Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wyreside Lakes Fishery

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Wyreside Lakes Fishery Reviews

Wyreside Lakes Fishery
Sunnyside Farmhouse
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 9DG
Tel: 01524 792093  or  01524 792158
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40 Grass pitches for tents and 24 electric hook up
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 96 Reviews
                8/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J+mcampers 2 reviews from this member

We have been to this site twice this year as it is only 30 minutes from home. It has wonderful views from the pitch over the lake and the hills beyond. There are some really nice walks along the river through the woods and of course around the lakes which we enjoyed with our puppy.

The toilet facilities are good, although in the evening it was quite strange and a little intimidating to be cleaning your teeth in pyjamas when there were people from the bar all glammed up using the same toilets and having a gossip.

The owners are friendly and the shop is well stocked and had good prices - we paid less than 2 for a new mallet. There is a general hum from the motorway, although after a short while the wonderful views distract from this. We ate in the bar the first time and the food was a reasonable price.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Danick 2 reviews from this member

Just spent weekend at Wyreside. Excellent site

Beautiful views and walks around lakes.

Toilet block very modern & very clean with excellent hot showers.

Watched the England game in bar - followed by Karaoke which was very entertaining and very good atmosphere.

Childrens gamesroom and playground very good.

Onsite well stocked shop.

Didn't go off the site as it was so nice on it.

Will definitely be booking there again soon.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yte8 5 reviews from this member

We enjoyed our time at the site. The setting was was great and the club house and play areas were a success with the kids, especially the entertainment on Saturday night. The shop was good and the prices reasonable. We ate once at the restaurant which served good quality well priced food.

As mentioned in other reviews it is a long walk to the toilets from the tent areas. Also at peak times the shower / wash facilities were very crowded.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cavaliergirl 1 review from this member

It was spring bank week and We received a cheery greeting making us and 2 dogs feel very welcome, and was immediately escorted to our pitch, (1 of 8 EHU for tents).

This was at the top of the upper field which was on a slight slope but with beautiful views of one of the lakes and hillside beyond.

Although the site is so close to the motorway just behind Forton services, the birds are quite verbal thankfully we had earplugs, the surroundings are very scenic plenty of lakes through a woodland walk and all that was missing was some seats to rest and take in the views.

The toilets and shower block were very clean with hot water 24/7,( would recommend a bucket for overnight as it is a long sprint if urgent) there is a small site shop,launderette and bar serving food and a take away service.The staff all seemed friendly and helpful. There is a local spar shop about 2 miles away or we passed a large Morrisons and Asda on the way to Fleetwood. On the whole we had a wonderful stay and will book again, the site is well situated for Blackpool, Morecambe and the lakes.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bosshogg_hgte 3 reviews from this member

Got to say the facilities were clean and well looked after

The clubhouse was well stocked and like the well stocked shop, nothing was over priced.

Plenty of space around the tents.

The play area for the kids was great.

A couple of niggles for me only. If I was much further away from the toilets, it would have been an idea to bring a portable toilet. Also although the M6 is a bit away, because there is nothing in between, there is the constant drone from there throughout the night

The only other niggle I have and this is a personal one, and that is that I prefer to set the temperature of the showers. Just a personal thing

So would I go again, yes but I would prefer to pitch closer to the facilities. Oh and I would use a different tent with a sig to try and prevent the midges from the lake.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davsoo 2 reviews from this member

All I can say is what a great site, firstly everything from toilets, showers to shop is very clean, we didn't go in the club house only because its not our thing.

We had two dogs with us and it was only 3 min walk to the woods which were beautiful, full of bluebells lots of beautifulpictures taken there

I think even when it is full you wont be cramped as it is so well organised, the fishing lakes were lovely and peaceful to walk around and there is a little area for the kiddies, swings etc. Outside clubhouse are benches tables and even a barbecue.

So all in all I loved it and will be booking again real soon, just to add, very friendly and helpful staff.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Billy42 14 reviews from this member

4 adults 3 small children. Couldn't fault the site. It wasn't busy - only about 10 tents on site so it was quiet. Toilets showers etc. were very clean. Small shop sold the vital provisions. There is a bar but we only popped in once and it seemed nice.

This site is a big fishing site and the lakes were really nice to walk round. At night there were lots of bats flying round. The camping field was pretty much flat and the field we were on was quite a big one.

There is a small kids play area- could ideally do with a slide but it was fine. Really easy to get to the site from the motorway.

We will definitely use this site again. The receptionist etc. were all very friendly.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Greendemon 3 reviews from this member

What a site!

We arrived on sat afternoon for 2 nights and just got the tent and extension up before the rain set in! The site is immaculately clean and tidy, the toilets are spotless, the bar, shop and restaurant all are again spotless.

All the staff are helpful, friendly and attentive. The site is secure and the only noise we heard was a couple of small children crying but due to the cold what would you expect?

The ground is firm even with the amount of rain fall and dried well the following day. We asked to be out of the way and were shown to a long field and down to the bottom. The only concern I did have was due to entertainment and possible noise but we did not hear a thing.

The site shop has essentials but a Spar is only 3 mins away for bigger stuff.

We will be booking again for this August as we are more than happy to stay for a week or so.

A absolute gem of a site and thanks to the staff for the hospitality.!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adamski 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights (2 adults, 1 child) and overall we really enjoyed ourselves. The staff were friendly and helpful, and it was nice that this was family run business. Not sure if it was value for money as this was our first ever camping trip so we had nothing to compare it to in terms of prices: staying for 2 nights in 1 tent cost 29.00.

The toilets and showers were clean, and as it was quiet on the site (we stayed Monday and Tuesday) there was no waiting to use the showers of a morning.

We used the restaurant for breakfast on both mornings and the food was great and reasonably priced.

The on-site shop was only small though and didn't stock much - we needed extra tent poles as one of ours broke and the shop didn't stock them so it meant an hours round trip into Lancaster to hunt for a camping supply shop.

The camping field itself was good, the only problem being the huge numbers of wasps - I got stung twice. It was no fun trying to cook and eat outdoors as we just got attacked by them constantly.

The site could do with a bit of security at night, as the last night we were there quite a few people woke up to find tent pegs missing.

However overall we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Goberson 6 reviews from this member

We received a warm welcome and were directed to the top field with EHU. The field has a slight slant, which increases slightly as you get toward the lake. We took 2 small children and were happy with the distance away from the lake as we won't allow them to stray so far. We also took a small dog who was also welcome. There are several lakes and provide quite a nice evening walk for the dog. The lakes are surrounded by fishermen in small shelter tents.

On site there is a pub, through the reception are and also toilets/showers and a family room. 4 showers or so, but never queued and they were very clean with warm water.

Garstang, Lancaster both near and Clevely's has had a redeveloped front. About half an hour away for an afternoon on the beach.

On our visit it had rained for about 10 days prior and on the Friday evening of our 3 day visit. The field did get a bit boggy.But which field wouldn't in this weather. Approx a mile away from the M6 as the crow flies, however the noise and in particular the evening was minimal.

Nice site with kids playground.Recommended

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2272 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020