Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brakes Coppice Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Battle > Brakes Coppice Park Reviews

Brakes Coppice Park
Forewood Lane
Crowhurst
Battle
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN33 9AB
Tel: 01424 830322
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 100 Reviews
                8/10 from 100 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  100 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Deeana 16 reviews from this member

 Given that we were at this site for a week in August, the busiest time, it is not surprising that it was noisy and full of children. What we found surprising was that the play area is situated in the centre of the site, with the pitches arranged in a ring around it. Consequently everyone is treated to a ringside view - plus the associated noise of children screaming and shouting - from dawn to long after darkness had fallen, every day.

The owners website says 'three fields' and a 'lake.' There is only one, rather small, camping field, and two other pieces of land where you could put a couple of tents or caravans, and a pond about 20 feet long. The pitches are small that at no time did we notice tents which obeyed the 3 metre rule - in many places guy lines were overlapping. Owner's response: Our pitches are to regulation - in terms of spacing - it is not a fire safety issue - we've just had our council safety inspection. Plus we have plenty of fire fighting points.

There is one waste disposal point for chemical toilets, which was dirty and the water supply wasn't working properly. Owner's response: The chemical toilet does flush more than adequately - it is checked daily.

The rubbish bins were inadequate for the amount of rubbish being deposited, and it is located beside the pitches. Owner's response: Rubbish bins are adequate - they are emptied everyday - it has just been checked by the council. The washing machine was very hard to operate and didn't wash properly, and the drier simply didn't work. Owner's response: The drier in the laundry does work - and the washing machine, more than adequately.

There are only two ladies toilets, and although the showers are newer, they were muddy and children were usually playing in and around the toilet block. Owner's response: there are FOUR ladies toilets, not two The water supply is on the type of tap which has to be held down to get the water to flow, which makes filling anything more than a kettle a real chore, and the filling of a motorhome tank or a caravan water container takes forever.

The rules state that motorhomes should not fill their tanks at all, unless they pay extra for the water.

And our final complaint was the access road. I checked the location of the site on Google Streetview before we set off, and was alarmed to see that although when I had called to book in the owner had assured me there would be no problem accessing the site with my Autotrail Dakota (7m+) in actual fact the entrance was very narrow. I phoned to ask if I could indeed get in, and the owner's wife told me that there would be no problem, as lorries came down their track regularly.

We therefore made our way to the site. Unfortunately the road leading to the site is very narrow, and a van coming the other way actually HIT me and destroyed my right wing mirror. I then found that the track is only about a foot wider than my van, lined with projecting trees and extremely steep and with a nice hairpin bend halfway down.

Owner's response: the access lane is narrow - however, large campers, long caravans and long delivery lorries have no trouble coming down the lane - perhaps it is the experience of the driver that is an issue. We know what happened with the wing mirror being broken off - and it didn't even happen along this particular lane - it happened on the country lane to the site - hardly our fault. And it certainly isnt VERY narrow. This campsite has been here for nearly 40 years and no one has ever complained about it before.  


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Klfi 3 reviews from this member

 This was the first outing in our new tent and we only stayed one night (not due to any issues/problems with the campsite!) but we thought this was a great little campsite.

The facilities were all clean and well managed. Nice little washing up area. Lovely playpark in the middle of the field with tents arranged around it and our kids loved it! (3 and 5 yrs old)

A great site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping Princess 9 reviews from this member

 Spent a weekend here in beautiful weather so should have had a wonderful time. The site should be lovely, being surrounded by woodland in a pretty area, but was let down by feeling generally pretty cramped. We were VERY close to our neighbours.

The children's play equipment was lovely and our children had a lot of fun playing on there, but there are so many tents in the field (in a second ring in from the access road) that it was impossible for us to see them from our pitch and as they are too small to be unsupervised they couldn't play on there as much as they and we wished.

The other issue that I had was that the floor in the toilet block was absolutely filthy due to a flaw in the design of the showers. There's no way to get in and out of the shower without getting your shoes wet (or taking them off, which I couldn't do because the floor was so muddy.) so trailing mud everywhere. A mop and bucket of water was provided but was so dirty it made it worse.

These are issues that I'd put up with happily at a cheap campsite! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Louandco 2 reviews from this member

 Arriving at this campsite is a real treat, you come off the village lane from Crowhurst and wind down a narrow lane through a coppice. It feels very secluded and sheltered.

Check in was easy and the owners are very friendly and helpful. We picked my husband up from the station and the owner directed us to a short cut, so this site is very suitable for those travelling by train from London or Hastings.

We were disappointed initially when we first arrived at our pitch (all allocated except for the adult only field, very useful- no territory bum fights). The pitches encircle the main field around a children's play area, but you are really packed in, typical British camping. However we were situated immediately in front of the kiddie area which was great as we have two toddlers so we could let them play freely while keeping an eye on them.

However despite being full, we were pleasantly surprised by how quiet and relaxing this site is. All the couples around us tolerated the young ones noise and antics very well (much to our relief) and by 10.30 the family field was tucked up quietly, whilst a bit of drunken banter could be heard from the adult only field.

The fishing lake and woodland walks are ideal here for children and adults alike. Our 3 year old was thrilled to catch his first fish, and a walk down to the lake was a lovely way to spend a warm quiet evening. On our second evening we ventured into the woods. There were lots of trees to climb and a nice circular walk which older children could do on their own or like us, little ones can be carried as the path gets quite narrow.

The site is well maintained and attractive and the washing facilities are clean, although there was quite a queue for the shower in the morning as there are only two.

Overall a lovely site, for couples and families alike, very friendly, quiet and relaxing. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julesspu 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from our very first camping trip to Brakes Coppice and loved every minute of it.

We were a little concerned having never been camping before and we were taking our daughter and our dog but as soon as we arrived we felt completely at ease.

Our 7 year old daughter had great fun playing on the trim trail and met up with lots of other children. It was situated right in the middle of the family pitch so you can easily keep an eye on them.

My husband took his fishing gear and went fishing whilst I could read a book as our daughter played with her friends and only returned to eat. So lovely to see children enjoying the outdoor life!

Toilets and showers were clean and I never had to queue.

Everyone was really friendly and to be honest I was sad to leave as it was so tranquil and relaxing.

Will return again in the near future. A 10/10 from us! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pyle.boy 1 review from this member

 Absolutely perfect campsite. Quiet, beautiful setting and ideally located.

Adventure trail in the middle of the site is ideal for younger children. Woodland & small grassed area is ideal for older kids for exploring and playing small ball games (no footballs allowed.)

Toilets good - only criticism would be that maybe the hot water is a little too hot.

Situated close to Battle and Hastings and is perfect for visiting both and the local area. Bodiam Castle is also well worth a visit.

Will definitely be going back! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liz+phil 1 review from this member

 Brakes Coppice is a rural haven. We were there for a week in late April, weather wonderful, and, knowing nothing of the south coast of England were very surprised at just how beautiful the area is.

The campsite is situated in a wooded valley and when we visited they were carpeted with Bluebells and Wood Anemones; absolutely beautiful.

We had a pitch about 50m from the toilet block. The toilet block is very clean.

Showers lovely and hot. Toilets spotless. Washing-up area very good.

One tip: because the Sussex soil is clay and sticks to your shoes, its impossible not to take dirt / soil into the shower changing area. The provision of a mop / brush would allow you to leave the shower floor clean rather than dirty for the next user. This is our only grouse!

We shall certainly return. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smiffinch 24 reviews from this member

 Very pretty site set in beautiful woodland, very close to Battle and not far from Hastings.

Tents were a little packed in when we arrived on the Sunday, but after Bank Holiday Monday it thinned out.

Toilet and shower facilities were good, apart from the muddy floors.

My only gripe would be the fact that No Ball Games are allowed! Surely this is what people love to do when camping. The kids enjoyed the play area, but we could not see them from our tent (they are 4 so not such a problem, but would be a problem with younger children).

Shop is ok but best to go to Battle for fresh food. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hoppie67 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first proper camping trip for many years and would certainly recommend the site. Just the two of us and our little dog.

We had a good sized pitch for our Horizon 6. Facilities were great with hot showers at no extra charge and clean and tidy - hairdryer machine available for 20p for those of you (like me) who had to dry their hair! Dishwashing up area.

Pitches are pretty level - slight slope in some areas - but nothing really to worry about.

Electric hook ups available - reception has a small shop with the essentials. Lots of information leaflets available for local attractions.

With it being bank holiday weekend the site was busy but it didn't really feel it and never any queuing for the toilet or showers.

We were let down by the great British weather and although the site is well drained, the amount of rain in one day after none for a long time, meant we ended up packing up early!

But we will definitely be back - nice size site -very friendly and great location. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pebbles Dad 1 review from this member

 Visited the week after Easter, Monday to Friday. Weather was very good and pitches drying out following previous weeks rain.

Happy to report following previous reviews - toilet / shower block has been completely modernised. Now 2 male and 2 female showers (no extra 20p charge). Didn't have to queue for facilities, but not sure how this would be during peak season as I could imagine them getting very busy.

Kept tripping the electrics despite having camping kettle etc, often had to turn off appliances / lights to reduce our demand. Free ariel connection was a benefit on occasions we were on the site.

If anything the site could probably do with a little TLC, but it has character and is much better than many commercialised sites. Owners very friendly and helpful.

Location was very good, Battle is a good day out (esp. The abbey and surrounding buildings). Also went to Hastings a couple of times which I would say is one of the better South Coast 'resorts' we have visited.

Only other point to note - the site is about 600yds from the Lane (Foreward Lane). Access is via private road which has a very steep incline (fine getting in, not so fine getting out!). Managed to get out towing van with front wheel drive, but did load the car and not so much the van to ensure we had traction to get up the hill. 


Previous     100 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brakes Coppice Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brakes Coppice Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Brakes Coppice Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Battle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3556 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement