Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Midbrooks Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Trowbridge > Midbrooks Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: Midbrooks Campsite
Southbrook Lane
Steeple Ashton
Trowbridge
Wiltshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joannelouise 5 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 4 nights here and have to say it is the best site we have stayed at.

The pitches are well laid out, the toilets and showers were cleaned regularly, there was a microwave, hairdryer and phone charging points.

The site is well looked after and the surrounding area is beautiful.

The best part for the children(and me) had to be feeding and holding the animals every day at 9am and 6pm.

The only thing we were concerned about was the long track

Into the site as it is very narrow and bumpy but there are passing points.

We will certainly be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiralie 1 review from this member

 We have been going to Midbrooks on and off for 12yrs and highly recommend it to anybody. I can only comment from a tenting point of view as I don't use hook up, but it is just what you need for a perfect camping holiday. Perfect location in a beautiful village with a superb pub! The farm is gorgeous and the kids love animal feeding times! The facilities are a little 'rustic', but what do you expect from a farm?! They are always clean and easily accessible! My daughter learnt to ride her bike here last summer and Alan says she is one of many! A perfect bike learning venue! Central to many attractions including longleat! Just love this campsite! Not a bad word to say! My last good word is CAMPFIRES allowed and essential to complete the perfect camping holiday! Kiri x 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fayeyull 1 review from this member

 Well, we have just returned from a fantastic night at Midbrooks! The campsite is certainly one of the best we have stayed at. There is a lovely relaxed atmosphere here, quiet rural and brilliant facilities. The toilet and shower are sooo cool! They look like tatty garden sheds from the outside but inside they are beautifully tilled, modern and very clean. There's also an outside washing up area which is also very clean and useful. The owners are really welcoming, friendly and helpful. The children are able help feed the animals ( pigs, lambs, chickens and rabbits) and they can hire a bike for the day which my boys absolutely loved! The site is very child friendly and safe. All the campers there were great and were enjoying their break. We had a great pitch at the back tucked away nice and private. The campfire is a must for us and you can purchase your wood from the owners for just 6 a bag which lasts about 5 hours.

The only criticism I have is that the lower pitches are quite muddy in the rain and close together and I wouldn't stay for more than two nights as the children might get bored as there's no park, but if your planning on going off site for activities then this will NOT be a problem. There's loads to do and see in the area and the supermarket is 10 mins away in Trowbridge which is really handy.

We will definitely return and look forward to it �� 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: EVANS FAMILY X3 3 reviews from this member

 Yet another fantastic stay! Already planning are return visit in August. The showers and toilets have had a mini make over. The site was looking fabulous. They had just taken delivery of some baby pigs/ an older pig/ ducks & chickens/ 2 x new born baby lambs. Awaiting baby rabbits and hopefully some baby chicks. Please keep up the good work and don't retire just yet! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mitzionline 9 reviews from this member

 Have just had the most wonderful weekend at this campsite perfect escape for families. This site is tucked away in a rural location away from any main roads.

There are only a small number of pitches (20 or so?) and in the middle area of the camping ground there was enough space for children to run about within view of the tents, it felt safe, and children quickly made friends. Many bought their own bikes to ride about on but bikes and scooters could be hired.

A real highlight for everyone was when the owner Alan does his morning and evening round of animal feeding where children get to help out. There are sheep, pigs, chickens, rabbits, hens in enclosures about the site. The children particularly loved holding the baby rabbits.

There are a couple of showers and loos in sheds, and although quite basic they were kept clean. There is a washing up sink and a couple of fridge freezers. A couple of pitches have EHU (at extra charge). Being a small campsite none of the pitches are a long walk from the facilities or water taps.

The site was peaceful at night with a few families just chilling out around braziers hired from the site owners. On the second night there was some harvesting going on in a field nearby but it stopped around 10ish so didnt really affect us too much.

Steeple Ashton village is lovely to walk about, with a nice church and useful village shop which also serves coffee and cake.

Further afield is Longleat, Bath, Stonehenge, Avebury etc. Lots of possibilities for those wanting to explore.

Although this site is quite local to us we really felt like we had got away from it all and had a lovely time we plan to return again next season and then we may treat ourselves to the fresh cream teas served daily by Sue and Alan which I understand are very good. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SpudGunner 7 reviews from this member

 Back again for at least our 6th visit. We all love this place so much, my boys (aged 8 and 6) just love feeding the animals and they go and check on them each night before going to bed, to say goodnight to them!

The owners are such good hosts, so friendly and welcoming and they are great with the children. Each time we come along we bring someone else new. They all have then become converts as they too fall in love with it.

Only campsite we have stayed at that has toilets/showers in a shed but that is part of the unique charm!

This is the only site we have been to that lets you have camp fires as well - nothing beats toasting marshmallows round a camp fire.

The convenience of being on a small site, having a fridge and the kids being able to hire bikes is great.

The owner proudly told me about how many children have actually learnt to ride a bike at his site - a really valuable skill and he was clearly so proud that he had been of help in them achieving that.

We will definitely be returning again (and again and again!)

A little bit of heaven on earth :) 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 2greyhounds 1 review from this member

 What a beautiful gem of a campsite.

We stayed at Midbrooks for 3 nights, to enable us to spend two days visiting Longleat.

Sue and Alan are wonderful, friendly hosts and our children really loved helping them feed the array of animals each morning and evening.

The site is really pretty and all grass.

I think there are about 18 pitches in total.

The large pitches are grouped into crescents. The grass in between the pitches is left long which offers some privacy.

The pitches are level but the site is slightly hilly which I think makes it more attractive and interesting.

We hired a bike at the site for our 4 year old son to ride around on and he loved cycling down the slopes

There are hand painted signs telling you where everything is.

The facilities are quite basic with two showers and two toilets for the whole site, but they were always clean and we never had to queue for long. With no hook up it was very useful having fridges to use and there is a nice washing up area. There is also a place to recharge batteries.

The first night we were there we had the whole site to ourselves. By the third night the site was nearly full but had a lovely atmosphere with children making friends and playing together and parents chatting around the fires.

Sue and Alan would walk around the site a few times a day to make sure everyone and everything was OK.

The site is perfect for young families (our children are 2 and 4 years). The animal feeding, bike hire and fires were a real bonus. Its very safe with no roads near by.

Sue and Alan recommended a pub for dinner on our last night which was on the way back from Longleat and had a play area for childen.

Can't wait to go back to lovely Midbrooks! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TinaFay 2 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from a 2 night stay over the bank holiday weekend.

This is a lovely, pretty little site, in a gorgeous location and with a nice feel to it. I was attracted by other reviewers comments about how child friendly it is, and we certainly found that to be the case. Due to the size and position of this site, we were able to let our children (2 and 5) have freedom to explore and play. There were a collection of small bikes and scooters for the children to hire which kept our 5 year old amused. The owner, Alan, takes the children to feed the animals on-site (hens, lambs, rabbits and a pig called Molly) twice a day which the children enjoyed, and made up for the lack of play area.

Our pitch was large but not particularly flat, but not really a problem. The facilities were basic but don't let this put you off. I love my creature comforts (I usually base my choice of campsite on award-winning toilets!) but found them to be perfectly adequate. There are two 'sheds', each with a shower and toilet, and due to the small size of the site you only have a short walk to reach them, wherever you're pitched, and we never had to wait long. They were fairly clean, and the shower provided unlimited hot water, although the shed wasn't heated.

This was the first site I've been to that allows campfires which was a real treat - it enabled us to sit out longer into the chilly evening as we could keep warm. You are only permitted to burn logs bought on site (6 for a large bag).

Overall, I'd recommend this site for a young family for a short break. Due to the facilities, I'd be hesitant to stay longer, but it was lovely for a long weekend and I would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: EVANS FAMILY X3 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from an amazing relaxing week long break at Midbrooks! This site has all your basic needs covered and more! (Free hot showers, toilets, microwave and fridge) Our Son loved joining in with the feeding of the baby lambs, pigs and chickens. The site is set back far enough from the road for children to roam the grounds safely. There are even bikes available to rent at a daily/weekly rate. Midbrooks is situated in an ideal location to explore Wiltshire. We can't wait to return in August to taste the Cream Teas! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rushzzz2112 1 review from this member

 Just got back from spending one week at this site. For the most part we were the only caravan on site. The pitches are large, the facilities are clean. The site has a very friendly atmosphere. Alan prefers to call the campsite rules as 'hints' rather than rules. There were many children on site so our 7 year old always had someone to play with. The kids playing on their bikes most of the time and then playing with torches when it got dark. They have a lot of freedom.

We had a day at Salisbury, two days at Longleat, (one isn`t enough) one day in Bath (spent 3 hours touring the roman baths)an afternoon at Laycock where cream teas near the church is a must and a day at Brokerswood country park (this place still has a long way to go)We also had two visits to the Barge inn at Cleeve which does great food.

When I come back next year I will definitely use this site again. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4421 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement