Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Midbrooks Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Trowbridge > Midbrooks Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: Midbrooks Campsite
Southbrook Lane
Steeple Ashton
Trowbridge
Wiltshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J, j + c 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from our first family camping trip with our 2 year old son. We chose Midbrooks campsite after reading reviews posted on this site and we were not disappointed! On arrival at the site and pitching our tent our son declared it to be perfect.

The site is at the end of a small lane and completely surrounded by fields so the only noise we heard were cows and lambs.

Each morning and evening Alan took our son (only child for 1st 2 days) to feed the animals and collect eggs. He loved it and learnt a lot.

Steeple Ashton is a beautiful village with a pub and village shop. Everyone we met was very friendly and keen to talk about the village.

We had a fantastic holiday and would definitely recommend Midbrooks campsite as the facilities are clean and well thought out - the fridge freezer proved particularly useful. Alan and Sue were very friendly and the cream teas are delicious. Most importantly for us was that our very energetic boy was able to run around as much as he liked safely. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wen66 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, spacious pitches, lovely owners. We were only there for two nights, tried to extend our stay but they were fully booked. You need to book well in advance. Great location for trips to Longleat and Bath.

The facilities were basic but it's all you need. Two loos, two showers, all were kept clean. We never needed to queue.

My kids loved it, especially feeding time for the animals. Relaxed but respectful site. No noise except for the wildlife and Molly the pig.

We would love to go back very soon especially for the cream teas on the veranda! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M. Fox 1 review from this member

 My hubby, myself and our 19 month old daughter camped at Midbrooks for 5 nights at the start of June whilst visiting from Northern Ireland to see relatives and it was fab.

-Great sized pitches
-Bathrooms clean and cosy
-Hot water in both showers
-Outdoor fridge freezer to keep essentials fresh
-Wonderful relaxed atmosphere
-Perfect host, Alan. wWho provides information on local attractions and educated us about the animals on his small holding.
-During the weekdays the site was very quiet with only 2 families on the site, the weekends were busier but not noisier

My daughter loved feeding the animals morning and evening and became quite obsessed with Molly the pig, she still talks about her now.

The walk to the pub takes just under 20 minutes and the local village is very picturesque. The shop is well stocked with all the essentials and the nearest town has anything you can't find locally.

Great value for money, we will definitely be staying there next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neale65 1 review from this member

 Alan & Sue have just given us the perfect weekend. The site is lovely and gave our children a weekend of freedom and innocence from how I remember my childhood in the seventies.

They loved feeding time and a massive thank you to Alan for acting as the Pied Piper twice a day (giving Mummy and Daddy 40 mins rest.)

The weather was glorious and the bike hire a wonderful idea. The grown-ups highlight was the cream tea on the veranda.

The most perfect weekend we have had in a long time and we hope to come back again soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Li li 1 review from this member

 We have spent the last 5 nights at Midbrooks and it has been one of the best campsites we have stayed at.

The pitches are well spaced and a good size - we have a 6 berth tent and had plenty of space. There are 2 toilets and 2 showers, which were cleaned every day. Plenty of loo roll, soap and clean hand towels.

It is 20 mins walk to the village. The pub has a lovely beer garden and serves yummy food. It also sells local ale at 1 a pint.

The shop is well stocked and is open good hours.

The owners of the campsite are relaxed and friendly. Both children and adults are able to feed the animals. Bikes of all sizes of available for hire. You can borrow a fire pit and buy bags of logs for 6. Homemade cream teas are 3.50 and fresh eggs 1.50 f.Or 12. It is only 8 miles to Longleat and with in 30 mins drive to lots of other places of interest. The owner is happy to explain how to get to these places and whats there. Overall Midbrooks ticks every box. We will certainly go back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrew.linney 1 review from this member

 How was it for you?

1st time camping for the Linney family and we had a great time, despite less than perfect weather.

Molly the pig gladly finished up anything the kids left behind and the toilets and showers were fine. Did get a bit muddy but there was a lot of water hitting the ground when we were there.

Alan and Sue were fantastic. Sue baked us cakes by request which we ate on the veranda, though even we couldn't quite manage all she provided.

Kids had a fantastic time riding the borrowed bikes and my 5 yr old who had only just moved on from her stabilisers left brimming with cycling confidence.

The open fires were a real boon and we found a 6 bag of fuel lasted 2+ nights.

In summary, a lovely rustic site, highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EveB 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from Midbrooks having spent a very lovely week there. It really is as good as all the other reviews say. It is very peaceful and very child friendly. We will have fond memories of Midbrooks as this is where out 6 year old learnt to ride a bike without stabilisers (hired for 2 for the week!)

There is lots of open space for the children to run around and of course the animal feeding which is a big hit. We loved being able to have a campfire and the children all joined in roasting marshmallows. It was a added bonus as well having use of a fridge/freezer.

Bradford on Avon is well worth a visit the country park is beautiful and the children can paddle in the river. Frome is also worth a visit, we went to a great swimming pool there and the top street of the town is lined with independent shops. It is a very beautiful part of the country and Midbrooks is a great base.

We will go back though I guess we will have to book well in advance. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suenandrew 1 review from this member

 My first camping experience, at 45 and used to my home comforts! thanks Midbrooks it was really great. The weather helped, it was gorgeous, expect to be woken up around 5am by the wood pigeons! even that didnt spoil it, met some really nice people.

Midbrooks was a great base for travelling around, we visited Bath, 2 days at Longleat (the main reason for our visit to the area), then on to Oxford.

Excellent food at the local pub but it does get really busy and you may have quite a wait, dont let that put you off the food is worth it! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Luffers 1 review from this member

 An excellent small campsite. Each plot is separated enough from its neighbours to give you a sense of space. The owners are wonderful. The tenants could consider hiring out their children for the twice daily animal feeding schedule, I am sure they owners enjoy it more than the kids.

No noise from any nearby roads, though the pig did grunt quite loudly.

Cannot complain about anything.

The local pub is a good 20 minute walk away (3 minute drive) but was fully booked for food both nights we were staying, the menu looked very nice, everything spelt correctly. The other pubs in the area are a drive away. The Lamb on the Strand was very good and they were attentive to our 6 year old. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andymatt 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from an excellent week at Midbrooks. We stayed midweek to midweek. We were the only people there when we arrived, met by the very friendly Sue. She instructed us where to pitch, and as it was raining, came down in an hour to make sure we were ok.

For the first few days there was only one other tent on site. At the weekend - the site became extremely full. And it still hadn't really stopped raining!

Everyone seemed to be having an excellent time regardless of the weather and Alan's two rounds per day for animal feeding was like watching the Pied Piper! One man on a scooter followed by 30-40 kids!

The site became very muddy, but Sue managed to keep the facilities clean.

Others have complained about the 'flimsy engaged/vacant' sign - we found the best way to know whether the toilet or shower was in use, as with all other sites we have ever been to, was to keep an eye on the comings and goings if you wanted to use them. Most other sites have no indicator as to engaged or vacant - you just have to try the door!

Sue and Alan were great hosts - there if you needed them, a daily 'hello, how are you' etc. But then leaving you to get on with it.

Alan told us that his idea for the site was to be the kind of site he'd like to stay in - we think they have succeeded very well - we'll definitely be back. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4917 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement