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Highlander09 17 reviews from this member

Lovely situation just outside the village and on the river bank. When we stayed there were swans, ducks and geese on site. We would imagine it is very pretty earlier in the year when the weather is dryer and warmer.

Generous hard standing pitches, many overlooking the river. Although there is no dog walk on site a large field is close by.

Plenty of places to eat in the village, some offering discount to CC members.

TV signal is very limited and we could not get BBC, possible better if you have satellite.

Shower block and toilets need updating, not to the usual CC standards although clean but very basic and small cubicles.

We would visit the area again but would stay at the alternative site a little further outside the village as pitches are set in woodland glades.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JANE14 11 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site, one of the best 'Caravan club', sites they have, the staff keep the site and toilet blocks spotless and are always out on the site and will always speak.

The site is set on the edge of the village where you are able to get any supplies you could ever want.

My husband found the The Wee Bake Shop on the 2nd day we were staying-fantastic steak and haggis pies and lovely fruit pies that were so good we ordered 6 to take home with us!

We were there for 13 nights and only took the car out 4 times as there were lots of lovely walks from the site and the views from the site meant I was happy sat reading while my husband was enjoying the free fishing from the river that runs on the edge of the site.

Would recommend this site to anyone and we look forward to returning again.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wynnie69 4 reviews from this member

Nice site set on the banks of the river,big pike to be caught !,lovely well kept site,toilets very nice loads of hot water and clean, plenty showers so no need to wait,pitches were large plenty space for caravan,awning and car.

Wardens were very nice and helpful,exit and entry via a barrier so safe, walking distance to shops and pubs,nearest pub to the site had entertainment at the weekend and was very good and drinks were very reasonable, also 10 per cent off food if you had your membership card with you for the caravan club.

No dog walk on the site but miles of dog walks outside the caravan park so well walked dogs,very scenic area and we enjoyed our week,we will be back

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jan + Don + Molly 28 reviews from this member

Lovely site by a river. Stayed for a few nights and really enjoyed it.

The village is within walking distance and has a Co-Op and post office as well as cafes, gift shops, newsagents, fishing tackle shop and lots more.

The river bridge is only wide enough for one vehicle at a time but has good visibility so is not a problem. Its not far to Loch Tay and there is fishing in the river on site.

The toilets and showers were club standard and the wardens were very nice and helpful.

The pitches are all spacious and well laid out - you were spoilt for choice as they all looked good.

A very pleasant site which we would return to.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmn 12 reviews from this member

Spent a very pleasant couple of days here.

Very well kept park, up to the usual high Caravan Club standards. Reception staff very friendly.

We opted for a pitch in the centre of the site, away from the road (can be noisy), and the riverside (high tension cables run riverside above those pitches).

Free fishing as others have mentioned, but very limited where you can fish because of aforementioned cables.

Plenty of ducks on site, and you can buy duck food for them in reception.

Phone reception (o2) is terrible, but site is expected to get wi-fi in June, so that will be a huge improvement.

There is a play area for pre-school children but absolutely nothing for older children - which seems to be a bit of a trait on CC sites unfortunately.

Overall would return though - nice site!

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mags0152 25 reviews from this member

Agree with everything previous reviewers have said. Friendly welcome, beautifully kept site and great facilities. The area is fantastic for those who enjoy outdoor pursuits of all kinds. We have cycled, walked and played golf. The local course is lovely with wonderful views from just about every tee. There are beaches on Loch Tay with fantastic views up the loch. On a couple of sunny afternoons we have taken the dogs there to swim and you could almost believe you were in some far distant exotic location.

Of particular interest to motorhomers: you can walk or cycle to just about everything you might want to do, making this an ideal location for a few days break without using precious diesel. The MH service point is excellent with a double waste drop so that it doesn't matter which side your waste outlet is when you roll onto it.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ruthven64 9 reviews from this member

Another Caravan Club gem and a credit to the wardens who kept things neat, clean and tidy.

We received a very warm welcome on our first visit to the site and found the wardens to be very helpful and informative. Glad we booked as the site was showing full sign at the entrance and it was easy to see why.

Set on the banks of a river, overlooked by stunning hillside scenery this site is located just a short walk away from the small town of Killin.

Pitches,nearly all hardstanding with EHU were spacious and depending on availability you could choose to be near or far from the toilet shower block, near or further away from the river or in our case near to a hook up point (make sure you have plenty of lead as some of the hook ups are a good distance away from the pitch and a standard length lead would not be long enough).

Showers were excellent with plenty of piping hot water and hooks for hanging clothes/towels on. And none of those push and get 30 seconds worth of water nonsense.Yay!

Great location for relaxing and watching the world go by, try sitting outside the pub just across the road from the Falls of Dochart with a coffee or something stronger or try one of the many walks on offer.We did one from the site into town, followed a disused railway line and then on down to the side of Loch Tay.

Not far to go for those forgotten essentials, the town has a well stocked coop.

Great location for visting the Trossachs, we'll be back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

This is a fabulous site, run by the caravan club.

We have watched this site grow for over 30 years as my in-laws lived and died in the village.

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time visiting old haunts like castle Campbell, west shore Loch tay and the falls, something to see in the winter after heavy rain and snow melt off.

Plenty of nice wee shops in the village, COOP stores, cafes, outdoors shops etc.

The Killin hotel in a must for a steak supper, food allday, the coach and horses across the road also serves food allday.

The site has excellent boiling hot showers and toilets,no time limits, spotlessly cleaned, laundry room and pot wash.

If you select a pitch near the river, watch out for fishermen and their casting as we a one hit the van and tangled up in the wind screen wipers.

Has to be one of the best in Scotland and plenty to see and do.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Killin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5468 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019