Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wyreside Lakes Fishery

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Wyreside Lakes Fishery Reviews

Wyreside Lakes Fishery
Sunnyside Farmhouse
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 9DG
Tel: 01524 792093  or  01524 792158
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40 Grass pitches for tents and 24 electric hook up
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 96 Reviews
                8/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dianna Gunby 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a weekend, in large tent with 3 couples, 4 dogs and a 4 year old. Lovely views from the touring field accross the valley and the lakes.It had been raining a lot the previous week and although we were able to sit out in the sun the first night it rained all day Saturday. The entrance to the tent did get a bit muddy and the field slightly boggy, but not too bad. Was a 5 minute walk upto the toilet block.

Toilet and shower facilities were clean and well maintained.Small shop which sells essentials on site.Also a small but cosy pub where you could sit inside or out, which served good food.Also a safe, children's play area.

The owners were very friendly and helpful re the on site fishing, walks and local area. They couldn't do enough to help.

Some of our group went fishing and my partner caught a 9 pound carp, so he was happy(not sure which lake).

This site is especially good if you enjoy fishing with 7 or 8 lakes, but equally good if you don't fish. Plenty to do in the local area(Blackpool, The Lakes, Yorkshire Dales and Morcombe very close), but also scenic walks from the site of varying distances.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peely76 2 reviews from this member

When we arrived here the staff showed us where we could pitch our tent, but we wasn't really happy with the spot as it was on a slope. We kindly asked if there was anywhere else we could pitch, which he showed us another spot which we were happy with. 
 
The field was really big and spacious, the only downside really was the length of the grass (could of done with a good cut). 
 
The play area for the kids was all fenced in, but only had 2 swings for older children and 2 baby swings, and 2 springy rocking thingamibobs. Not great for older children, but my 2 young ones enjoyed themselves.
 
Toilet facilities and showers were very clean, I found the water a little to hot for comfort, so didn't bother to shower the kids.
 
The bar and clubhouse looked a fun place to be, with a good varied entertainment programme, also great for any big football fans, with big screen and satelite coverage. There is also a nice area to sit down  outside for a drink or two.
 
There is  some motorway noise thoughout the night, so ear plugs a must for light sleepers.
 
Enjoyed some lovely walks around the lakes.
 
Overall this site was not what I expected, it is ok, but I dont think I will be returning. 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julie odwyer 2 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our stay at Wyreside, the owners and staff were friendly and very helpful, and the site is extremely well maintained. 
There is a small shop stocking all the essentials and a laundrette. The new toilet and shower block is excellent, they were warm and very clean even though it was quite busy when we were there. The field in which we pitched our tent was big enough so that it didn't feel like all the tents were on top of us. There are some lovely walks around the site and our children really enjoyed all the wildlife. The only room for improvement is the children's play area which consists of little more than four swings, which means that the children were often disappointed because they were all taken up.
 
Overall we think that Wyreside is a fab site, we all had a really lovely time and will definitely return to this site in the future

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Niccy25 1 review from this member

Just returned from the site after our very first ever camping experience!
It also happened to be the worst wet weather we have had for years (UK currently suffering many floods!). Downpour from arriving to leaving. But so much fun! I have to say that as a result of our welcoming, we will be returning again very soon! Being a beginner I have nothing to compare to. But I would highly recommend this site to everyone. The hosts were exceptional. We told them it was our first time and they couldn't do enough to help.

Beautiful scenery, lovely lakes to walk round. The bar had a very warm and friendly atmosphere and you could tell instantly that people have returned for years to this site. There was plenty of entertainment in the evening for the kids in the clubhouse by the resident DJ who kept them entertained. We arrived the 60's & 70's weekend which was fab. The restaraunt serves hearty meals and we were very surprised at the prices, no different to your own local pub. All the facilities you need are at this site. All we needed was good weather! But for our first time surviving the rain only makes for a better time there when the sun does come out!  Fantastic! A credit to them!

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peanutwig 3 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at the fisheries and I couldn't praise it more. The facilities were spotlessly clean and all the staff are very helpful and friendly. The site for tents is great with a big field with a wonderful view. Always something going on in the pub too. We will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Princess Leia 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weekend at this camp site situated in the Lancaster countryside and I can highly recommend it. We were looking for a camp site that was not too far to travel to (for us), had good facilities, had fishing and had entertainment on site and this one ticked all the boxes.
The first thing I will say is that the family that own and run this site are one of the friendliest that I have met on a site so far, in fact the same can be said of all the staff here, they truly are one big family and it must be a very enjoyable place to work. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
The brand new shower and toilet block is excellent, spotlessly maintained and continually cleaned and stocked with loo rolls and soap, the best I have come across yet. It's quite small but the site was very quiet whilst we were there so not  a problem. The on site pub "The Fishermans Rest" is a wonderful luxury when you are camping, we had Sunday lunch there and the home cooked food was superb and extremely cheap! They have regular entertainment on Saturday evenings so you can just hear the music from the field but this didn't bother us.
There is also a small shop on site selling the essentials. The camp site itself is pretty much an untouched field with no roads, pitches are reserved and you will be shown to your pitch when you arrive, but they are quite happy to accommodate you if you wish to camp next to some friends, like we did.
The surrounding countryside is stunning and there are 8 fishing lakes giving beautiful views for those who don't particularly want to fish in them. If I had one negative thing to say it would probably be that there is only one drinking water stand pipe and it is located near the shower block,  which is a bit of a trek for campers at the bottom end of the field but certainly not a major problem, nor are there any electric hook ups for tents, the addition of which would make this site perfect in my eyes.
We will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pamkirbs 1 review from this member

My partner, Mum, Dad, Sister, Brother-in-Law, niece and nephew have just stayed at Wyreside for 3 nights.  The facilities were first class and a high standard.  Although we didn't go into the clubhouse, it catered for everyone's needs and provided a great entertainment programme.  The owners were very friendly, helpful and the welcome that we got was great.  We would recommend this site to anyone and everyone even though you may want a quiet stress free break, you will get this at Wyreside. 
We don't tend to visit the same campsite twice but we will be going back to this one. 

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DARRANB 3 reviews from this member

When we arrived at the site, we were made to feel more than welcome. The sight is quiet and very very clean. We only spent a night camping and enjoyed the views over the lakes while we camped. Better than expected, The showers were clean and hot, and the food is good value for money, it was like been home from home.

Our two dogs also enjoyed the circular walks round the site and exploring off site, also enjoyed the company of the owners two dogs.

Value for money, we will be back in July, and cant wait. We give this sight 10/10 for staff and for location and it deserves its four stars and deserves more, as the site is excellent, and we wish we found it sooner.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zack 4 reviews from this member

I would agree with the other reviews and at this time the new development was midway and will obviously improve things. To be honest the facilities were odd, in that you felt like you were taking a shower/toileting etc in a pub toilet because it was right next door with passing customers using the same facilities. There was a country and western theme night on and there's nothing stranger than taking a shower and coming out to find men in ten gallon hats equipped with pistolas and chaps chatting with e bye gum accents next to you!

Not withstanding this was a good site with camping fields in two locations, upper and lower. The upper is quieter and I think the owners advise you according to your needs. The pub/restaurant is absolutely brilliant. Would go again for a short stay, not that much to do, but a lovely location. Too many visitors buying passes to fish there means your kids can't roam as free as some other sites.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Benjiboy 4 reviews from this member

We have been to this site a few times as its a 20 minute drive away for us. The owners are really friendly and you can choose where you want to pitch. There is part of the lake where my 3 children went swimming (away from the fishing of course), you just have to go and explore to find it which the kids love anyway. Just be careful as it is quite tricky to get down there, Not really suitable for very young children. Mine are 5 12 and 13.
The disco and karaoke in the evening is really good fun, Jenny is a great host and make`s sure everyone has a good time.  There is a little restaurant next to the pub, be sure to book in, the food is lovely (good size portions) which I think is very important, having a big appetite. Prices are very reasonable too.
The site isn't far from the motorway either, so very easy to find.
The children's park is very safe and all fenced off. It would benefit from a little more equipment though. Also older children should not be allowed to play football in there, it's too dangerous for the little ones. The field is huge anyway so couldn't understand why they didn't use there instead. I'd give this site 7/10.   

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1912 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020