Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Killin > Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Maragowan Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Main Road
Killin
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK21 8TN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 95
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

This is a fabulous site, run by the caravan club.

We have watched this site grow for over 30 years as my in-laws lived and died in the village.

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time visiting old haunts like castle Campbell, west shore Loch tay and the falls, something to see in the winter after heavy rain and snow melt off.

Plenty of nice wee shops in the village, COOP stores, cafes, outdoors shops etc.

The Killin hotel in a must for a steak supper, food allday, the coach and horses across the road also serves food allday.

The site has excellent boiling hot showers and toilets,no time limits, spotlessly cleaned, laundry room and pot wash.

If you select a pitch near the river, watch out for fishermen and their casting as we a one hit the van and tangled up in the wind screen wipers.

Has to be one of the best in Scotland and plenty to see and do.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mlj26 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a very wet but none the less enjoyable week in Killin. Lovely clean site, spacious pitches, spotless toilets with good showers and plenty of them.

Nice stroll to the village & good chippy van! spent a lot of the week visiting neighbouring towns and villages, all within easy reach. Better weather would have made the week perfect but that's Scotland for you!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 520 reviews from this member

Spent one night at this great site while touring central Scotland and the Trossachs. It's a short walk from the centre of Killin, which is a great little town with shops, pubs and places to eat, as well as the impressive Falls of Dochart.

Facilities on site were excellent - showers and toilets spotless and all pitches were spacious with EHU. Friendly and helpful staff.

A great place, will certainly return!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ggandj23 6 reviews from this member

This is a fabulous site, we have stayed here on several occasions over the past three years and we keep going back. We stayed here the night the river burst its banks and flooded the site some 2 years ago. A great adventure for us.

Maragowan is well deserving of its high star rating. It is always immaculate, the wardens are friendly and have a great pride in keeping their park clean and tidy.

The pitches are all virtually level, hard standing all have hook ups. There is plenty of room here. If you are in a caravan there is enough room for an awning, your unit and your car without feeling that you are invading someone's space or they are invading yours.

Dogs are welcome but must be kept on a lead on the site. There is however a dog walk just across the bridge next to the site entrance.

Just one thing lets this site down, other than a small wooden motor caravan, there is nothing for children to play on. They must find their entertainment elsewhere.

Killin is a 5min stroll away, along with a co-op and all the usual tourist shops, there is a pet store, hardware shop, cafes and a couple of pubs all of which you would expect in small village.

It is a very quiet and peaceful area. There is a quiet wee public bar attached to the Coach House Hotel down the road from the site which serves good food and great beer. The landlord and his wife are both friendly and welcoming. They also have entertainment on most weekends though you must go early to get a seat.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ferga2 11 reviews from this member

A fine setting next to the river Tay and the site has a good plan with adequate space for all caravans. Good food, pubs and inexpensive boat hire available nearby.

The small site office is also the shop however there is a mini supermarket in the adjacent village, Killin. Unfortunately, the toilet block could be cleaner and the site suffered random power cuts which meant a disruption to showers.

There are poorly displayed notices advising campers to limit their electricity consumption. Also, I suggest the basic playground is developed and fenced due to the nearby river.

The surrounding area is well worth the visit. I definitely recommend this part of Scotland.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Big Frank 31 reviews from this member

A truly lovely setting on the edge of the Trossachs National Park and near to Loch Tay. The weather was pretty dreadful as we arrived and at regular intervals during our stay. All the pitches were the usual super hard standing but some struggled to accommodate the volume of water. The toilet block was spotless and tellingly for this summer centrally heated.

The village of Killin has a variety of eating opportunities and a well stocked Co-op. The wider area is all about outdoor activities with great walking and cycling. A drive over the Dukes Pass is worth the effort.

We were there for 6 nights and will have to go back as the weather cut down our activity options!

Well recommended

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fiferz 1 review from this member

The family and I stayed here for 4 nights in July. We found the site to be very clean and well maintained. The surrounding area is spectacular with great views over the hills and lochs.

The play area is a basic and outdated but served our 4 year old fine. Toilet block was very clean as was the rest of the site. Wardens also very helpful and pleasant.

On our last day, the heavens opened up and a couple of pitches were under water but soon dried up probably due to the river being so close.

Lots of eating places in the town and the local co-op is well stocked.

Overall great site and one we shall be returning to.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 88 reviews from this member

Site 2 of 5 on our North of England and Scotland Tour.

Access is easy with the site entrance being directly off the road that runs through Killan.

The site is set alongside the river and is long and narrow.

The site is all large hard standing pitches with a large grass open area in the centre. TV reception is poor and surrounding trees and hills make satellite signal difficult. Power lines traverse the site for its length.

There is one toilet block and unusually for a Caravan Club site was not really that clean, in truth it smelled like a public toilet at a bus station. At the time of visit it did not look like it had been cleaned for days.

The village of Killan is a short walk away with a few shops, including a reasonably sized Co-op.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Almaz 37 reviews from this member

Even though it rained most of the 4 days we were there it still has to be considered a beautiful setting. Killin is a nice village and the site is set at one end of it. There's a hotel/pub just opposite the entrance that you can happily stagger 'home' from.

The surrounding area is beautiful - Killin sits just below Ben Lawers for those who like climbing - and there are plenty of walks and cycle tracks.

The facilities were very clean and plentiful.

We didn't really need the on site shop but it seemed to have most of the basics you'd look for. With the village being so close however we tended to get any supplies from the Co-op there.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blondie1289 4 reviews from this member

Site is very picturesque, with rolling green hills all around. Disadvantage of that is that we had the 4 seasons over the weekend. However did not spoil our time. Pretty long walk to the wee caul for our 4 year old. Fab chips from chip van on right hand side as going into town.

Toilet block clean, campsite clean.

Childrens play area pretty small but for our 4 year old it did the job.

Wardens helpful but very focused on adhering to the rules.

Would go back and would recommend:)

Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Killin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2646 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019