Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brakes Coppice Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Battle > Brakes Coppice Park Reviews

Brakes Coppice Park
Forewood Lane
Crowhurst
Battle
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN33 9AB
Tel: 01424 830322
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 100 Reviews
                8/10 from 100 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  100 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mollysmum 1 review from this member

 We arrived on Wednesday and found the owners extremely obliging, we set up on the upper level to a most lovely view over the grounds and wooded area.

After setting up off we went to inspect the facilities for this year, last year the toilet block was 'basic', but what an improvement this year all new toilets and showers completely renovated just wonderful and all free no 20p to find each time, Thursday tried the showers out realy great the blocks are also heated which made a nice change. It would possible help if there were mops in the shower area.

The only let down was the weather which the owners could not predict nevertheless had a great time the kids could not get enough time of playing in the woods (more washing but totally worn out)

The fishing lake although small is ample and quite surprising the size of fish my boys pulled out to their great excitement, it was just wonderful. We will definitely go again. The owner once again very friendly.

The Pubs they recommended for meals The Black Horse and The Chequers came up to expectations good food for the price and very friendly pubs. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mooden 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a couple of nights camping at Brakes Coppice. Went with 2 other mums and our daughters aged 11 to 13.

Had bit of trouble finding the place as it is tucked away in the countryside.Campsite very pleasant and not too big it felt safe and secure The girls loved being out and spent most of the time in the woods and made lots of new friends.

Pitches are on slight slope so remember that when you put your bed down.

Owners are very friendly and helpful,toilet block is very basic but will be getting an overhaul this winter we were told by the owners.

If children do take bikes be aware that paths are all gravel and can make nasty gravel rashes on legs if they come off (as my daughter found out)

We all had a good time and would not hesitate to return again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: OldCodger 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second trip with our TT and was chosen by my wife as it met the distance criteria and had on site fishing.

We arrived early afternoon to find the site packed to capacity with about two metres space between pitches, after checking in we found our pitch, well I say pitch I mean mud patch, fortunately it had been quite sunny so the mud was fairly hard and solid. We set up ok and I went to connect the electric hook up. I am not a qualified electrician but rotten wooden poles or rusty angle iron uprights that are not all upright, some were at a crazy angle and hook ups nailed to fence posts do not inspire confidence! Next was time to connect to what passed for the the tv point, this was to say the least a bit corroded although we did get a picture. Being a C&C Club site we thought that it would be quiet at night after 11pm, again we were disappointed. The next day it was fine so I decided to try the 'fishing lake'. I am not an educated man so I don't know at what point a pond becomes a lake but this was definitely a pond, having said that it does hold some decent fish.

Having spent the afternoon fishing we decided to have a barbeque that evening, a major plus is that there are lots of proper barbeque's you can borrow so it saves squatting down burning the mud on one of those instant jobbies.

About 5 am on the Thursday morning the heavens opened, the good news was that our second hand trailer tent didn't leak, the bad news was that when we finally got up at about 6.30 as we couldn't sleep due to the hammering of the rain on the canvas we discovered that we had a small river running across the floor of our awning. Most of the morning was spent trying to avoid the squelchy mud that had now formed. Our youngest daughter and grandchildren were coming to visit us that day and the bonus was that we all went out for lunch to The Plough Inn about 5 minutes drive from the site, if you do go here this pub is a must for a decent meal at a reasonable price and they do children's portions as well.

Even though we were at the top of the slope our pitch didn't drain that well so I don't know about the folks at the bottom of the slope.

This could be a lovely site if a bit more care was taken of it and a few pounds spent on modernising the facilities, it just gives the impression of being a bit neglected and tatty round the edges. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campforlife 2 reviews from this member

 This is a really lovely site composing of three fields, an adult only site, family site & fishing site. We went with another family & their 3 children, 10 of us altogether. The kids were of playing in the woods which are small, safe & secure & there is a small wooded play area in the middle of the field which can be seen by all pitches. Didn't see them much, only when they wanted to be fed & watered! Never heard 'I'm bored' once so that was great! The only moan we have is that we were pitched on a slight slope so you tended to end up at the foot of your bed come morning & eating at the table you have to be very careful as plates, cups ect will slide. Having said that whilst looking around many were flat so we would ask for a flat pitch when we next go. The ablutions do need modernisation as there is only one shower for ladies/mens but we never had to queue. They are basic but acceptable. This is a popular site & we would recommend booking as many of the bank holidays for next year are already booked! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen 4 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights in the adult section with two other mums for a chill-out, child free weekend and had a lovely relaxing time, despite the heavy rain!

The ground did get very muddy and puddly despite being on high ground but that can't be helped I suppose.

We stayed in my large family tent and managed to pitch it ok but there are no defined pitches in this section and you're told to pitch where you like, so I'm not sure what would have happened if others with smaller tents/caravans had pitched in one of the larger areas?

The owners are very friendly and welcoming and now have a lovely log-cabin reception area and also a freezer available for ice-packs which is always useful.

There is one shower which costs 20p but the machine to put your money in is outside of the cubicle and I saw countless people traipse out with towels round them because they forgot to put their money in before they went in. I had to queue to shower and there were always several people queueing after me as the main site was absolutely chocker. Imo, it needs to be knocked down and a nice new log cabin, like the reception, with more showers and toilets needs to be put there instead. The toilet/shower block really does let this site down enormously.

Having said that, this is a beautiful site with the coppice at the back of the site and I would return to either the adult section again or to the main touring area out of season because the tents looked quite crammed in and on top of each other as it was the height of the summer holidays. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shelly Welly 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from three nights at Brakes Coppice with husband, two children aged 10 and 13, and the dog. We arrived down a lovely twisty country lane, with the site nestled at the bottom, surrounded by trees. The location was beautiful. Woodland walks were really pretty and gave the dog somewhere to let of steam. Some great rope swings for the kids throughout the woods. There was a nice secluded adults only part, and also a small fishing pond. Very limited children’s play area in the middle of the main field, with balancing logs and a wooden bridge.

The pitches were marked out with rustic wooden fencing, but were very small. Our tent only just fitted in, with no room to park by the side, and very little outside space to sit and relax. The site was very busy and felt cramped. No real areas for games either. Because things were so bunched up, this also made for very high noise levels. Lots of young children and not enough space! The fishing lake was pretty, apart from the littering around it, including old line and hooks left on the sides. It was mostly being used by groups of children.

By far the worst thing about the site was the toilet facilities. I’d read previous reviews, so was expecting old and tatty, but during our stay there was no evidence whatsoever of any cleaning at all. Not even the bins in the cubicles were emptied.

All in all, although this was a lovely rural spot, with great potential, we won’t be returning because just too many things let it down. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Navaracamp 1 review from this member

 Just spent 3 nights here and found it pretty much as expected from other peoples reviews:

Nice location with nothing but friendly campers, safe atmosphere and no noise issues. Wooded area for children to play in and also a small wooden trim trail (slippery when wet !) in the middle of the family area which helped to keep our children occupied.

Main field was smaller than I expected and the pitches were closer together than we would have liked: <3m between large tents in places and we struggled to get a 6mx6m tent and vehicle on to our plot. Lots of shelter from trees which can be a good or bad thing depending on weather, ground and tent was very slow to dry each day due to shade from trees.

The washing up, toilet and shower areas are below standard 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baileyranger42 1 review from this member

 A pretty site but one in which the pitches are fairly crammed in. When it was full it was very busy. The toilet block only had one shower per gender which was a challenge when the site filled up. Having said that there was plenty of hot water and the pressure was great.There was a good area for dishwashing, a washing machine, tumble dryer and a small central play area for the kids. The woods around the site hold lots for kids to do including a rope swing. The trees that surround the site add to its attraction but also block out the morning or evening sun depending upon where you camp.

The owners seemed helpful and pleasant. There was a little shop that sells ice cream. Sweets and pop etc also different types of gas but strangely only UHT milk. If you are looking for a competitively priced base for an excursion based holiday this site would be OK.

Also East Sussex sucks when you are used to Devon and Cornwall. Stay clear of Brighton, Hastings and Bexhill, try Rye - much prettier. But then if you like amusement parks,bingo halls, faded piers, kiss me quick hats and sticks of rock completely ignore this review! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Psimon23 1 review from this member

 Spent two nights here in 2008 site does what it says on the tin. Don't be put off by peoples negative opinions, yes it does only have two showers, however most small sites have the same. Toilets were very clean and so were the showers. Site owners more than helpful. Play area in middle of site so children can be watched the whole time. Not into fishing but lake makes a good walk in the evening. I would recommend this site to friends. Nice pub down the road. Shops a couple of miles away. Planning on returning in 2009. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Reg on Tour 1 review from this member

 We booked this site the day before our stay. It is a lovely side but we wish we had been informed that there were 50 school children on the site. They were not noisy, the only problem was that they all wanted the showers and washing up facilities at the same time. There being only one shower in each of ladies and gents meant that we had to wait until the following morning to wash and to wash up. Couldn't face another night like this so moved on, which was a shame as the site was lovely and would have been OK had it not been so crowded. Would not hesitate to go back, but would check on whether or not there is a school party there before going. 


Previous     100 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brakes Coppice Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brakes Coppice Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Brakes Coppice Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Battle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3539 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement