Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Brook Meadow Lakeside Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Market Harborough > Brook Meadow Lakeside Holidays Reviews

Brook Meadow Lakeside Holidays
Welford Road
Sibbertoft
Market Harborough
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE16 9UJ
Tel: 01858 880886
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andysuesid 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a three night stay at Brook Meadow and may I say what a delightful site.

We stayed in the first field which was level, well mown, very clean and peaceful.

Went primarily for the fishing but didn't fish too much as it was just nice to sit by the caravan and take in the peace and quiet.

The newly built shower block was immaculately clean however, as mentioned in previous reviews the push button system didn't really do it for me and the set temperature wasn't quite as hot as I'd like though I assume this is due to health and safety to stop people burning themselves.

The fishing lake is very well stocked with a good head of double figure carp cruising on the surface.

Great walks for the dog around the site either on the track round the lake or further down the track alongside the lake.

Not much for youngsters to do if they aren't into fishing or watching the gliders.

All in all an extremely well kept site though and we will definitely be returning soon.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ANNnRICK41 9 reviews from this member

Stayed just the one night to try out the caravan we had picked up earlier in the day. We have camped here previously, but not been for the last couple of years. Have to say we were very pleased with the way the site has been upgraded and the facilities are now wonderful. The shower blocks are kept immaculate.

The sun setting over the lake was stunning.

A useful addition would be some play facilities for children.

We will be returning soon, this site is a little gem in the heart of south Leicestershire.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Esmaroo 3 reviews from this member

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. Highly recommend this peaceful, well equipped site !

We were very politely received on arrival and the lady was very informative with regards to the site and surrounding areas.

The site is off a quiet main road and is very secure. There is a small fishing lake with lovely, long pine woodland walks over looking the site. Great for off-lead dog walks (very sludgy though in February as an off road quad group also use the woods) We had our wellies so were fine.

The hard standing pitches are very well spaced with EHU overlooking the lake and great value for money. £17. 50 per night for our little campervan.

Also on site were some log cabin style chalets and a fantastic 'rainy day' cabin equipped with dining table and chairs (with a lovely view of the lake and woods), showers, microwave, washing machine, ironing board, fridge, washing up facilities and all included. Such a great idea if the weather is bad and the caravan/tent/campervan is becoming a little claustrophobic.

Loved this site and cannot recommend it enough. The only down side was the 1/4 walk to the local pub for our Sunday dinner to be rudely told that our small dog wouldn't be admitted anywhere on the premises.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattv 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site staying the last weekend of August 2013 in our tent, no EHU. Arrived at the site early Friday PM and paid £28 for the two night for two adults and two kids. Very reasonable I thought.

Stayed facing the new toilet / shower block about 100yards away. The block is new and a 1st class job has been done with it. Three showers, very spacious and they are the wet room type showers.

The lady who was at the reception was very friendly. Fires are allowed and you can hire fire baskets for a £5 per night I think which is a great idea. The shop also has some supplies but we had all that we needed.

The river / lake is behind the toilet block and it is very picturesque. A few anglers camp by there for good reason but anybody can camp there.

The very large field was well maintained and some small trees have been planted at various points which will in time provide some further shelter.

The site is very close to the local Sibbertoft glider club. You see many gliders coming in to land over the site which is good for the kids to see and adults alike.

We took a day to go to Foxton Locks which is a few miles away. Worth a trip and there are a couple of canals that meet and a hill of locks with narrow boats slowly making their way up and down.

We stayed here to meet friends that live down that way so it was a bit of a trip but well worth it. Would recommend.

A dedicated play are would be nice but I'm sure the owners have spent a lot on the site and maybe this will be done in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CHargreaves42 2 reviews from this member

This is a very nice site with plenty of room between units and lots of space for the kids to play cricket/football. No playground, but one isnít necessary. The site is secured by a barrier and you are given a code by the site manager upon arrival.

We visited for the weekend during the History Live at Kelmarsh Hall and the site was very full - because itís so convenient for the festival probably! We were in the bottom field, not the main field and so we werenít disturbed by noise at all.

A new toilet and shower block was opened the afternoon we arrived and a good job too, otherwise the old facilities would have been totally inadequate. As it was, the new block was still very busy due to the volume of visitors and we had to queue a couple of times for toilets and showers. Also, the floor became very muddy and could have been cleaned an extra once each day.

The new facilities seem not to have been as thoroughly thought out as you might think - the four toilets take up loads of space - they could have got another two in there! However, my one real criticism was the showers - there were only three, they had a fixed shower head which couldn't be reached, let alone moved and the angle of the water just missed you and sprayed the back of the door where your towel and clothes were hanging, thereby drenching them! Very frustrating!

Unfortunately, there were no freezers for putting your picnic freezer blocks in, but the manager very kindly allowed us to borrow the ice cream freezer in the shop on site!

Despite the showers, this is a very nice site and we will probably be back there again next year.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dona3853 1 review from this member

Quite impressed with the site overall. The plus points are plenty of space, fishing is excellent, nice to have a new shower block, security barrier. It is an ideal site if you have large groups and you want to join up tents etc. Plenty of space for kids to run about. Owners are very accommodating. No set time for departure so can stay as long as you need on the last day. We stayed til 6pm so felt like we'd had an extra day. Very refreshing when most sites want you gone by 10 or 11. The negative points are that as someone has already mentioned it is quite an exposed site and you are fairly high up (hence the airfield nearby - not noisy, mostly gliders and the police helicopter which is based there). We lost 2 gazebos, our fault for not taking them down when the wind got up.

The shower block is nice but perhaps could have been better designed. For the mens side there are just 2 toilet cubicles and 2 sinks for the whole site (and use by fishing day tickets and syndicate). For the amount of space inside the building this seems strange but have to say never had to wait for a shower. The showers are ok but are the type that have fixed shower heads that cannot be moved and one temperature. They are also on a push button that goes off after 30 seconds or so - inevitably when you have shampoo in your eyes of course and can't see where to press!They appear to have a problem with the drains for the showers. It is essential a wet room so you have a long drain running under all the shower cubicles but the fall of the floor doesn't seem enough so there is permanently a huge puddle of everyone elses shower water. They also have one of those really noisy fancy hand dryers which I'm sure are good for the environment but not good if you have a tent nearby. These are just niggles though and it is nice to have brand new facilities. There was a warden staying in a caravan next to the shower block when we stayed.

Reception sells a few things but not much so Market Harborough is 10 -15 minutes away. The camping pitches in the main camping field aren't quite level but not sloping enough to be a problem. Overall I would recommend this site and would definitely go again in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happycampers00 3 reviews from this member

We have been here a few times before and had a lovely stay although the lack of showers with so many campers was a problem. So we thought we'd give it another go now the new shower block was open. The shower block is lovely, clean, quite large and airy. I was disappointed with the water pressure of the showers it was nearly impossible to wash my hair and took a very long time to rinse the shampoo out. It seems a shame that they have spent so much money on the building and not got the showers right. The old showers are still there they could do with some new soap dispensers.

The biggest attraction to the site for us has to be the friendliness of the site. The children play happily and are safe. The owners are very welcoming and friendly. Plenty of water taps. There are couple of dips in the field but generally flat and easy to pitch. The children enjoyed watching the gliders. The fishing lake was a bit of a let down as the area we could fish in being non-members was very shallow.

All in all though I would recommend the site great value for money but if you need to wash your hair use the older showers :)

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tanisha 1 review from this member

This was our first ever camping experience therefore aside from reading the reviews really did not know what to expect. We (my daughter aged 5 and three adults) selected Brook Meadow due to facilities, security of site and lake and it was brilliant. The site is very easy to find. The cheerful owners meet you on arrival at the welcoming reception and are very friendly. The site is accessed through via security barrier required an operating code from reception. The site itself is very clean, well maintained and breath taking. The site has a stunning lake with beautiful views. Caravans and tents have plenty of space to camp. There are chalets on site also for those who do not wish to camp. The facilities exceeded expectations, tumble dryer, washing machine, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, hygienic, clean, brand new shower block and toilets, spacious, hot water and microwave. Our first experience was so good we have booked to come back again next month! I would certainly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DandB 15 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site earlier in the year, so this is just an update. Our impression of the site still remains very favourable.

Although their web site still states that the new facilities block is 'due for completion Spring 2013', it was open on this visit, and is very impressive, and kept very clean.

Our last visit was before Spring had sprung, and we were pleasantly surprised by how much prettier it looks in summer, when surrounding trees and hedges have foliage.

Whilst there are more sheltered corners, if you don't manage to get one, my previous comments about it being an exposed site still stand, I plan to stay here again, but would think twice about it if strong winds were forecast. There is immature planting around the site, and when this grows it will provide an welcome improvement.

Despite being lakeside, the site drains well - met office 'amber' warnings for rain in force, and boy did we get it, but we had no flooding problems.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happyfive 8 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite, very peaceful and spacious with friendly staff. We stayed here for the History Live festival at Kelmarsh Hall for preceding two nights and camped by the trees by the lake in the heat wave. Very quiet, although it got busier over the weekend for the festival. Idyllic for the children who loved exploring the wooded areas and watching the dragonflies, fish and ducks on the lake. Lovely flat grass to pitch on too. The new toilet and shower block opened during our stay, but when not busy the old block was adequate and very clean. Great to find a kettle available to use and amazed by sight of iron and ironing board available for campers!

Lovely farming area and visited Kelmarsh Hall gardens, Coton Manor Gardens and the site of the Battle of Naseby nearby. Would love to stay here again next year.

Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Market Harborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1977 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019