Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brook Meadow Lakeside Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Market Harborough > Brook Meadow Lakeside Holidays Reviews

Brook Meadow Lakeside Holidays
Welford Road
Sibbertoft
Market Harborough
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE16 9UJ
Tel: 01858 880886
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 113 Reviews
                8/10 from 113 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Neilandali 6 reviews from this member

We arrived at the site with our caravan for a one night stay on our way to Dover for our main holiday. There was no one about, but after searching and phoning for about 15 minutes, we eventually got through to someone who told us to find a pitch and park up and pay later. The site is very pretty and would be great for fishermen. We never tried the toilet block, so we can't comment on them.

Overall, we were pleased with the site, but I don't think we'd go back there.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roguesteel 4 reviews from this member

We visited twice to this camp in July 2010.

This was our first and second time of camping, other campers were very helpful although I think they did have a giggle at us trying to put up the tent for the first time. Took 3 hours the first time and 40 minutes the 2nd time (Hey Hidy Hi)

Site was not over crowded and other campers respected your peace and quite time at night.

Plenty of open field for the children/adults to play which did not encroach on other campers.

There is a block for showering with 2 showers with toilets and a separate toilet area with 2 toilets. There are queues around 8pm is but we didn't have to wait that long.

If you like to fish, there is fishing near by for the fishermen or just relax and read a book.

I would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 3narf 9 reviews from this member

We used this site for one night last year, as it's very close to Market Harborough where my wife's sister lives. A camping weekend here seemed the ideal way for us to get together this year.

The site is basic but very roomy, surrounded as it is by arable land and a glider airfield (the kids loved watching them take off). Facilities are adequate and there's a very relaxed atmosphere with little interference from the owners. There's no playground for kids, and you really need to get in the car if you need anything (though I dare say it would be peasant cycling around the local lanes). The lake is nice, but with four little kids between us we didn't get too close.

The only problem we had over the weekend was with wasps, which plagued us at every mealtime. I would definitely recommend buying a fake wasp nest to keep them at bay.

Otherwise, a great place for an inexpensive, relaxing break, with plenty of room to stretch out and real 'heart of England' countryside nearby.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FlightlessFairy 2 reviews from this member

This site was lovely! We just wanted something quite local that was cheap and relaxed and we weren't disappointed.

Being a quiet time of the year we had a fabulous stay. There were a few people about, all well spread out.

Things I loved about this site:

Rural location - great for people who enjoying driving or walking about.

Homely facilities - The showers, toilets and wash basins are in a little summer house type thing. There was mismatched seats and tables which gave it a great relaxed feel and the bathrooms were cleaned often - of course there was still grass and bits in there but you're meant to be roughing it a bit!

The Owners - polite and easy going. As others have mentioned its extremely laid back. Turn up when you like, camp wherever you fancy.

We only have a tent but there were caravans and some pitches had electric hook up for tents. There were also chalets that looked lovely and I noticed one was definitely disabled friendly as one guy staying there was in a wheelchair. I thought this was very good.

There's an upper field and the lower one set around the lake. It was lovely to hear the moorhens and ducks messing about in the water and the fishing must be good as there was several people at it all weekend.

The site isn't necessarily 'child friendly' but its certainly not unfriendly. I think some people think kids need manufactured play areas to be amused but I know I would have been happy there when I was little. Lots of open space for ball games and loads of exploring to be done! Fabulous!

We will be back with the In-laws in tow as the father loves his fishing and this would be a great spot for him.

Oh and the dog that 'patrols' is gorgeous and friendly and wasn't too upset about other dogs on his patch.

At 10 a night we will be back with friends and family and recommending it to anyone who fancies exploring that region - and I have to have a go on the quad safari next time! I reckon this is a boys haven, and as I'm a bit of a tomboy I was in my element

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TrevEllie 3 reviews from this member

Having been here last year for the late May bank holiday we decided to book for this year as well as my Wife loves to watch the sunset over the lake while sipping wine and eating BBQ. This year the weather was appalling Very high winds torrential rain thunder and lightening (well at least the tent got weather tested). On the Monday the tent was too wet to take down so we decided to look at the weather forecast and as it was so good we booked till the following Saturday. We love this site but there are some cons but first the Pro's

Pro's

Beautiful surroundings

Great facilities

Good fishing

Lovely walks

Easy access to Market Harborough or Lutterworth

Local shop 2 miles away

Pitches with good views of the Lake

Easy access to all pitches

Con's

Quad bike noise

Noisey children (sometimes)

Long queues for the showers at peak times

Uneven road (large potholes)

No shop

More facilities for children (play area)

All in all it's a lovely site and we definitely will return, in our opinion the only let downs are the noise from the adventure site next door, no shop on site and something for the children to do, which would hopefully cut the noise down although it only got noisy when one particular family arrived on the last Friday.

Jasper and his wife who own the place are friendly and helpful the site is in a a stunning setting and reasonably priced.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nov02 22 reviews from this member

Booked this site as we wanted somewhere quiet to chill out after a hectic few weeks, and considering the site is just a field with a lake in the middle, it was perfect. Spent the Saturday in Market Harborough shopping.

We actually got a few christmas pressies while in the town, had a lovely lunch in the corner cafe which set us up for the whole day, lunch was a sandwich with side salad, it was huge.

The lake seems popular for fishing, which we walked round morning, noon and night, quite a few people turned up to fish while we were there.

The owner is very friendly, telling us to pitch up and pay later. He came round for the fee's on the Sunday before we left.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cathyh 10 reviews from this member

This site is very local for us and we only wanted one night to try out our new trailer tent. I just wish we could have stayed longer now! Very helpful and laid back owners - we could arrive whenever we wanted. Ended up arriving about 10.30am and didn't leave until 2.30pm next day so an extended one day break! Some noise during the day from local clay pigeon shoot; quad bike course and aircraft towing the gliders up, but nothing too intrusive. Evenings very peaceful by the lake. Great facilities - no need for EHU really, everything you might need is there - and they are heated! Nothing nicer than hugging a warm radiator on your 6am crawl to the loo!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Driverglyn 1 review from this member

first time caravanners. Beautiful surroundings great for fishing toilets and showers ok friendly staff, great leisure activities next door to site.

Pubs and shops quite a long way too far to walk.

Bit expensive at 15 per night.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Samark83 2 reviews from this member

What a super little site! We had a hardstanding pitch with hookup which overlooked the lake. A lovely view, unspoilt. There was plenty of room, the kids just spent their time running / crawling on the grass without bothering anyone. It did not matter that there was no playground for them. The tent field was not busy, so they had as much space as they wanted.
The setting is beautiful and watching the gliders being towed into the air from the nearby airfield was a bonus. The facilities chalet was small but very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The shower cubicles were large and modern. There were only 2 showers, but not a problem when we were there. The loo chalet seemed to have everything including iron and ironing board.
The walk round the lake was lovely, just enough for the little ones. It is in an isolated location, but if you want a weekend of peace and quiet, I would recommend it. We will be going back!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thecampdaves 4 reviews from this member

We loved this site. We camped on the field just before you get to the lake as we wanted EHU. Very little to do on the site unless you enjoy fishing but that meant that it was very quiet and peaceful.
The toilets / showers were spotless with plenty of hot water. We camped midweek and had the place to ourselves but imagined having to queue for the loo if it was busy. The Wharf pub in Welford is a must for their food and real ales.
Foxton locks and museum are worth a visit and Market Harborough is a lovely town to look around. Bring back some cans of beer and sit outside your pitch to watch the fantastic sunsets over the lake. The adjacent Gliding Club also added to our entertainment. We would go back to this site any time.

Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Market Harborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4283 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019