Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Midbrooks Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Trowbridge > Midbrooks Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: Midbrooks Campsite
Southbrook Lane
Steeple Ashton
Trowbridge
Wiltshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisandkaz 1 review from this member

 We have recently returned from a mid week stay at midbrookes and found our stay to be everything we had hoped for. It was ideal for the children as they were able to play freely in a safe environment, they also loved the feeding of the animals each day! The facilities were pretty basic but were very clean. Although the campsite itself was quite remote, it is only a short drive from the local pub and shop-which were both closed as we decided to visit, however the next pub wasn't too far either with a lovely children's play area. We are already talking about when we will be visiting again! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davenmick 4 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a week stay at Midbrooks. We came down to go to the Balloon fiesta at Bristol.

It is a lovely peaceful site and the owners are very friendly.

All the previous reviews are correct however we found a few things that haven't been mentioned by previous reviews.

There are only two toilets and that in itself isn't a problem however there is no separate area to have a wash and brush teeth etc so this meant that the toilets were used by people having a wash or brushing their teeth.

There are only 2 showers which are in sheds and the bottom shower is very low. I am 5ft 10 and I was constantly bumping my head in the shower. The water was nice and hot however it seemed to be affected by others using it elsewhere on the site and it would become very cold.They are kept clean though.

The pitches were a good size and well sheltered. We did find that when the site is full that there wasn't much space for children to play.

As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the washing up area is not covered so we ended up getting wet when we were washing up on a couple of occasions.

The owners provide 2 fridges, a freezer and a microwave which were very handy.

This is a good site and we would go back however with a few changes it would be a great site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ohspyro 1 review from this member

 Well what more can I add that hasn't already been said. This site is excellent.

My two children (2 &7) loved the feeling of freedom as it was so safe for them to roam free on site, they loved feeding all the animals especially being able to handle the baby rabbits and chicks.

Having a fire every night is what really makes camping great. You can buy logs on site for a reasonable price.

The showers and toilets on site were ample for the amount of pitches there, and were always clean. There was even 2 fridges available.

It was great visiting Longleat, Brokerwood country park and seeing the Westbury White Horse as all were less then 1/2 hour away.

Will definitely return here again 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pamela Creeth 1 review from this member

 Having just returned from a fabulous week I can say that this is the best camp site we have stayed on. It was really hard to leave as we had such an enjoyable time. We enjoyed our days out to Longleat, Stonehenge, The White Horse and Laycock Manor.

However, what really made the holiday so great was the camp site. The owners are extremely friendly and the site is just such a happy place. There is plenty of space for each pitch and also a great area for the children and adults to play games, which we did along with other families there.

My children hired bikes for the week (3 each - bargain) and enjoyed cycling about the site. Another great feature was the twice daily (9am and 6pm) feeding time for the animals. There is a pig called Molly, sheep, chickens, rabbits.

The children loved collecting the eggs as well as stroking the week old baby rabbits. The facilities at the site were very clean and although there are two toilets and two showers, as it is a small site there wasn't a problem.

Every evening we looked forward to our camp fire; 6 for logs which lasted a couple of nights. The site is also very quiet, no busy roads or traffic noise, just the odd moo of a cow from the nearby fields. It is located just over a mile from the village, we walked into the village for a meal at the pub which was very good.

There is also a shop in the village. I would definitely recommend this site to families looking for a great camping experience. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ajh2001 9 reviews from this member

 Having read the reviews we booked, and kept our fingers crossed that we wouldn't be disappointed. All I can say is Wow! We were two families each with 2 adults and two children - 5 and 7. Well the kids had a ball - space to run and play, animals to feed and other children to get to know.

We adults had a great time too, joining in with everyone else in cricket and football games, reading or just sitting and watching the children enjoy themselves. We hired a bike for our eldest - 3 for the week - bargain - he could ride but was not confident or stable, he now zooms around and has started trying to do stunts!

Feeding times were a hit with young and old alike. Alan patiently helping all children that wanted to, to hand feed Molly, to stroke the sheep, collect eggs or to hold the tiny chicks.

The facilities may only have been two toilets and two showers, but we rarely had to wait and they were spotless. The poshest sheds I've seen!

I would thoroughly recommend trying the cream teas - freshly made to order scones and gorgeous strawberry and blackcurrant jams with lashings of cream. We ordered for 4, but had enough for all 8 of us!

Steeple Ashton was a short walk away - a lovely village, with a friendly pub and village shop. The site itself was fairly remote - we had several clear nights and I've never seen so many stars and it was blissfully quiet (when the children were asleep!).

I could go on and on - it was just the sort of site I've been looking for! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacqui E 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed it! Our daughter is 13 years old and not the most active but we couldn't get her back in the tent as she loved seeing and feeding all the animals and playing football with the other kids on site.

Ameneties where basic but adequate, had to queue for toilet sometimes as only 2, but this is July where talking about here.

Very peaceful site with fields and animals all around you and safe for the children.

Very good pub close by in Steeple Ashton but need to book if eating as very popular.

If going to the city of Bath use Park and ride, traffic's very bad going into town centre.

We'd definitely stay again! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarah+Dave 3 reviews from this member

 The children loved this site, the animal feeding tours were a huge hit. They made lots of friends among the many families present. It is in a great location if you want to visit Longleat, Bath, Stonehenge or any number of white horses.

The pitches(6,7,8,9) at the top end of the campsite are small and we struggled to pitch our large tent and park the car. Things were very cosy with our neighbours! There were 17 tents on site and consequently little space for the large number of children present to play. The facilities of two toilets, two showers and one outdoor wash up area were inadequate for the number of people present.

Once the bank holiday was over and the majority of people left, we had a bit more space and we began to see why people rave about this site.

The ability to have campfires and wood on site was great, these were the highlight of our children's entire summer holiday.

On balance a good campsite 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Warbis66 28 reviews from this member

 What a lovely place to be. Real camping surrounded by farmland. Only around 14 pitches all with tents. Pitches on the small side but fine for what I needed. Lovely owners. Animal feeding twice daily is about as hectic as it gets.

Facilities clean and quaint. Lots to see round and about. Campsite great for a base but I don't think my older kids would want to stay here longer than 2 nights. Highly recommend 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yellabelly 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from a great 6 day visit to Wiltshire and stayed at this camp using it as a base to visit all attractions within easy reach of the camp. A very basic clean camp which does not look brilliant on first views but it grows on you within hours.

Had a 14 yr old and a 4 year old with us who loved the farm/small holding for its animals and bikes with plenty of room to play cricket, football, frizbees or just cycle round.

Good sized pitches and yes 6 for a bag of logs is steep but we made one bag last 3 nights. No electric hook ups so kids slept well from 10pm onwards as there was no inconsiderate boom box merchants to blast us out.  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chellefem 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful site, Alan and Sue are very welcoming. The pitches are a good size, facilities are basic but do the job well. We spent a week there and returned home very happy and relaxed - the children had plenty of space to run, it was all very safe and feeding the animals was an extra bonus to the whole experience.

The surrounding area had good shops and attractions - but I would warn against taking a car into Bath if you visit the city. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6009 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement