Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wyreside Lakes Fishery

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Wyreside Lakes Fishery Reviews

Wyreside Lakes Fishery
Sunnyside Farmhouse
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 9DG
Tel: 01524 792093  or  01524 792158
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40 Grass pitches for tents and 24 electric hook up
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 96 Reviews
                8/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ASharpy 3 reviews from this member

We were a group of 4 adults and had a long weekend there, we didn't fish just went to have a get away

Our pitch was on a gentle slope but noticed most of the pitches I saw were on some kinda slope, the ground was well draining and easy enough to peg down into, even though we were close to some trees

The bar and Saturday night entertainment was great and there was even football on, the toilets and showers were cleaned regularly and plenty of loo roll, the only thing was a lack shelf in the shower for toiletries and the water from the shower did wet my shoes even though it was a cubicle with a shower curtain

ALL the staff were friendly and polite and the fresh free range eggs were great

Thinking of looking into going back and having a sample of the fishing tuition

Only giving 6/10 for facilities because we didn't fish and it is a fishery but what I did use was great

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shezzle 2 reviews from this member

Not a site for us. If it wasn't for the fishing lakes we wouldn't have stayed!

M6 sounded as if it ran through the site, building work done on the house on site so a lot of machinery noise all day and the gravel hardstanding area was unappealing.

On a positive note - the lakes are stunning and an oasis amongst the noise, simply beautiful! If we could have stayed on the waters edge, then it would have been heaven. The children's play area looked well equipped (we didn't have children to test them out), the showers were good (according to my hubby) and there were constant ground maintainance to keep the place looking tidy. We didn't use the pub, shop or restaurant, so I can't comment on those.

This is only our experience and other reviews will & do say differently. It's all down to personal tastes.

If fishing is your thing, then this is the place for you.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Linny32 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here last year for a weekend as me and wife decided to bust out the camping gear again after several years.

Great site facility's, showers and toilets where very clean and plenty of hot water and the on site shop sells all the basics.

It has its own on site pub which is reasonably priced and also sell a great selection of hot food ( love the kebabs by the way ).

Children's play area looks good and well maintained, tent pitches are on a gentle slope but do not cause any problems.

There are nice walks around the fishing lakes and great views of the surrounding area.

All in all we had a great weekend break here and will definitely be returning in the future

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dizzycamper 3 reviews from this member

Loveley site with great walks around the lakes Good areas for children playing and good facilities. Came to this site as our previous frequented site has new management, price increase and sitting out at night round a small stove fire have been stopped leaving nothing other than to sit in your caravan.

Wyreseide provide holiday type entertainment at night so kids and adults alike have something to do. Felt like we had been on a holiday. A little regimental on the caravan section but we got round this. Close to good tourist areas, Garstang and Lancaster on the doorstep. Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cannonedale 2 reviews from this member

This was my first camping trip in about 15 years and the first time my two children (6 and 4) have ever been.

We arrived at Wyreside early afternoon on the Friday and after being greeted and welcomed to the site were shown to the upper pitch area as this had the drier ground. The ground was still a little bit soggy but that's hardly surprising after the incessant rain.

It took us a little longer than the 12 mins. pitching time stated on the bag of our new Icarus 500 tent, but we soon had it pitched and were set for the weekend.

The camp-grounds themselves are very well maintained, set in some beautiful scenery and are exceptionally clean, the staff always seemed to be busy cleaning something and they clearly take great pride in their site.

The facilities were spotless, the showers were clean and hot and there seemed to be plenty of them (admittedly, the site was not particularly busy). The staff were very approachable and helpful as well as being very good with the children.

My two young daughters loved the site, they liked walking with us round the lakes; they loved the playground and thought the kids' karaoke on Saturday night was great. Sally made their night!

I cannot fault this site and will definitely be back; I would highly recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gudge04 2 reviews from this member

We arrived at the site on a sunny friday dinnertime after finding it easy enough 5 minutes from the motorway.

Bob (the owner) greeted us and promptly showed us to our pitch which was 100% grass, no hard standing, and had some good views. Just to note that others have said that Bob is not the frendliest but break down the initial 2 minute barrier and you couldn't meet a nicer fella.

The showers were first class, cleaned reguarly, and found the bar area handy and the opening times were even handier, dinner till late and well away from the camping area. The shop is mainly stocked with fishing accessories but sells the essentials, but Bob kindly directed us to the nearby Spar a couple of miles away.

It has a fishing business running parallel to the camping business but this was more a plus than a minus. Some good walks and bike rides around the numerous lakes.

The entertainment at night was spot on, could not be frendlier, as we had 7 kids in our group, with talent competions which kept our girls occupied all afternoon.

Nice part of the country with drives to Glasson Dock and nearby coast within minutes. Would thouroughly recommend and will book a gain next year.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Uk forever 1 review from this member

We have been going to Wyreside Lakes for many years now, since our kids were toddlers. As previous reviewers have said it’s an idyllic site without having to treck miles into the Lake District. The facilities are always being upgraded, every time we go something new has been added or revamped – this year they have had a new driveway and car park area which looks really nice. It is truly a family site, run by a very friendly and obliging family, my kids look forward to seeing the owner Bob who always gives them a ride on the quad bike when taking us to our pitch and nothing is too much trouble. Sally (Bobs daughter) runs the site and she also does the entertainment and kids games which again my kids love because they can mix with the other children. The toilets and general facilities are kept immaculately clean, even at busy times like bank holiday and there is a little site shop which has a bit of everything you may need.

We are keen walkers and there are many connecting walks around the area including a little gem called ‘Nicky Nook’ which gives fantastic views over Morecambe bay, Blackpool and even as far as the lake district on a good day!

We don’t often eat in restaurants when we go camping but theirs looked busy and I think the new take away idea is very good.

We were a little confused with the pricing structure this year as the website has also changed but once we got used to looking at the new low, medium and high season prices it was easy enough to work out. This Easter we couldn’t make our minds up whether to go to the lake district or not but considering how atrocious the weather was and the price difference at high season, I’m glad we chose Wyreside Lakes once more.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alfie38 1 review from this member

Having been to this site every year since 1998 when we first bought our tent, we have just returned again and had another good visit even if the weather wasn't the best,

The beauty of this site for us is the friendliness of the staff who always have time for you and the relaxed nature of the camping rules meaning that if there are a few families together, which there generally is with us, you can sit out or in a gazebo at night-time without over zealous wardens telling you to go to bed at 10 o clock.

The restaurant sells good food but as any campsite you have to pick your time as it gets busy and only serves food at certain times. The club is basic but geared towards family entertainment with kids discos, games and karaoke which our kids love.

They have also started doing takeaway food which a few people seemed to be eating.

It is well based for days out in the surrounding area and there are loads of walks.

The only downside is it is getting a bit expensive at £23. 00 per night plus £4. 00 per night for a utility tent but isnt everything!

Drinks arent cheap at either of the bars either and when one of our group asked for some ketchup for some chips they had bought from the bar and they wanted more money, we thought that was a step too far considering what we spent in the facilities and in site fees.

Great site for occasional campers and families but probably not for the more adventurous or budget conscious.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheCarrolls 4 reviews from this member

Just recently stayed at Wyreside Lakes Fishery and what a picturesque place. We will return again!

However the owner 'Bob' is a little blunt & not very friendly it didn't dampen our stay.

The children's play park was great & we got some fishing in too - Lovely lakes!

Very close to Garstang and had a little drive to the village of Scorton which was beautiful.

90% of the park are seasonal tourers so you do get a feel that everyone knows everyone!

Pitch was on a slope so next time we'll be prepared.

All in all a Lovely pretty site!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Samii-h 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site for one night with our 13 year old son and 6 month old daughter. Also joining us were a couple of friends also in a campervan and friends with a toddler in a caravan, along with two well behaved dogs.

We were all very impressed with the beauty of this site, with plenty of walks to be had around the lakes.

The staff were very friendly and made us all feel very welcome.

The facilities were to a very high standard and very clean. There is a good sized children’s play area which our friend’s toddler really enjoyed.

Due to bad weather in the morning we went to the restaurant for breakfast and it was one of the best breakfasts we have had in a long time and very good value for money. Again, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The only thing that let this site down to the point where I don't think we will be returning was the fact that there was dog mess everywhere! Not only was it on the paths but also on the grass where we were pitched and other grassed areas. Not good when you have a toddler running around and it spoilt it for both him and his mum as he couldn’t run around free and she was constantly on her feet running after him to make sure he avoided the abundant mess. At one point he almost picked some up to throw in a lake thinking it was a stone – luckily his mum intercepted him just in time!

I think the owners really need to consider stricter dog policies as due to the mess I would not recommend it for families at all. As previously stated, we had too dogs with us but their owners are very conscientious and ensured they were on leads at all times and cleaned up their mess. It is such a shame that others cannot be the same and have therefore spoilt what would be the perfect campsite.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1777 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020