Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brakes Coppice Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Battle > Brakes Coppice Park Reviews

Brakes Coppice Park
Forewood Lane
Crowhurst
Battle
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN33 9AB
Tel: 01424 830322
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 100 Reviews
                8/10 from 100 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  100 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsNoviceCamper 10 reviews from this member

 Great location. Lots to do nearby, we went to Bodiam Castle, Battle Abbey and Batemans, Rudyard Kiplings house.

The site itself has a lovely play area which my children loved. The toilet/shower block had two free showers and 4 loos (in each of the male and female), and the water was always hot. The floor tended to get a bit muddy although there was a mop and bucket provided. There were often queues for the showers and for the outside washing up sinks.

There's a little shop which sells a few essentials and a well stocked tourist information shed.

The site was smaller than we expected and having been used to camping in less regimented sites, we felt we were a bit crowded. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mhook 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent four nights at brakes coppice, very helpful and friendly warden, lovely location, very peaceful and secluded.

The road in is a bit on the steepside, shop sells basics. Free iceblock freezing,

10 minute walk to station, which was handy as it was cheaper to go to Hastings for the two of us than to drive and park.

Only two showers in shower block but we never had to que, which tended to get a bit muddy.

Nice sized pitches. Overall not a bad campsite. The only noise we heard after 10. 30 at night was the wildlife 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bossco 3 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic find! Really wish we had been able to stay longer at this site.

Exceptionally clean and well maintained. Most helpful owners we have ever met, run by a family who are dedicated to ensuring you enjoy your stay.

Fantastic walks, shops are 5 minutes drive away. Enjoyed a fantastic Sunday roast at the Black Horse (less than 5 minutes away) when the rain prevented us from venturing too far out. The owners have a small shop in reception and they also sell ice creams-bonus!

You can pre order newspapers. Bbqs are allowed providing they are raised and that you don't use any wood you have found in the woods.

Coin operated Washing machine and tumble dryer available, coin operated hairdryer in the ladies.

We will definitely be returning-time to book some leave from work! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Heyhoramones 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from an overnight stay at Brakes Coppice and know that we will be back again!

Having a couple of days off work, my girlfriend and I thought we would grab a couple of days away so checked the weather forecast, saw Hastings looked sunny, loaded the van & headed off for some serious walking with Syd the dog!

Having spent some time in Hastings (Not a dog friendly beach!) we headed inland to explore some of the wonderful '1066 country', ending up near Battle. A quick search on the web & we headed to Brakes Coppice where we were met by a lovely lady who booked us in.

This isn't the biggest campsite in the world (Not a problem as we only wanted one pitch!) but it is a wonderfully intimate site set in an opening within the woodland.

The pitches are all level, most with hook-ups AND tv point and all clean & clearly marked.

The facilities aren't huge but are spotlessly clean with plenty of hot water (Nothing better than a lovely warm shower at the end of the day!)

If you are looking for a campsite to get away from it all, that is clean, tidy and back to nature (with electric & TV) then this site is well worth a thought! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andrea77 1 review from this member

 A beautiful, quiet camp-site (we spotted a badger!) with lots to see. It didn't take us too much time to reach Battle, Hastings, Rye, Royal Tunbridge Wells and Scotney Castle, to name a few.

We loved our trip by steam train from Tenterden to Bodiam Castle (see Kent&East Sussex Railway), and the Castle itself of course.

Very friendly and helpful owners, toilets simple but clean. Easy to reach from Dover ferry. We'd love to come back some day! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kaptin 1 review from this member

 I've been to this site before and really liked. The owner has since installed a new and much needed toilet block. The new block is excellent and I still love the site.

It's nice and quiet with a small fishing lake and surrounded by a wooded area.

Kids can run around as they please and there are some wooden climbing bits in the middle of the site and space to play ball games (when its not too busy).

The only downside is he has now put his prices up and seems to be busier than last year and the year before.

If you are in a caravan and don't have a big four wheel drive then I don't think I would recommend this site as there is a steep single track lane to gain access. It might be worth checking with the owner though as I have a feeling he tows in and out with his tractor.

Great location and a great and traditional site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen1287 2 reviews from this member

 We have just spent two amazing weeks at this beautiful campsite. Paul and Janet are very friendly and helpful. Our request for a level pitch was met and wow, what a pitch. The campsite is set in beautiful surroundings, is quiet and clean.

No noise after around 9.30pm and the only noise at night is the rabbits eating the grass! Whatever reviews you might read on this site, believe me when I say that

1) I never had to queue for a shower.

2) the showers and washing up water were always hot.

3) the only reason the showers could get dirty is because the people using them do not clean after themselves - it is not because they aren't cleaned

4) the campsite is not cramped - we were there when it was full and there was plenty of room. Enough ranting!

This site is a good base if you want to explore East Sussex - there is loads to do to keep you occupied within a 45 minute driving distance.

This site is wonderful and we will certainly be going back. Thank you to Paul and Janet for a fantastic holiday - I wish I lived on the site permanently as you do - its like living in a bubble!

Book this site - you won't regret it. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 4083 1 review from this member

 Arrived on Friday night for 4 nights in our tent. Arrived mid-afternoon to a warm welcome and went down to our pitch which was a fair size - we quickly lost the kids who made friends with the others around the field.

Toilet facilities were more than ok - I agree with other reviews that something is wrong with the design in one of the showers, one day the floor was pretty wet and a bit muddy. But they were cleaned every day we were there and the showers were excellent - better than our shower at home!

Local area is superb - lots of things to do, events and such. We went (can you believe it?) to a pirate day in Hastings which was good fun - we all had a great time. Theres a little shed near the shop which has loads of tourist info and the freezer packs which we used. The man in the shop also lent us an ordnance map for us to walk to Battle with and another free map to the local pubs and supermarkets - very handy. I would recommend the walk to Battle (and the train back!).

Overall, a nice and friendly little campsite, lovely woodland around, and lots to do in the local area. Hope to be back next year with the full-on costumes! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kerrys 2 reviews from this member

 My friend and I with 4 children (aged 9, 10, 13, 13) stayed at Brakes Coppice for 3 nights in an 8 birth tent. We were given the biggest pitch by the fishing lake, apparently this was for a 16 birth tent but due to very uneven ground we only just managed to get tent on a level piece of ground (the owner admitted they had a problem with moles). We were very near the fishing lake which was a bit whiffy at times but this didn't spoil things for us at all.

On walking around the site the other tents were a bit close to each other, but saying that it was all very neat, tidy and clean.

In the toilet block there were only 2 showers for the ladies and 4 toilets, not very many, but we only had to queue once and they were clean and there was plenty of hot water. We did see the owners cleaning the block on many occasions. There were also only 3 washing up sinks, but we didn't seem to have to queue at all.

Whilst we were there a big party of French students arrived (about 20), but the owners of the site were good at clearing them from the toilet block and hurrying them along with the washing up etc, at one time there was a queue of 5 students in front of us for the shower.

There was a very handy shop in reception selling ice creams, packets of ice (very handy for drinks in the evening), milk, bread and general essentials.

We visited Herstmonceaux Observatory and Science museum,this is a must if you are in the area, there was plenty to occupy the children (and adults) for the best part of the day. Battle is a lovely town and the abbey etc is worth a visit.

In all we would come back again for a short break when visiting the area but would be careful with regards to the pitch allocation. The location of the site is very peaceful and quiet. The facilities were clean but would have been useful if there were a couple of extra showers especially at busy times. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marve50 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 4 nights with our 2 year old. Warm welcome and well-organised site.

We were re-assured that the pitches are 10 meters when we read about it being a bit cramped. Maybe they were but it did still manage to feel quite full and on the first night a big group were in the next pitch had a 'party tent' and were up late with music and games and so I struggled to get to sleep (I must get some ear plugs!) But then they left which was great!

The showers were lovely but its true about the poor design and water not draining away well - I always go in flip-flops so it doesn't matter if they get wet! Washing up area very nice and the freezer very useful for us with no hook-up!

Lovely wooded surroundings which were great for exploring - not so sure about the 'lake' which was quite smelly (hard to believe there were fish in it!) and with uneven half-finished surrounding area. Lots of bunnies at dusk though.

The play area was good, although we did have to supervise our tot as we couldn't see him from our tent.Not a big problem.

Good location for exploring the area - we liked Battle itself, Hastings was a little bedraggled and we'd strongly recommend 'DRUSILLA' Zoo - an amazing (but quite pricey) place to visit for families.

We'd probably come again if we wanted to come back to the area. 


Previous     100 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brakes Coppice Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brakes Coppice Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Brakes Coppice Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Battle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2676 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement