Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wyreside Lakes Fishery

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Wyreside Lakes Fishery Reviews

Wyreside Lakes Fishery
Sunnyside Farmhouse
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 9DG
Tel: 01524 792093  or  01524 792158
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40 Grass pitches for tents and 24 electric hook up
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 96 Reviews
                8/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Helen werin 8 reviews from this member

Encouraged by page after page of rave reviews, we booked into this site over the Easter weekend. If it wasn't for the fact that I (stupidly, with hindsight) paid upfront for four nights I would have driven off and wild camped.
1/.The units were jampacked together (granted, it was boggy in other parts of the field because of the very wet weather).
2/. There were only two very smelly toilets and a couple of unisex showers (for which the queue was immense) for the whole site, which I think is ridiculous. The alternative was two filthy portable toilets next to the kiddies' playing field.
3/. The area seemed overun by noisy Chav types with their car stereos booming and beer cans constantly in hand.
4/. The washing up area was also very dirty.
Yes, I know it was very busy, but with the thousands of pounds the owners must have taken that weekend alone, surely they could put in more toilets and clean them more often.
I'm certainly not a snob, but if you like a little tranquility and certain standards of cleanliness (did I forget to mention the dogs' poo all over the place?) then PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW.

Date of Visit: June 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunseekers 5 reviews from this member

We visited Wyreside for one of their theme nights (Spanish night). We had a ball! Thanks to Sally and Team. As mentioned a very friendly sight in a lovely setting. The restaurant is excellent too. In fact we went back in September and our youngest wants it to be our first weekend away in January '06, (probably something to do with the new fishing kit he got for Christmas!) Hope we will be visiting soon.

Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Donnamarie2009 4 reviews from this member

We have been to 'Bobs' (Wyreside) several times this season and will continue to return. Pitches can be hard standing or grass with EHU. The showers x 3 and toilets are situated as part of the barn which has been converted into a pub, fishermans restaurant and bob has recently opened up the other half of the barn as an entertainment room for kids and adults. The whole atmosphere is very laid back and informal, and if your into fishing there are about 8 or 9 fishing lakes. Play area for kids could be better equiped but otherwise this is a very informal, relaxed and friendly site. Bob and his grown up sons and their families run the site and will help you if you need help.

Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Milkybar 10 reviews from this member

Visited site on last minute on a Friday evening for 2 nights. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Clean site on a large open field with flat pitches then a slope and more flat pitches down to the lakes. Pub and restuarant clean and well priced.

Toilets and showers clean but not enough had to queue once and site wasn't busy. lots of room around pitches and park and football area for the kids. Will visit again soon.
THANKS FOR A GREAT WEEKEND

Reviewer: Sue7 6 reviews from this member

March 2005
First time out in caravan. What a great place to stay. Although the weather wasn't brilliant - well it was Easter!
The staff are all friendly and welcoming and the bar is brilliant with a disco at weekends. Even if you don't like fishing there are lots of nice walks. Will definitely be going again soon for a least a long weekend.

Reviewer: Alexa30 2 reviews from this member

June 2005
As other reviews have mentioned, the owners could not have been more welcoming.

The site was in a lovely setting and in a good position to visit Lancaster.

My only concern with the site were the toilet facitites. There were only two toilets for the site (and it seemed the restaurantas well) and the showers were 1.

Overall a lovely site for a short visit, but would not fancy staying a long time in the height of summer.

However with all that in mind, I think we will be visit again.

Reviewer: Cami96 1 review from this member

June 2005
Just returned from Wyreside - Our first camping trip! We thought the site was nice and welcoming - had a lovely breafast in the restaurant - Toilets and showers were fine... Not that much to do on site - but lots of places to visit nearby - only thing I would say is that it is a shame there isn't a shop on site. Having said that we would definitely visit again..

Reviewer: Bluey 8 reviews from this member

June 2005
Must agree with most of the comments made, we came back yesterday after a lovely weekend, did some good walking and loved it.

The pub is excellent, the kids on site had a ball on saturday evening, entertained via a karaoke and a jolly dj,

Will be going back, Ken

Reviewer: Cazie 2 reviews from this member

June 2005
just arrived home from Wyreside, had a lovely relaxing break, very welcoming. Good food in restaurant, toilets ok, showers nice and hot, but feel if the site were very busy then more would be needed. Lancaster not far away very nice place, would visit this site again

Reviewer: Paulburgess 1 review from this member

May 2005
I decided to visit this site based on the previous reviews, and yes the site is set in a beautiful location, and yes the owners are very friendly, and yes the showers and toilets are kept very clean (even though it was end of May bank holiday and very busy). The only problem is that there are only 2 showers (not shower blocks, but showers) and they cost 1 each time (plenty of time though). The toilets and sinks for brushing teeth etc are infact the pub/club toilets, and speaking only for the men's, consist of 1 urinal and 1 pot.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3681 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020