Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wyreside Lakes Fishery

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Wyreside Lakes Fishery Reviews

Wyreside Lakes Fishery
Sunnyside Farmhouse
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 9DG
Tel: 01524 792093  or  01524 792158
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40 Grass pitches for tents and 24 electric hook up
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 96 Reviews
                8/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JulieBuck 1 review from this member

Love this place been 3 times now and returning in Oct 19. Friendly Staff. With a Shop - Restaurant - Bar - Entertainment most weekends.

Views are breathtaking. Large bathroom with showers - cleaned often - site shop stocks essentials and Fishing stuff.

While a lot go for the fishing, You can just go for a relaxing weekend with some great walks round the lakes with some stunning countryside.

Worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Barry1948 1 review from this member

Amazing place, so clean, lovely pub and shop.

We were there visiting our daughter who was camping. No matter where you pitch up you have the lakes and hills out stretched in front of you. The scenery is outstanding such a relaxing place.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Twish 1 review from this member

I have a seasonal pitch on this site. I can honestly say it's well worth a visit. The staff are so helpful and pleasant. The site is so beautifully laid out, lots of woodland paths, fishing lakes and scenic views. It's got a utility block with lovely clean showers, and a children's play area There's a shop on site and also a bar and clubhouse. The camping field gets busy in summer so Everyone's happy!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Duckies 37 reviews from this member

Been back for another weekend to this lovely site. Hubby went fishing again for 24 hours. Staff very friendly and made to feel welcome. Spotlessly clean and tidy as usual. Toilet block immaculate. Again had food delivered to hubbies fishing peg. Again excellent quality and value. Large hardstanding pitches. Tiny bit of motorway noise which is the 1st time I've heard it so must of been down to which way wind was blowing. Site quiet and peaceful. Was lovely to meet a few different members that are on seasonal pitches here and a couple who was visiting the site too.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Timsinc 13 reviews from this member

It's an all-year site, but no proper hard-standing pitches for tourers. We were placed somewhere on one of the gravel tracks, it required at least three good-sized chocks (north, south and east) to get anywhere like level, the hook-up in the far distance (told reception could lend extensions), water tap even further away, the loos a two-minute walk (such fun in downpours).

If you like fishing you might be happy to put up with the neighbouring M6.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dobby2148 4 reviews from this member

The site was fairly basic. The showers and toilets were reasonably clean but the shower curtains were covered in mildew and there was no seat to sit on to assist when putting on socks and shoes. No hairdryer. Just felt that a little more thought could have gone in to make the experience a bit more user friendly. There was nowhere to eat on the campsite at the time we were there. We did not know the area and it was only due to some help from other campers that we were directed to a local pub. We were also concerned that if we went out of the campsite it might have been difficult to get back in as there was nobody around to ask after we arrived. Nice place to walk dogs but predominantly used by people who enjoy the fishing I would suggest.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Duckies 37 reviews from this member

Lovely friendly staff. Large hardstanding pitches. Lovely and peaceful. Toilet block spotlessly clean and tidy. Hubby goes fishing here for 24 hours. The bar/restaurant sells lovely food which can be delivered to your fishing peg which was hot and lovely food. Well stocked shop on site. Wifi available in the bar/shop area. Hopefully next year wifi will be available in the touring area to but not a problem as used a dongle to get wifi in the caravan. Site always clean and tidy. Plenty of lakes to walk around with the dog. We will be back. There is a playground on site but never used but looks very good. Site peaceful and quite.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S.mckenna 3 reviews from this member

We arrived as a small party of Dads and our teenage kids, from the point we hit the reception to book in the staff were polite, helpful, and even at the end of day were never to put out to help, a gentlman named Bob who I assume owns the site is a great guy, unlike most site wardens he individually greeted his guests and escorted them to their pitches where he was only too willing to advise set up and locations of ammenities, he wizzed up and down on his quad and checked all was well and made time to chat with campers, all I can say is get yourself booked on this site, the staff are fab, the site is fab, there's a great bar with food served all day and even food delivered to your pitch or fishing spot, we had a great time and we thank Bob and all the wonderful staff at Wyreside for making it that way.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Wifeofstan 6 reviews from this member

Stayed her for one night to visit our Daughter at university. Location for access to Lancaster is excellent, whilst still being in the countryside. The views are beautiful, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Some reviews mention being made to feel like outsiders, as the number of members/season pitch holders clearly outnumbers the one off visitors. That said, we got a very warm welcome from staff and regulars alike. All were keen to chat to us and make us feel welcome. We were very disappointed with our pitch, and would have moved it we were staying any longer. Their website boasts 'grass electric pitches for caravans, campervans and motor homes. ' We were directed to pitch on what I can only describe as a car park. The MAJORITY of the site is covered in hardcore, with green small patches punctuating it at intervals. It's not really safe for children to play on. Some of the residents have even installed their own astro turf. It was a heck of a walk over the hardcore to the facilities. Leave your flip flops at home campers, this is proper walking boot material! That said, the club house was friendly, and basic fare available at reasonable prices. The facilities were clean and well cared for, and the pitch price is about right for the facilities available. The hosts have planned an extensive entertainment programme for the year, but sorry guys, I don't think we will be returning to enjoy it. The hadcore puts us off.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Greented 7 reviews from this member

Stayed for a couple of days as we had friends visiting the area. The setting is lovely and has the wow factor but the sound of the motorway was too much.

The toilet/showers were very clean but I was disappointed to have to pay to use the hairdryer as I had brought my own but was unable to plug them in without paying! Expensive site for what you got (prob ok if you fish but we don't and no discount for not fishing) There appeared to be 2 fields for camping and one was ages away from the toilet block.

We were made to feel like outsiders. It is obviously a fishing place and I am sure if you go fishing there, or have your caravan sited there, then you'll not be ignored. We went to the bar to wait for a taxi to the local pub at Dolphinholme (amazing place. Do go) and were told we had to order from the other bar. We went through to the other bar and no one was there. The same person appeared 5 mins later to take our order! How weird.

We did eat breakfast which was ok but rather greasy and again ignored in favour of regulars. Missed the food ordering time by 2 mins and was just handed a takeaway menu for a local pizza place.

Shame. We continue to look for a local campsite were we can become regulars.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


13584 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!