Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brook Meadow Lakeside Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Market Harborough > Brook Meadow Lakeside Holidays Reviews

Brook Meadow Lakeside Holidays
Welford Road
Sibbertoft
Market Harborough
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE16 9UJ
Tel: 01858 880886
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 113 Reviews
                8/10 from 113 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 83 reviews from this member

Just come back from a weekend here.

Plus points; lovely, lovely greeting from staff who were so nice, hot water in the free showers, we were on a great hardstanding pitch opposite the lake with great views, hiring a fire pit to have a campfire.

Not so good; It is clearly stated that between 10pm and 7 am there should be no 'undue noise', I think the 6 12+ year olds cycling around on their bikes shouting and screaming their heads off didn't fit that and what got me is they actually did it in front of the wardens who were pitched there. There was a very large group on the camping field who were noisy all night. On Friday we went to bed at 12:00 but they were still going and it was the same Friday being 11:40 pm this time. Why have a rule you aren't going to enforce? The shower that I went to use on Saturday morning was filthy full of mud & grass (not owners fault) and I had to wash it down and clean it to be able to use it. The facilities block was a wooden chalet and whilst most of the time the loos and basins were clean the walls, & roof was not, in fact it was very off putting. The planes and helicopters fly over head a lot and on Sunday morning we were woken by a low flying helicopter at 4:50 am, followed by yet more children riding around on bikes at 6:45am screaming.

The weekend we went I would not describe the site as quiet and peaceful. This was mainly due to the large group who filled up most of the camping field and seemed to think they could do anything. In addition to that the person next to us parked their car and blocked ours in.

So all in all not our type of site and we doubt if we will ever return though that is sad as it looks gorgeous and having a campfire was a bonus and the owners are lovely.

I think there should be clarity in their advertising that they allow very large groups and that that don't enforce the timings policy or remove that altogether then we would have known not to choose the site.

Finally, whilst not the owners fault but down to lack of parents responsibility; I spent a lot of the weekend with my heart in my mouth as toddlers seem to be able to wander around and close to the edge of the lake with no adult with them. Scary stuff. On a weekend like this I think the wardens should take their responsibility seriously.

So disappointed.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Onemusketeer 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights when visiting the National Space Centre at Leicester.

Whilst is was out of season, it was still quite well populated with other caravanners.

Very easy to find, and we were met with a warm welcome from the site staff. Upon arrival we were directed to our pitch, which was hardstanding and EHU.

We didn't have to walk far to the amenities block, which was spotless - the shower cubicles were very well equipped with a plentiful supply of hot water (always a bonus)

Our pitch overlooked the lovely large lake and is definitely a place on our list to return to:)

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janmarr 3 reviews from this member

We had an overnight stop at this site and it was perfect for our needs. Very quiet and dog friendly in beautiful surroundings. The toilet block was extremely clean, spacious and beautifully warm!

Our pitch overlooked the fishing lake and there was plenty of bird life to see.

There was also a wooden picnic table adjacent to our pitch which was very useful.

We would definitely use this site again if we were in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dornier 3 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite half an hour away from home. Very friendly owners and staff. Not of the formal caravan club type pitching. Big main camping field with a caravan/tent/motorhome field on the other side of a hedge separated by the toilet block. We shared a friends pitch and had a lovely position next to the fishing lake. We were not allowed to use the hookup despite there being post capacity as the Warden at the bottom seemed to think it would be overloaded! Not an issue for us as we are normally off grid with solar etc.

Toilet blocks are nice and modern and if it had not been for the hordes of rampaging children during our stay would have been spotlessly clean. It seems these days children are not taught to flush or clean toilets after use.

The showers were a little cool for me and they only stay on about 15 seconds and are too high on the wall!

None of that mars what is a lovely destination and we will certainly be going back.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anne Bedder 5 reviews from this member

Picturesque site, hard standings need great attention and it would be nice to be allowed to choose your pitch. When tents are allowed to mix with caravans it is not ideal as these visitors use a pathway between caravans and the children run around. The best solution is to keep tents in the field. Toilets are beginning to looked well used, and the shower heads need attention. When busy the toilets need cleaning twice a day. There could also make an approvement by putting a bin near the sinks as people leave bits in the sinks. The bins are a blot on the landscape parked behind hard standings Office could have specific opening times. Site is well used for fishing and when not busy a lovely quiet site. Would certainly return.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tp149 11 reviews from this member

Slightly disorganised on arrival, even though I booked in February the owner didn't know where to put us! But this worked in our favour as we ended up with a very spacious pitch as we were lent an extension lead for hookup. Toilet/shower block was clean and lovely and warm. Lots of space and a lovely looking fishing lake. Only downside was the wash up area, with no drainer or raised sides the water poured straight down on to your feet!

Very quiet site in the evening, and I loved the fact that you can use fire pits. It also has free wifi.

All in all a lovely site.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andysueandsidthedog 1 review from this member

Have just returned from our third trip to Brook Meadow.

Lovely site with great facilities. Very helpful in reception from our initial phone call through to our arrival.

The main site is a large grassed area with multiple hook ups and close to a new shower block which is well heated and usually kept very clean.

We had the pitch which was on the hard standings in front of the fishing lake.

Initially we were very pleased to have this pitch, however on arrival we were a little disappointed to be pitching next to a pile of rubble which isn't the most scenic thing in the world.

The 'hard standing' was just rolled out hardcore which wasn't very level and was very mucky which gave us a constant problem in the awning.

The holiday was booked to take advantage of the fishing lake which is on site (and lovely it is too!)

Thought because we were fishing we would be able to take advantage of the fishermans lodge which is on site, I'm not sure what the situation was but each evening somebody turned up in a van and used the fishing lodge as their living quarters and made both myself and my wife very uncomfortable while using the shower facilities in there. The looks we got were along the lines of 'what are you doing in here!'

They then slept in the back of a transit van which was parked alongside the fishing lodge.

Not sure what the set up was but most unusual.

All in all a good little site but just a few things need addressing to make it a great site.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Struth 19 reviews from this member

Just spent our first weekender on this site, which is in a stunning setting as it has a beautiful purpose built fishing lake. There is a brand new facility block very nicely laid out with push button showers, with ample room for clothes and towels. Our only critique would be that the hardstanding needs widening by about two feet, so that you can walk round the van without going onto the grass, which can be quite wet and muddy at this time of the year. For us this is a lovely quiet site to which we will return.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Porthorg 1 review from this member

Stopped here for 2 nights in late September. Being new to camping we wanted to find somewhere local to give it a trial and were very impressed with Brook Meadow.

The staff were very welcoming and the prices reasonable. We took my son and 3 dogs. The dogs had to be on leads at all times but this was not an issue for us. Just outside the grounds of the camp site there are walks where you can let dogs off for a run.

The shop has nice little array of snacks and drinks along with essentials, meats, milk etc.

The toilet and shower block was immaculate. There is a microwave in the fishing hut which can be used if required.

We had a day out to Foxton Locks and Market Harborough which aren't far away in the car. 15 mins or so to each.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phill900r 3 reviews from this member

Brook Meadow (10amp Electric Hook Up)

It's a lovely site, we stayed for a long weekend, from Friday 8th until Monday 11th August 2014. The site was very busy (85% full) the caravan pitches are a little close together & levelling blocks/ramps maybe required.

The newly built toilet block is very clean. (Gents: 2 urinals, 2 cubicles, 3 Showers & 3 Sinks)

The showers are good the only problem, they need a curtain to stop everything getting wet.

The slow walk around the fishing lake took us 25 minutes.

Being only 35 Minutes away from home (towing) was a good opportunity to try the new tow car (2007 Audi A5) out pulling the caravan (2013 Elddis Affinity 540).

Only 1 down side was the amount of kids running round.

Overall Rating 6 out of 10

Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Market Harborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4405 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019