Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Midbrooks Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Trowbridge > Midbrooks Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: Midbrooks Campsite
Southbrook Lane
Steeple Ashton
Trowbridge
Wiltshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirstiehorvath 1 review from this member

 Spent four days at Midbrooks beg of Sept and it is now our favourite campsite! Our children all enjoyed feeding the animals, collecting eggs etc and we enjoyed watching them enjoy themselves. The toilets and showers were basically in a garden shed but cleaner and warmer than some bigger sites we have stayed on. It's obviously a popular site with a fair amount of people coming and going but it didn't feel crowded at all. If we lived closer, it would be the sort of site we would go to just for the weekend. Many thanks to Alan and his wife who run the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aimster 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite was wonderful.

I went with a couple of friends, my partner and his daughter. The facilities were simple but clean. Fantastic shed fitted out with a toilet! Washing up facilities and even a fridge / freezer for campers!

Alan was great, he was very friendly and came round in the morning and evening to feed the animals, which I enjoyed as much as the kids!

We were able to have a campfire and the site is lovely. Very small which made it feel quite exclusive and cosy.

There were bikes to 'hire' for next to nothing which was an added bonus. They are all donations so they're not in great nick but they're perfect for pottering around the site.

All in all a fantastic overnight trip, would not hesitate to return and have already recommended this place to several people. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tallbloke 8 reviews from this member

 Family of 5 - 2 adults, 3 girls (11,9,4)

We were there for a family get together, so as well as us there were 3 other family groups with us. It's only a small site but our hosts put us all together which was really helpful.

As well as being small it was quite 'quirky' which we liked. There were only 15-20 pitches, and the facilities were home built, but worked fine and were perfectly adequate (i.E. Had hot water!).

There were lots of animals on site which the kids loved feeding in the mornings and evenings, and there were lots of other nice touches, for instance they had lots of toddler and small bikes for hire for a nominal fee, you could have home made cream teas in a private garden - to be fully recommended! Free range eggs and fresh fruit & veg. Were also available.

Alan was great with all the children and told them about the animals, taught them how to handle them properly, how to gather egss, and so on, as well as acting as chief bike mechanic! Our youngest rode a 2-wheeled bike for the 1st time while we were there and was apparently Alan's 14th success in this Department that Summer! It's actually a perfect site for learning to ride.

So, overall, an interesting site which we loved and although there aren't masses of facilities there apart from the animals, it was peaceful and a great base for exploring the surrounding area.

Only downside was that there were low flying military helicopters at night from the local airfield, but I think that this was unusual and I actually found quite exciting! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Astradaz 1 review from this member

 Arrived Mid Afternoon and was greeted by Sue and Allan the site owners to this very well set out little campsite, sun was shining as we set up our pitch, it didn't take long for our kids to make friends with all the other kids enjoying themselves here.

We soon found out that the site owner Allan was like the piped piper every morning and evening the kids from all over the site followed him to feed the animals, Molly the pig had just had 15 piglets the day before we arrived, add this to the chickens, ducks, lambs, rabbits and guinea pigs the kids were ecstatic.

The sites amenities were adequate for what we needed and there was also a fridge/freezer supplied for everyone's use.

You are allowed to have a campfire in 1 of the brasiers + wood supplied by Allan for a small charge, also you can hire bikes for a small charge of 3 for the duration of your stay.Brilliant idea saves you taking them.

All in all a fantastic site for all the family very highly recommended.We will certainly come back here. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abbie79 1 review from this member

 We (my friend, my son aged 10 and myself) have just visited Midbrooks and had a fantastic time. We had booked a 10 night stay but ended up staying for 13 nights!The site is lovely with very basic, but clean facilities (2 showers and 2 toilets).
There is a fridge freezer for all to use next to the washing up facilities which we used a lot! The pitches are plenty big enough for your tent and car. The bike hire is a brilliant idea at just 3 for your entire stay and there is plenty of room for the children.And adults to cycle round in.
My son loved feeding the animals, and collecting eggs twice a day with Alan, and feeding Molly our scraps was great fun. The site is situated in a perfect place,it's 10 minutes from Tesco, 20 minutes drive from Longleat, 30 minutes from Bath and about an hour from Stonhenge.
My favourite part of the holiday was being able to have campfires, although a little expensive at 6 a bag (you're not allowed to take your own wood), it was great fun. Our first attempt at campfire building didn't go well.But Alan came to our rescue and taught us how to do it! After that he would come and inspect our fire each night :) earning myself the nickname Mrs Mears!
We were all very sad to leave and we would definitely go back! A very enjoyable holiday. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Vargas 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a fabulous week at Midbrooks. Prior to our visit, I read up on all of the reviews from UKCampsite.And was not disappointed! Magical, perfect, fabulous.All describe this wonderful place.

Alan & Sue - perfect hosts

Clean and basic facilities - more than expected with a hairdryer, outside fridge, free showers.

Very cute 'Vacant' and 'Engaged' signs on the toilets/showers!

Bikes to hire for the duration of your stay at a cost of 3.

Campfire logs for sale 6 - a great family experience of toasting marshmallows and singing songs!

The highlight of our stay has to be Molly the pig giving birth to her 12 piglets last night! A truly wonderful experience - one which my daughter will never forget!

I have spent a week watching my 1 year old and 8 years old daughters running around (in wellies)safely and enjoying the freedom and space. No TV or computer games in sight!

This is one site we would definitely love to return to. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BoroGav 3 reviews from this member

 Party of 2 adults & 2 girls aged 7

There is something ever so slightly magical about this site !

We arrived at 5:50pm. Instantly the girls were whisked away by a posse of youngsters to help with the animal feeding. Friends were made immediately & that was it they were off.

For the first time EVER, they experienced total freedom. Freedom to run, explore, cycle & just be children. It was a little like something out of the famous five. Even those camping without children commented on how wonderful it was to see them all play.

Our neighbors both sides were wonderful, proper campers & all mucked in together.

The weather was horrid but somehow the rains cleared each night allowing the adults to sit around the braziers swapping stories & just enjoying the camping experience, whilst the gang of new found friends played happily in the dark. I doubt anyone will forget the night of the glow sticks or even the impromptu sleepover night.

Facilities are a little basic basic but kept immaculately with lashings of hot water from the showers. The outside communal fridge/freezer is a great idea.

Nick, Alan, Sheila & Sam if you are reading this & fancy meeting up again the girls would love to see Lucy & Amy once more.Not forgetting Abby & Rachel.

Just one last point every single camper on the site had discovered it thanks to this website. Just goes to show the power.

We'll be back at the first possible opportunity. A proper campsite for proper campers. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mullered 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent a wonderful week at this site.

Found it to be a very spacious site with good pitch sizes that provide ample space and good privacy, if required.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. Children love the animal feeding times.

The Shower and WC's ( 2 of each) are basic , but are kept clean. Overall, this is a great ,yet basic site.If you enjoy quiet location, and no luxuries, this one is for you.

One tip, is that it does get very busy with families during holidays due to the animals. So if you don't little loads of kids, then go out outside school holiday's.

The village is close by, with a pub and village shop. The pub serves good food, though drinks are pricey ( 3.40 for a pt Beer and 3.70 for a normal size wine) Shop was well stocked with friendly staff and internet access if required. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cairnliz 1 review from this member

 We have recently returned from a week here and cannot speak highly enough of the site. It is a basic site which offers camping as it used to be. The 2 toilets are basic but fine, as are the 2 showers. There is a fridge for the campers to share and and 1 sink for washing up.

Alan and Sue are the perfect hosts, they leave you to your own devices, but are always around for help and advice should you need it.

My 5 year old daughter loved being involved in the feeding times, as did the other children and adults! There was quite a gathering of people following behind Alan carying their buckets to feed Molly the Pig and the other animals any leftovers.

Because the site is tucked away, it certainly seems very safe for children and it was lovely to alow her some independence.

It is a very friendly site with many of the children all playing together, whilst the adults relax.

Sues homemade cream tea is highly recommended!

We forget our tent poles and Alan was quite prepared to help us out by making something to fit. One of us needed he dentist urgently, and Alan and Sue went out of their way to help out and provide us with telephone numbers.

My daughter even learnt to ride her bike without stabilisers.

In fact we enjoyed it so much we have booked again for later in the summer. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicola1972 5 reviews from this member

 Spent 6 nights at Midbrooks 2 adults and 2 children aged 7 and 11. Tent and day tent cost 10 per night plus 1 per person per night.

When we arrived Alan came out and told us to pitch up and he'd come round later to sort out payment, felt very realxed already.

Our pitch had trees to the rear and was marked out by long grass, the Diablo 600 and day tent fitted with ample room for car plus room to spare.

We set up and Alan came round on his mobility scooter with the dozen eggs in his basket (I had ordered before we arrived 2.50 a doz).

Feeding of the animals was at 9am and 6pm and we had orders from the 7yr old to be back for then.

Alan led the children (and adults) round and they went inside the pens to feed Molly, sheep, rabbits their 2 day old babies, chickens, Alan got the kids to collect the eggs and showed them how to do it properly.

Molly the pig would let you know it was nearly feeding time and she's due to have piglets on Aug 5th. She loved stawberries and banana skins.

Facilities

The lower toilet and shower from the outside look like garden sheds-but inside is the luxury of back home (some may say better).

2 sockets for charging phones and a hairdryer with a mirror next to the loo.

Recycle points for almost everything and it's all laid out next to the rubbish bin, water and loo disposal.

Up the top in between the fruit trees next to the verander where the cream teas are served is another toilet and shower as well as washing up sink and the fridge / freezer which we found an asset.

We hired a log burner and logs cost 6 for a large bag enough for 2 evenings fires, even in the bad weather we managed to have a fire every night.

There is a basic map of the area with all the local places of interest plus where to find the supermarkets. Alan is also full of info if you're stuck for ideas.

Bike hire is 1 a day or 2 per stay. The kids really enjoyed theirs.

All the kids hit it off as soon as they arrived and had a fab time. Each time a new child appeared on camp they joined in.

Our last night was spent with the neighbours round 2 fires chatting, fabulous atmoshere. The children (about 9 of them aged 5 to 11) all played together with their glowsticks provided by Gav (our tenting neighbour) and they all went round to show Alan and Sue who have their own fire at the weekends.

We had a fabulous week and made some great friends, we will be returning.

Would recommend to anyone who loves the peace and quiet, open fires but also children being given the chance to play freely like children should. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5755 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement