Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Midbrooks Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Trowbridge > Midbrooks Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: Midbrooks Campsite
Southbrook Lane
Steeple Ashton
Trowbridge
Wiltshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HillsFamily 1 review from this member

 We can only echo what Peggypoo has said about Midbrooks. What a gem of a site. My boys loved the bikes and enjoyed feeding the animals twice a day. The site's location make it a great place for children to experience the 'freedom of play' - just as we used to when we were young.

It was a joy to be able to have a campfire each evening. Our only regret was that we didn't get round to enjoying a Cream Tea - as we have it on good authority that they are delicious!

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peggypoo 2 reviews from this member

 Have just come back from a 2 night stay.

This is a lovely small site, and Alan is a lovely man, very friendly and helpful.

I was, I admit, horrified when I saw that the shower and toilet were sheds! But when I opened the door my fears were eleveated as they were immaculate inside and well appointed.

My boys were able to hire a bike each and although they arent brand new, well worth the 1.00 / 3.00 rental fee, and Alan checked them both before handing them over, ensuring brakes worked.

As its a small site and down a very long track it is very safe for the children to be given their freedom.

The microwave and fridge are a good idea as is the hairdryer, and there is a plug that can be used for recharging electrical items. And a washing up area that is clean.

Having 2 teenagers the animal feeding wasn't really interesting for them, but we did watch the pigs being fed and enjoyed Alan showing us his cars.

We had a campfire both nights, and the 6. 00 bag of wood, lasted us both nights. We went to bed quite early and although there were people still socialising around their own fires, none were over loud or inconsiderate.

We also enjoyed the fresh eggs.

We were in 'the paddock' next to the sheep, and were not awoken by a cockerel? or any other animal. I don't think I would have liked to be pitched next to Molly the pig as she snores like one! This we only noticed when we went to the washing up area, so I can't really comment on what sleeping next to her was like.

We walked into the village, about a mile. The pub has a large play area. The shop has essentials only.

We visited Longleat during our stay, which is worth a visit and about 25 mins drive away. You can also drive to supermarkets etc easily.

I would recommend a visit to Midbrooks without hesitation and should we visit this area again will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobnog 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. My 7 year old daughter loved all the animals and helping Alan to feed them. She didn't want to come home! Bikes to rent also a great touch, as is buying the fresh eggs.

Toilets and showers basic but fine. My tall husband found them too low but ok. Small but busy site, lots of children and safe to let them have freedom.

The Longs Arm pub is 20 minute walk and served good food and has beautiful garden with play equipment. Longleat was a huge hit and a full day if not two day trip as there is so much to see and do. Lovely walk by the canal from The Barge Inn at Seend Cleeve.

I would definitely go back again. As my daughter has just said, 'It was well good!' 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: G-Sears 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from here after a 5 night break & what a brilliant basic site. Kids had great fun and the feeding times with the animals was great. The toilets are in sheds, but are much better inside and always kept clean. Alan is a real character and the kids seem to love him. The site is completely safe and the kids rode around with plenty of room.

The village shop is basic, but sells essentials, and supermarkets are close at hand. There is a map on the site which shows where various shops etc are.

Having a campfire at night was great and priced at 6 was not bad.

1 gripe: Some of the parents didn't monitor the toilets after children had visited and they were left in quite a state. No fault of the campsite.

Remember that animals are on this site and do make a noise. Esp the cockerel at 5:30 am.

All in all a great basic site with large pitches. Our 8m x 4m tent, cooking tent and gazebo fitted easily. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Curlytoes 2 reviews from this member

 We thought this campsite was a real gem; small, friendly and unique. Alan the owner was very welcoming. He has a lovely manner with children and our three young kids loved going to feed the animals with him. Our five year old isn't even that interested in animals but he enjoyed hanging out in the gang of kids doing the rounds and Molly the pig and her 14 piglets won a place in his heart.

The site doesn't have a separate play area and the field where the kids could play ball etc ran downhill into our pitch so we received lots of balls! This didn't bother us at all. In fact with young kids it was actually easier that everyone was playing together within full sight of the tent. A handy windbreak could fix this if you were worried.

The facilities were good for the size of the site. The showers and toilets were in sheds but were better inside than they looked; clean with plenty of hot water. The use of a communal fridge and power point was handy, there is no hook up.

Also we bought logs for 6 and enjoyed 3 small campfires from this.

We used the site to visit Longleat. It took about half an hour to drive there. We would live to return to this site and will stay longer next time, exploring more of the area.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yellowrose852 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping experience since having children, we have two aged 2 and 5. What a lovely site for our first go! It was lovely and quiet, felt very safe for the children to play.

The pitches were nice and flat, at first sight the toilet and shower looks like a little shed but inside they are nice and clean.

The children loved feeding the animals. There is no play area but it's not needed as the children make their own fun and the animals provide entertainment. When we went there was pretty much non stop rain but it didn't dampen our spirits, we just got a lot of use from our wellies! The owners were lovely and helpful and the village pub was very nice.

A visit to longleat safari is a must!

We will be back to this site one day. Thank you for a lovely time :-) 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andyem 5 reviews from this member

 Just got back from our first trip to Midbrooks and we will be going back (weather permitting) It was more than a little damp on site and the main tracks were heavily churned up.

The toilet and shower were very compact but the wardens managed to keep them relatively clean given the amount of mud on the site.

Every morning and evening the warden would take the children on the site to feed the animals which was a really nice touch.

You can buy a brazier and logs on site to have an open fire, it cost 6 and there was more than enough logs there for our 2 night stay.

The village was quite a walk away, but had a lovely pub and a reasonably well stocked shop. Overall a very nice site and if you have children, they will love it. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Troutysass 1 review from this member

 A proper country camping site with the luxury of a shower block, wash up facilities and loo, facilities are adequate for the size of the site. There were some bikes to hire and fires are allowed! The shower and loo look like they are in a shed, but they are more luxurious inside and were very clean. Owners are very friendly and seem to love kids. Our little girl loved feeding the animals- it was an amazing experience- feeding time tours are a must for everyone. We hope to be back again soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevinm01 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site for 5 nights during Easter. What a fantastic place to stay!

The owners gave us a lovely welcome when we arrived and showed us to our pitch.

We have an 8 Man tunnel tent, Trailer box and a large car and still managed to fit onto the pitch no problem.

This peaceful away from traffic noise site is basic with 17 pitches, 2 toilets, 2 hot showers and 1 washing up area, all of which were kept perfectly clean throughout. Also there are recycling facilities available.

There is a local village shop which stocks basic stuff, if a little pricey. However there is a Tesco and an Aldi about 10-15 mins drive.

Camp fires are allowed and firewood can be purchased on-site at 6 a bag.

We have 4 children aged between 1 and 9yrs old, all of which had a fantastic time feeding all the animals with Alan the owner. It is a real Peter Pan moment seeing him being followed by all these children. He is really good with the kids allowing them to each handle the animals.

We felt our children were safe to play anywhere around the site.

Although Alan and Sue check to make sure everything is ok we never felt we were being watched. They really trusted you to respect the area.

We would definitely recommend this site to anyone and it's at a decent price too! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aldersv 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed her for a long weekend in August after hearing so much about the place we were all very excited.

We arrived on the Friday early afternoon and was met by the owner, who told us which was our pitch and gave us a bit of an overview and generally gave us a warm welcome.

The pitch we had was of a fair size for our 5 man tent but some of the larger tents might have struggled slightly (depending on shape), some of the grass was a bit bear in the middle but at this time of year after a summer of camping its to be expected the grass may have suffered. All the pitches except a couple looked very flat.

There are a couple of (unisex) toilets and showers which were kept lovely and clean even after the rain when it was a bit muddy. There were a couple of fridges and small freezer, a hairdryer and you could use a spare plug to charge phones (as there is no EHU). At the top set of toilets and shower is a washing up area (it would have been great to have a waste bin next to it as that was further down the field)which hardly ever had a queue and a had a light for a little late night washing up!

The two highlights were feeding the animals, the owner took great pleasure in taking the children to feed Molly the Pig, hens, rabbits etc

He was like the pied piper with all the children following. :-) The option to have a campfire was lovely which we took full advantage of buying logs from the site each night.

The site is small and felt very safe for children playing and riding bikes (which you can hire for 3 for the weekend). The site was full while were there and being August was school holidays so I appreciate that there would be lots of children (we had our 5 yr old and 8 yr old with us) however one of the things I struggled with was lack of respect a minority gave to other people, privacy, and control of there children.

I have to say that people did respect quiet time from 11 - just a few people quietly talking around the campfire which was great.

We ate in the pub in the village which was lovely and had a very nice/large garden at the back with a slide and swings. Although a little drive away we also went swimming at the fun pool in chippenham which had slides etc There is a shop in the village and nearby Trowbridge has lots of shops including Tesco. We also visited Hope Nature centre - charity set up to help young adults with learning difficulties where they run a animal park and nice cafe.

Before we left we had one of the fantastic cream tea's they offer - would very much recommend!

Have to say the site was very well kept and clean, although more on the basic side. The kids totally loved it and want to go back again and we will return again. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6034 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement