Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wyreside Lakes Fishery

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Wyreside Lakes Fishery Reviews

Wyreside Lakes Fishery
Sunnyside Farmhouse
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 9DG
Tel: 01524 792093  or  01524 792158
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40 Grass pitches for tents and 24 electric hook up
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 96 Reviews
                8/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Josky1 1 review from this member

Just returned from wyreside today after a 2 night stay, what can I say? what a wonderful place!

All facilities spotlessly clean & all very close together, showers lovely & warm, laundry facilities available which came in very handy considering the weather which might I add was very wet! childrens play area well situated close to field where camping.

All staff absolutely lovely, very very friendly, & there straight away if you need anything, Evening entertainment very good, made to feel very welcome at all times, food absolutely excellent, we will definitely be returning to Wyreside again no doubt about it. 10/10, 100% recommended. Thankyou Bob, Sally & all other staff, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colli2006 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from our weekend camping - only stayed 1 night. The reason being is that the site was very boggy after the constant rain.

On the negative - it was very intimitating walking past the smokers outside the pub just to get to the toilet - esp when in my pj's, as many were wearing suits and cocktail dresses! We were inundated with wasps - loads in our tent.

On the positive - the staff were polite and helpful. The playarea was fab. The shower was lovely and hot. The toilets were clean and not too far away. The place is beautiful - it's just a shame about the weather. We watched people having to push their car through the mud cos they were stuck in the lower field. I would highly recommend this site, but have a look at the weather forecast before you do.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daveycrockett 2 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site all modern facilities pitches are superb.Views over the fishing lakes are amazing.The pub on site serves great food at reasonable prices.Oh yes and good beer. No need to go off site as there is loads to do.

There is a security barrier so no need to worry about things. And the warden does his rounds on a quad bike keeping things in good order. Well worth a visit

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meezermum 1 review from this member

Nice little site and good value for money too.

Very clean and modern showers and toilets.

Lively schedule of events in the club room and a cosy bar and restaurant. Book tables early to avoid being disappointed, we arrived at 8pm and they had ran out of food.

Fishing lakes are great and very popular.

Only slight niggle is the tent field is on a slope. Would recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peanutwig 3 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site and yet again what a great place. Got the weather to 23 degrees. Facilities are all fabulous and very clean. Pub is great and not too dear. Some great walks around the lakes and even a 7 miler for the more adventurous. There is another pub not 5 min walk away but not tried it yet, maybe on our next visit. Also a good chippy about 5 min drive if you can't be bothered to cook. We visited a national park nearby with beautiful forest walks with some stunning views. All in all a great place to go.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hannab 6 reviews from this member

We visited this site over the bank holiday with a group of family members who were using their own tents. The site is very pretty, although remote and you definitely need a car to get around.
The facilites on the site were very good, however as the site has its regular weekend caravaners who treat the site as their own. On quite a lot of occasions the female members of our group stated that they did feel initmidated having to walk through large crowds of people, who had been drinking heavily, hanging around the outside of the entrance to the toilets as this is the same entrance to the bar and where they all stood smoking.
The weekend we were there entertainment was provided in the form of Karaoke and a outdoor bbq, but again we didn't feel welcome to join in as it was very clique and you were made to feel an outsider.
The location was very pretty, the owner was very friendly, the site has a very well stocked shop, but we found this site to be a downmarket mini Butlins or Haven, which isn't really what we want from a site.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pid15541 2 reviews from this member

Visited for weekend in May. Only 10 mins from jct of M6. 3 people plus dog. Nice surroundings for walking dog. Field is spacious however grass is rather long and a little sloping.

Toilet/shower block is spotless. Accessable 24hrs and free. Plenty of hot water for showers and washing up.

Pub on site seems nice. Staff helpful and friendly.

Enjoyed weekend. Will go back again.

Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Poggiepie 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for our maiden voyage. Thought it was nice enough but then again at the time had nothing to compare it to - in hindsight - was expensive, 41 for 2 nights, 2 adults and 2 very youngsters and a dog! Mid February?? Also the owner told us not to have our heating on overnight (-5) as it would trip. Anyway we did have it on and it didn't - reckon he was penny pinching. Saying that, there's a nice bar with good food and the staff are very nice. Well geared towards fishing if that's your bag.

Date of Visit: November 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Prawl 1 review from this member

Fantastic atmosphere, hardworking and honest Staff. Car got stuck in the mud when leaving the tent field, no veggie option on the bonfire snack menu other than that what a fantastic location. The entertainment was superb (artiste was a little naff). So simple to find, minutes off the M6, Go there, you will be hooked!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heather Zolman 1 review from this member

Ideal site for fishermen, everything there to meet your needs,very well thought out. Toilet block very clean & tidy. Nice walks around the lake's. Fisherman's Rest produces lovely Sunday Lunches. Found the site quite noisy as it is close to the M6 so there was the constant drone of traffic 24-7. At the weekends functions are held in the Fisherman's Rest in the evenings, this produced a lot of noise as many people congregated outside. Not a site I would recommend if you want peace & quiet

Found quite a lot of dog dirt by our caravan, not ideal when you need to take a walk to the toilet block in the middle of the night!

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2127 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020