Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Midbrooks Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Trowbridge > Midbrooks Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: Midbrooks Campsite
Southbrook Lane
Steeple Ashton
Trowbridge
Wiltshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Justkeepswimming 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a blissful weekend at Midbrooks, our first visit and we are so pleased to have found somewhere so delightful only half an hour's drive from home - shame it is already booked for most summer weekends!

The site is a perfect size - approx 10 tents and it was full over Saturday night but did not feel at all crowded. The pitches are all a good size and are really nicely laid out, with plenty of shade. The facilities are quite basic - 2 toilets and 2 showers in sheds and 1 wash up - but nicely done and were kept spotless - and although the site was full we didn't have to queue to use them.

It is a perfect site for families with small children as it is small enough for them to roam freely, they love the animals (especially Molly the pig and her three piglets, who enjoyed all our leftover fruit and bread) and the feeding sessions at 9am and 6pm, and you can hire bikes for them to play on for 3 per bike for the duration of your stay. You can hire a brazier and buy a bag of logs for 6 (only logs bought on site can be burned there).

Steeple Ashton is a lovely village with a great pub (big child-friendly garden) and a really useful village shop which even stocks some camping essentials. Trowbridge is a short drive away and has a big Tesco.

Overall, a near perfect site and we can't wait to get back there soon! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morphinemitt 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first visit to Midbrooks (2 adults, 2 kids, 2 dogs) and already booked for another visit in August.

After reading the previous reviews I was looking forward to a relaxing break and it didn't disappoint.

The kids and the missus were wondering how on earth we'd manage for a whole four days without electricity, but manage we did (not a TV or games console in sight!).

The kids loved rolling around the site on the bikes which were hired for 3.00 each for our entire stay, we loved the peace and quiet and contentment of watching them play, and the animal feeding times were a bonus too.

Site was tidy, clean and well laid out with the owners never far away for advice / directions.

Oh. The campfires are a lovely end to the day with tales being told and stars being watched.

Try it, you won't be disappointed. Just leave space for us. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AngieGL 18 reviews from this member

 Can only add to everyone else's comments. We're already booked to go back in May taking others with us who are trying their first night of camping.

If my children could move there, they would and as we live in the country with our own animals, that's saying something!

The village is within walking distance, the village shop was full of lovely volunteers who run it and it has a small cafe. The church is practically a cathedral and well worth a visit. Don't go there just to do Longleat! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dickensons 1 review from this member

 We have returned from a soggy but enjoyable weekend at this site. In spite of the British bank holiday weather we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and made good use of this beautiful yet basic site.

Fantastically large pitch allowed us to put up our 4 man tent with extension and a 2 man for the kids alongside our 2 cars and trailer and there was still plenty of room to swing the dog!

Showers and toilets are always clean and the water is hot. Not quite what you expect from first impressions - I thought outhouses had gone out of fashion!

Lots of safe space for the children to enjoy and of course there are the animals for entertainment. There's nothing quite like being gently woken by the sound of grunting pigs in the run behind the tents. Our daughter was enchanted by holding the baby rabbits and the hour old chicks.

We will be back soon to enjoy Alan and Sue's hospitality and to try the cream teas. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meddy 3 reviews from this member

 Had a great stay here for 4 nights. Pitches are big, round and flat and laid out almost like flower petals, which is a nice change from rows. Plenty of space for the children to run around and the grass was well tended.

The toilets seemed modest from the outside - being within a shed - but on entering they were immaculate, and kept clean all through our stay. I had a great shower there too, with roasting hot water! One thing that was refreshing were recycling bins, nice to be able to split our rubbish out instead of put it all in landfill.

We went with young children and they had a brilliant time - they fed the animals twice a day and the rest of the time were to be found running between the pig and the chickens and the lambs, constantly saying 'hello' to one or the other. Quite likely the animals were pleased to see us go so that they'd have a rest!

The owners were very helpful and friendly. Oh, and we had a home made cream tea which was delicious! We also had a campfire every night, which was excellent.

This is definitely a site we'd like to return to - simple but not too basic.

(Oh, and yes, we saw / heard helicopters but I didn't find it at all disturbing, in fact quite enjoyed spotting them in the air)

The only drawback from my point of view was that it was quite a walk to get anywhere - the nearest shop was some distance away so when we left the site we did so by car. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Raddaran 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here mid week. The site is fantastic. If you are wanting to get back to more basic sites then this is for you. Its only a small site (10 pitches ish) site so book in advance. After speaking to Alan most of the summer holidays is fully booked. There is no EHU. There are two toilets and two showers. These were spotless, There is also an outside wash area for pots and pans etc, (you would get very wet if it was raining, this was the only thing slightly wrong with the site). Its location is ideal, quiet and no through traffic, our oldest boys were able to play very safely. The local village is about 15-20 mins walk down a country lane. Alan and Sue run the site and were the perfect hosts. Alan takes the children to feed the animals every evening. It's a small holding so again very safe. I will be going back. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liz+Jamie 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite, would definitely return.

The facilities were basic but clean and adequate. The site feels cosy as it is quite small and the pitches are separated with longer grass, which makes it more private. The owners are very friendly and informative, they also encourage you to help feed the livestock (lambs, pigs, rabbits, chickens etc.).

The site is in a brilliant location with many places to eat, drink and buy essentials. There are numerous places to visit nearby, including Bath, Westbry White Horse, Avebury, Salisbury and Stonehenge. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fernsider 9 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site after a spur of the moment camping weekend. Wow absolutely loved it so did our 6yr old. It was the last weekend before they closed,but nothing to much trouble for Alan or Sue. The site is basic but clean and plenty of pitch space.Theres 2 toilets and 2 showers located in sheds,thought this was ace. Great place for younger children to play and explore. Also the feeding of the animals was very popular. We took a walk into the village,this was so lovely a village shop and a pub,recommend this. Lots of quirky houses and found the villagers very friendly. I'm so glad we stayed at Midbrooks we will definitely return here next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jgsellick 1 review from this member

 This is a really lovely campsite on a working farm.

The facilities are basic but very clean, with two showers and toilets and a washing up sink.

Bike hire is very cheap, there is no playground as such, but lots of space for the kids. The big attraction for them (and the adults) is being allowed to help with feeding the pigs, sheep, chickens, rabbits and ducks twice a day. Alan the farmer is very friendly and informative about the animals and their welfare and campers are encouraged to save their vegetable waste for Molly the pig and her piglets.

You're allowed real campfires (in firebowls supplied) with logs available for a small charge.

Wiltshire abounds in places to visit, Longleat being one, which is why we were there.

The site is well into the country, but there are shops, pubs etc within a short drive.

I can't really think of any negative aspects, unless you prefer the bright lights and luxury facilities.

Fresh eggs (chicken and duck) too! 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SpudGunner 7 reviews from this member

 Where do I begin?

Our first time camping as a family in our 8 person tent. We stayed on a pitch next to some friends who had stayed many a time and said how wonderful the site was.

They were not wrong!

Alan and Sue were very friendly and helpful. Alan was amazing with the children - so patient, considering he takes them around twice a day for feeding, he was so enthusiastic.

He took his time explaining to them all about the animals, how to pick up an egg correctly and when the children were nervous about hand feeding Molly the pig, he would put his hand over theirs and explain that they would be totally safe as his hand would get bitten first if any problems.

My boys got so excited about the feeding time and kept pestering me about when it would be next. Pigs, Lambs, Chickens, Ducks, Rabbits and Guinea Pigs were all there to be fed and stroked.

Our pitch was a good size, the site was quiet even when completely full on the Friday - lots of families, no drunken yobs! Apart from the occasional Chinook helicopter it was very peaceful as well

It was lovely to look out and see everyone sitting round their camp fires in the evening toasting their marshmallows.

Facilities were good - whilst it seemed odd having a toilet and shower in a shed, they were actually really nice inside. Also having the use of a fridge was great as well as the outdoor sink.

The owners are always thinking of ways to improve things and this year have added a map of the local area which we found handy as we had forgotten to look info up before we left home. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4550 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement