Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brakes Coppice Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Battle > Brakes Coppice Park Reviews

Brakes Coppice Park
Forewood Lane
Crowhurst
Battle
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN33 9AB
Tel: 01424 830322
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 100 Reviews
                8/10 from 100 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  100 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ian C White 1 review from this member

 We have just spent a weekend at this beautiful campsite it's our 3 visit. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The campsite is set in beautiful surroundings, is quiet and clean.

We have never had to queue for a shower.

The showers and washing up water is always hot.

One thing I would like to disagree with is other reviews have said that the shower blocks are dirty not at all the only reason the showers could get dirty is because the people using them do not clean after themselves - it is not because they aren't cleaned

This site is a good base if you want to explore East Sussex - there is loads to do to keep you occupied within a 45 minute driving distance

Also if you don't fancy going out for the day there is a small fishing lake you will end up down there all day I all ways do, lol

This site is wonderful and we will certainly be going back. Thank you to the owners for 3 fantastic holidays - I wish I lived on the site permanently as you do - its like living in a bubble!

Book this site - you won't regret it. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andymarketer 3 reviews from this member

 I don't know where to start with my review for this site, but promised I would submit an honest review to protect others from the appalling conditions myself and my wife experienced.

We arrived down the steep incline mid-evening, so it was already dark. The owner, an older guy, was in reception sporting a scruffy, dirty jumper explaining he had a bad cough. Nice enough temperament though.

After setting up I visited the loo and couldn't believe how dirty, untidy and full of spiders webs and insects, both dead and alive it was.

Plus, just like the toilet block, the outside washing up area looked like it hadn't been cleaned for weeks; it was disgusting.

The next day, in daylight, it was just as bad; I cringed when I needed to visit the loo and shower. We looked elsewhere in Battle, then checked out of this awful, awful place. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janelee 1 review from this member

 We stayed in the small field at the bottom, next to the small lake and it was lovely, so quiet and peaceful, and flat too.

The facilities are of a reasonable standard - several loos and a couple of showers and we never had to queue for anything, maybe because the majority of units are caravans/motor homes that have their own facilities, or maybe because it was near the end of the season (mid September). I imagine you might have to queue a bit at peak season. There was also a hairdryer for 20p, and everything was regularly cleaned.

The owner was helpful when we booked in, although we were disappointed that the shop was closed, as it was end of the season so can't comment on that.

Overall I would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wearefive 2 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our two night stay here with our two young children.

Despite the fact that the site is set in great wooded surroundings it loses a bit of aesthetic appeal because of all the staked out pitches, paths and signs - although these meant that the site was well organised. The site was divided about half and half between tents and tourers, a couple of which looked like they were semi permanent.

I thought the shower/wc/washing up facilities were really excellent, in a purpose built block with plenty of capacity. As a family of not particularly hardy campers this is something we look out for, and it is not easy to win my wife's approval, as this site did. There was plenty of hot water for showers, even coping with a large party of French school kids (who were very sensibly put in their own camping area in the woods so the other campers weren't disturbed.

There was a useful little shop which sells ice creams and essentials like washing up liquid, although I was surprised that it had quite rigidly enforced opening hours - given that it was operated by the person on the reception desk who sat right next to the shop window.

There were some other nice touches like an display of local attractions and a freezer for cool blocks; my kids loved the climbing/balance course in the centre of the campsite, and I enjoyed walking the dog through the woods.

No open fires allowed here, which pretty much fitted with the overall ethos - safe, well organised and practical (so very popular with my wife and the children) but for me just slightly lacking that sense of getting away from it all. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suejarvis 9 reviews from this member

 Beautiful surroundings but well packed in, pitches seemed very close together. It's been a while since we camped anywhere with so many young children around.

Our children are 19 & 14 & we always made every effort to keep to the noise rulings on sites (ie not after 10 or before 7 etc), but there didn't seem to be such effort made these days to encourage younger children to keep their voices down at 6 in the morning or the middle of the night!

Showers & loos were good although not especially well cleaned!

The lake area was pretty & the owls at night were wonderful to hear. Surrounding area of battle & especially the abbey were fantastic & rye was well worth a visit.

Would probably not return in school holidays. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madelj 1 review from this member

 The site was pretty, with lovely woodland, and the facilities were clean. Pitches are pre-allocated and some of the pitches are sloping.

Nearby Battle is lovely, with an interesting castle and great pubs.

However, the site had no recycling facilities of any kind and this is very unusual, considering that most campers are relatively environmentally friendly.

We did not want to throw away our glass, paper and plastic so ended up taking it all home with us. Not ideal. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richlou6063 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely week here, even though the weather was awful at times.

We cannot praise the site highly enough. The owners were extremely friendly and very helpful.

The toilet block was cleaned regularly throughout the day, and if it got dirty at all it was because the people who used it did not clean up after themselves.

The site is very quiet and beautiful. There is an adults only area, a dog walk through the woods and a fishing lake.

The surrounding area has loads to do from castles to beaches so something for everyone to enjoy.

We loved it so much that we are booking again for September and fully expect to revisit many times in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmajm 2 reviews from this member

 Our family (including two boys aged 6 and 3) stayed at Brakes Coppice for 10 nights in early August 2012. We booked the site due to the write up and website saying how the owners were very concerned to keep the site well maintained, with the grass regularly cut and the toilets regularly cleaned. Whilst the site has the potential to be great (and maybe has been in its day), we felt that complacency had crept in. In the whole time we were there, the grass was only cut once, the paths were never swept, the outdoor washing up area was fairly grotty, the washing machine room was filthy and the showers were only cleaned once a day and then fairly shoddily, despite the campsite being packed. It really was not a nice experience to shower, with lots of wet areas, cobwebs, grass etc and nowhere to put a toilet bag so that it didn't get wet. One day the cleaner sent me into the disabled bathroom to shower - that was even worse. The site was very busy and there are not many toilets and showers, but that would have been fine if only the owners had taken care of them and cleaned them regularly. We also never saw the owners out and about on the site - and in their absence many of the children were destroying the already very limited play area. After our stay, I emailed the owners to express these views, but they never bothered to respond. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nickidevine 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 night, and asked for a quiet pitch, away from the main area so we were under a large tree near the small fishing pond. The main area was very busy with lots of teenagers doing duke of Edinburgh awards. The showers/toilets were very muddy due to the weather and teenagers, and we thought not enought facilities for the size of the camp.

We went for a walk and wanted an ice cream from reception, and even though the door was open and the lady Was chatting she wouldn't serve us saying it was lunchtime !

The weather was really bad, but wouldn't use the site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Salisburydan 1 review from this member

 We have just spent a week at this campsite.

Good points: Nice and Quiet, lots of near by attractions and places to visit. Play area ok for children. Pitch sizes very generous and on different levels so good privacy. Good price. Small shop.

Not so good points: No seating nr play area for parents to supervise children. Definitely need a new shower, toilet block as very old and quite dirty, ladies showers red hot no good for children took them swimming instead for a shower.

Pitch was quite muddy after rain as not much grass. Steep entrance. 


Previous     100 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brakes Coppice Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brakes Coppice Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Brakes Coppice Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Battle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3578 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement