Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brakes Coppice Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Battle > Brakes Coppice Park Reviews

Brakes Coppice Park
Forewood Lane
Crowhurst
Battle
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN33 9AB
Tel: 01424 830322
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 100 Reviews
                8/10 from 100 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  100 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Twilly 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 4 nights and loved the peaceful setting with woodland walks. The owner/managers were extremely friendly and helpful. The TV aerial point was useful as the trees limited the van's reception. Showers were hot and had good pressure. Other facilities were also good. There is a small shop in reception, and an information point accessible at all times. We cycled to Hastings via Bexhill 1 day and walked along the 1066 trail the next, returning by train both days. Trains are every hour through the day, more at peak times: it took us 15 minutes to walk. The main Hastings road took us 20-25 minutes via footpath. Perfect for our late season break. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Christina-o 5 reviews from this member

 I went for a short weekend break with my family (5 people). The site wasn't particularly easily accessible, with lots of narrow and hilly roads leading to it, so I can imagine people with a large vehicle or trailer may struggle. It was also a bit of a distance to the attractions in Battle.

The facilities were very clean, although I was surprised that there was only one toilet block, so during peak season this may get too busy. Good washing up area, and plenty of water sites. I was disappointed that there was only one freezer unit which was at reception so quite far away.

I thought the price was a bit steep, charging per person per night rather than per pitch. I was also disappointed by the size of the site, with the slopes meaning campers are pretty much on top of each other. Finally, the lake was a lot smaller than I was expecting, and fishing wasn't great. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chalkie222 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a wonderfully relaxing weekend. The site was beautiful and quiet with an abundance of wildlife. The owners were friendly and helpful and the site was well maintained. Toilet and shower block were always clean and warm with plenty of hot water. Can not wait to return in August. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camperhatter 1 review from this member

 A brilliant campsite in a very peaceful setting. Don't be put off by the list of rules, the owner is actually a nice guy and easy to get a long with.

The pitches looked well looked after and everything was presented to a high standard.

The loos and showers were clean and free to use for no additional charge (no coins needed, and were actually decent and nice to use!).

Our camper had some trouble starting one morning and the owner was happy to lend a hand by towing us a short distance to get us started up (really must replace that starter motor. ). Nice guys, seems the type to help where he can.

The site is located a short drive to Hastings or other attractions, such as Bodiam Castle. There's also a well stocked and tidy 'tourist information' point on site with all kind of maps and leaflets - very useful!

We would re visit if in the area again for sure! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: EmmaLadd 3 reviews from this member

 We were pleasantly surprised by the stunning location of Brakes Coppice Park. At Easter the woods were covered in bluebells and it was really tranquil. The site owners were friendly and helpful and the pitches were grassy and easy to get on to. The toilet blocks were pretty basic and could do with modernising, but the water was warm. The children loved the freedom of exploring the woods and making camps with all the fallen wood. There was a lovely dog-walking area through the woods - perfect for all dog needs! The little shop provides basics and there are a number of large supermarkets nearby, as well as Hastings for seaside entertainment. We will be back next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Springfieldbean 1 review from this member

 Great site in a lovely location, with a fantastic river walk to the nearby pub. Perfect for dogs - although you have to keep them on a lead in the site, they can go off by the river, and the pub has a massive garden and welcomes dogs inside and out.

We were really happy to find this site after being disappointed at another campsite in Rye, and we will be returning! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PaulZ 6 reviews from this member

 This was a peaceful site, well sheltered by tall trees and we had a pleasant stay. It has very strict rules about noise and these were generally adhered to (very small children understandably being an exception!) - the site was quiet from before 11pm to around 7 in the morning facilitating a good night's sleep. Being some way from the nearest pub helped in this respect as people didn't come back rowdy and drunk late at night.

The site is well sheltered by tall trees and is in a hollow (poor or no mobile reception!) so there is little problem with wind.

Pitches were generous for small tents which our's was but families with the giant tents were a bit cramped and their cars had to be parked elsewhere.

The shower and toilet facilities were sufficient most of the time but struggled a bit when the site was full.

There is no grocery shop - these are all several miles away so if camp cooking, you need to be organised about your shopping.

There is a central children's play area which the many kids on site thoroughly enjoyed.

On the whole a good find. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crooko 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the site in the early evening. The site wasn't busy so we were able to have a choice of pitches. The main field is surrounded by trees and is circular with pitches all around the outside and a playground in the middle with more pitches around it. There is also a fishing lake where there are a few more pitches. The nicest part is in the woodland where there are about 10 pitches which were quieter.

All the pitches were numbered and were very generous in size.

The showers and the loos were always kept clean.

Unfortunately it was a cold windy weekend so we walked to the nearest pub which was The Plough at Crowhurst, which was about a 40 minute walk away. The menu is very limited and basic but cheap, Wouldn't recommend that you eat there. The alternative is to walk up to the Battle main road to the White Hart, but didn't try that.

There is a handy Tesco express just before you get into Battle which is open late. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Davidg999 1 review from this member

 We've just spent probably the wettest weekend camping ever at this site. The site was so lovely though we barely noticed the rain.

We arrived on Friday Afternoon, (luckily still dry at the moment), the entrance to the site is a steep and winding private drive down into a beautiful wooded valley that time forgot. Pulled up at the wide parking area at reception and was met by the owner, a lovely gentlemen with a wealth of local knowledge. We we're only the 2nd camper on site, the weather forecast had meant others had cancelled and wimped out. The owner gave us a choice of pitches but gave us advice as to which were the driest at the moment as the area had had a deluge of rain the day before and the site was pretty damp. We choose the the nearest hardstanding to the Shower block and we're lucky enough to get our folding camper up before the first of many many showers! The shower block is very new, modern and as good if not better than most. Two large showers in each mens and ladies plus a good sized disabled one. Showers have good hanging pegs and a little stool to sit or place your things on. All were immaculately clean and well stocked with paper and a hand dryer. On the side of the shower block are three large sinks and drainers for washing up, all under cover with piping hot water.

In the centre of the field there is an area for kiddies with a little adventure walkway which our two 9 years old throughly enjoyed, plus a bit of clear ground for running around on or throwing games, (no football)

In between a couple of showers we ventured up into the woodland which is part of the site (about 15 or so acres I think we were told) although a bit steep in places and slippery because of the conditions we all loved scrambling around in the wood, in the dry the kids could have hours and hours of fun in here, all perfectly safe and fenced in all the way around, also at the bottom of the site is a large pond you can fish, again fenced off to stop little ones wandering in unattended. I imagine a very pleasant place to bring a deckchair on a summers evening away from the rest of the site.

On Saturday morning before the heavens really opened we walked back to the main road turned left and walked towards the main town of Crowhurst, on route we came across an RSPB reserve and had a brilliant time wandering around in the huge wood, even came across a little waterfall deep in the valley, nice easy well marked out walks as long or as short as you feel able to manage.

From the site we heard and saw woodpeckers, buzzards flying over heard, loads of rabbits, and we think we saw a fleeting glimpse of a deer of some sort, plus we saw loads of other types of birds, not sure what but they were very pretty, that is till they wake you up at silly a clock in the morning! (that's not really a moan, is was a lovely way to be woken actually).

The site has a good information hut with a freezer for ice blocks at your disposal, an area by reception for linking to wifi and to charge your electrical devices if your not on EHU.

On Sunday morning when we were to pack up it was still raining on and off, water was running down the road ways and it was pretty miserable all around. Obviously with 2 kids and a Folding camper it is not ideal conditions to pack up, we asked the owner if we could delay packing up and he couldn't be more accommodating, he told us the sun was due out in the afternoon and that we could stay as long as we liked to get everything dry. By three in the afternoon we were in glorious sunshine and the site looked absolutely beautiful, it was like being in a little world of your own down in this delightful little valley and we will most certainly be back. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coachman65 9 reviews from this member

 This site is very tranquil & picturesque at this time of the year, we stayed for 3 nights, with a large unit, ample pitch space, but let down by only having 6 amp electric. Tv reception was either non existent or very poor, as was the wi-fi which only worked within 20 or so feet of the office, (maybe I should have asked before I booked the pitch?)

But on a lighter note the owners are very pleasant & very helpful,

The entrance to the site from the road is limited, which then goes down a very picturesque (but bumpy) lane, there is a very steep downward incline three quarters of the way along the lane (this could be a bit awkward getting out if you haven't got a 4 x 4) followed by a sweeping right hand bend, then levels out to the reception,

The wild life is abundant & lovely to see, 


Previous     100 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brakes Coppice Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brakes Coppice Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Brakes Coppice Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Battle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3453 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement