Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wyreside Lakes Fishery

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Wyreside Lakes Fishery Reviews

Wyreside Lakes Fishery
Sunnyside Farmhouse
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 9DG
Tel: 01524 792093  or  01524 792158
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 Grass pitches for tents and 24 electric hook up
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 96 Reviews
                8/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Col-Man 3 reviews from this member

 Brilliant, Brilliant Brilliant! Been back now for our 4th visit, this site has gorgeous views and so peaceful, we prefer the top field as always seems so peaceful. Our boys - 13yrs old, love to run about playin with our dogs whilst we sit and watch world go by. Toilet blocks are always immaculate and showers are piping hot. Restaurant is very reasonably priced with terrific food and the bar area is peaceful. They have theme nights on throughout the peak season though we happy to sit in our field with our BBQ and just chill. This site has many lakes for fishing in, though we not fishermen so cant comment, though others on site were all talking weight etc. We love this site so much we already booked our return. Bob, Sally and all the staff cannot do enough for you. Love the place 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arkangel5 16 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site. Beautiful country side there are many walks around the site and the fishing lakes. The owner Bob is friendly and more than helpful. On site there is a bar and entertainment as well as serving food (they will even deliver to your tent/caravan)

The toilets and showers were clean and hot.

The Fleece pub you pass on the way in is excellent for food (not cheap but worth it) they had a specials board with two courses for 9

What else can I say but confirm what the other reviews have said; I will definitely be back there again 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Wyreside Lakes:-

The location is stunning and the site is lovely and clean.

Fab showers and toilet blocks, small shop and launderette.

The site has several large fishing lakes which are great for the fishermen, we had a lovely walk around them and it would be nice for bikes too.

Great children's play area, very well thought out and safe.

There are several touring pitches, we stayed on the flat field at the bottom which was great because it was close to the park.

There is a restaurant which we didn't use but it looked nice, there is also a small games room next to it for the kids with a tv and pool table in.

At weekends they have a kids disco and Karoke on, this site is very children friendly, the DJ was great, she is an all rounder from receptionst to DJ to singer, she was really good with the kids and we had great nights on Fri & Sat.

It is a family run site and very well kept, we will definitely be returning to this site as its open all year.

The only negative that I could say is the caravans were pitched abit close together and on top of each other, there are a lot of seasonal vans on this site with regulars there, they were very friendly though and we enjoyed it. Could do with marking the pitches out indiviually and putting some all service pitches on as there are only 4 showers and should imagine in peak times it gets busy. This site is a credit to the owners, its great for a weekend get away. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abram 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 1 night trying our new tent we haven't been camping before everyone was really helpful and really went out of there way to help. We had great night my son who is 4 didn't want to come home and my puppy was in his element with all the green fields and walkways near the fishing lakes. We have booked to go back in the august bank holidays cant wait this time for the full 3 nights. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julie.ford 3 reviews from this member

 We recently stayed at this site had a absolutely fantastic weekend, the owner bob and his staff were very helpful. Pitches were good not too overcrowded and very clean. Showers very hot, did get quite busy though and a bit of a wait in the morning, excellent entertainment in the club.
Shop not very well stocked so make sure you have everything you need, spar ten minutes drive away. About to rebook for Aug bank holiday weekend, if you have never visited this site I would definitely recommend it. We didn't see our two teenage boys all weekend too busy fishing. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lancs71 6 reviews from this member

 We visited this site over the spring bank holiday weekend, arrived on the Friday and it was raining no problem pitching and were able to get pitches together. Friendly staff, we were shown where to pitch by the owner Bob.

Positives - woodland setting, clean toilets and hot showers, friendly staff, playground.

Negatives - busy bar located next to the toilets, lots of people stood around the entrance to the toilets smoking and drinking, found this a bit intimidating especially in your pj's and with a small child.

This site is in a beautiful setting next to the woods and lakes but the issue with people hanging around outside the toilets smoking and drinking would probably stop me going back again.

This site needs some toilets away from the bar in the camping field so that if the bar is not your 'thing' you can stay away from it. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul6334 5 reviews from this member

 Been coming to Bob's (as we affectionately call it) for the last four years and have really enjoyed ourselves with its friendly staff and excellent facilities. Nothing is too much trouble for them if you require help.

Unfortunately, this Bank Holiday proved to be an exception. We were placed in the top camping field as usual and which we like. This weekend it appeared that it was a boozers camp. On either side were groups of 3, 5 and 4 tent groups, who seemed hell bent on keeping everyone up till 2. 00am in the morning, even one set listening to the Hatton fight on their radio!

Hopefully, these people are only Bank Holidayers and not there each weekend as they are ruining what was a lovely peaceful place to stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DEBANDANDY1803 3 reviews from this member

 Ended up here because our usual site was fully booked. Glad we did end up here because it was the best site I have been to in 3 years. Owner, bob, very friendly and has built the site and surrounding area pretty much by himself. Wildlife amazing, lovely strolls through the woods next to the river.
Facilities the cleanest I have seen on a site. Free hot showers. Small but adequate kids play area and a little on site shop for sweets, ice cream and essentials. 10 minute drive to garstang where there are lovely little shops and a supermarket. Counting the days until we can go back! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentymctenterton 1 review from this member

 Decent site, friendly staff, all very laid back and cheerful. Receptionist / waitress / barperson very cute.

Facilities are all very good and immaculately clean. Hot water is hot and water pressure substantial.

The on-site bar/restaurant is reasonable enough, nothing exciting but it's right there, with eating area outside also.

Kids playground and a ton of fishing related stuff going on.

I would stop again definitely. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tomandchris 32 reviews from this member

 We have just returned after 6 days over the Easter weekend from this site, what a great place.

I must admit I was a little apprehensive before visiting but needn't have worried. My husband is a keen fisherman so that's the reason we went.

The site has 6 or 7 fishing lakes, all seem quite big and there seems to be quite a few fishermen who stay in bivvies on the side of the lake. I didn't see many from the caravans going fishing. The caravan site seems to have a lot of seasonal tourers which take up the electrics but on talking to Bob he told us they have had new hook ups put in for this year. The site also allows tents.

The site is run mainly by Bob and Sally and other family members but all of them couldn't do enough for you, always passed the time of day with you and always seemed to be on hand.

The site is entered through a barrier system which is manned by somebody from about 7.30 in the morning until about 10.30 at night.

There is a bar on site, a disco room and also a restaurant. Although we didn't use the restaurant it seemed pretty busy. As stated there is a bar where if you want a quiet drink you can use but there is also a disco room that have 'turns' on at the weekend and that is brilliant. Really enjoyed our time in here, all mad as hatters. There is also a small shop on site although I didn't go in here but my other half did.

The showers and toilets are all lovely and clean and new,although it was Easter weekend I never once had to wait for either a shower or a toilet. All are housed in the same building as the bar etc. One criticism I would say though is, as mentioned on other reviews about people standing round the entrance smoking. To be fair though there is a sign asking them to use the pergola to smoke in but as usual these people don't think it applies to them. One woman even had her own chair outside to sit and smoke on.

There is also a playground for the children which has been protected with a fence around it, which is good. There is lots of different wildlife to be seen round here too.

The surrounding area is also lovely and just down the road was a pub, The Fleece Inn, which when we visited was holding a Beer festival. That too has a restaurant. We had sandwiches at lunchtime once and although on first impressions we thought they were a bit pricey when we got them they were well worth the money. Preston and Lancaster are both about 10 miles away in different directions.

All in all would we return?, most definitely!. 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wyreside Lakes Fishery child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wyreside Lakes Fishery?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wyreside Lakes Fishery dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4511 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement