Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Tunbridge Wells > Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site Reviews

CLOSED: Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site
Forgewood Barn
Sham Farm Road
Danegate
Tunbridge Wells
Kent   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 83 Reviews
                8/10 from 83 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smiffinch 24 reviews from this member

 It's a lovely location and the woods are great for children and adults alike but please please either build a decent toilet block or charge lower rates. Or restrict the number of campers as other sites do.

The Portaloos are just way too cramped for the number of people allowed to camp here. There aren't enough toilets and the whole block is so small there is no room to get washed.

Yet another 'eco' site that thinks they can charge premium rates while putting in minimal effort. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bogdog 1 review from this member

 Visited this past Bank Holiday Weekend.

Facilities in lower field although basic - just the chemical loos, would have been sufficient if everyone that used treated them like they would their own loos, the state they were left in by other campers, was disgraceful. Main loo and shower block clean and plenty of hot water.

Great that the kids can run riot in the woods, as many did, but please there are guidelines and boundaries for a reason, the big groups with hordes of kids are NOT the only ones on the campsite wanting to enjoy a few days away.

Being able to have a fire is a massive bonus and to forage for kindling kept the boys - adults and kids, amused for hours.

The staff on the check in and in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful.

There was no 'management' after 9pm, so no one to keep the masses in check and ensure the site is enjoyable for all. We will visit again as it is a lovely site in a beautiful area. Possibly not at a weekend with the unruly masses! 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stephm 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site over the Easter holidays and although It was a very cold Easter we had a fantastic time.

The staff at the site were extremely friendly and welcoming. The site is basic but was more than enough to keep myself my hubby and my children amused. It has a small shop, a coffee shop and warm showers and toilets.

Beautiful woodland and walks.

Would highly recommend this site and will be back in the summer 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachel ff 1 review from this member

 We were a big group of 30plus adults and teenagers and camped in the bottom field where there was plenty of space for us all.

We had an open fire both nights and on the second night hired a campfire grill from the site so we could cook over the fire which was fantastic. I would really recommend doing this

This site is very relaxed and friendly, for example teenagers were all charged at the child's rate and they bring firewood round to sell each evening.

The shower block is clean and the showers are great (and free) but in the bottom field where we were there are just portaloos (not so good), though there is a new block not yet in use, hopefully by next year as we will be returning.

The site is in beautiful countryside with good walks around.

There is a small restaurant which does delicious and reasonable food if you don't want to cook, also a caff with tea, coffee, burgers and butties etc

This is one of my favourite camp sites in the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisy1967 1 review from this member

 I was one of three mad, middle aged women who spent three nights at Forgewood.

When we arrived on Friday we were the only two tents in the top field, a few more arrived throughout the evening, but there was oodles of space.

The early bird catches the hot shower, unfortunately I wasn't one of them on Saturday morning, thankfully we had cracking weather, so a cold shower wasn't the end of the world. At the start of the weekend the showers were spotless, but the floors soon became wet and dirty. If a mop and bucket were left to hand, most people would mop up after themselves.

On Saturday loads of families arrived, as a grumpy old so and so, I don't really want other peoples kids kicking their ball against my tent, or to hear them shouting and screaming after I've turned in for the night. I believe this is going to be addressed by opening an adults only field soon.

The price was a little steep, I believe this could be lowered a little in reality.

I loved having a camp fire, I even mastered the art of a flint and steel. I didn't like having to wait until after 7pm to light the fire, and I thought 5 for a bag of logs was quite steep.

We had problems with our gas stove so had a bacon roll on Sunday morning from the cafe, could have been a little less expensive, but filled a hole, and on Sunday afternoon we ate at the restaurant, lovely roast dinner, and a dessert the size of Africa! Yummy.

We all had a lovely time, relaxed, read and had some nice walks.

Will we be back? I think we probably will. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rob 1979 1 review from this member

 We were a couple who visited this campsite for the weekend in Sept.

The campsite is pretty cool. Being able to relax on an evening with a fire, a bbq and a glass of wine or a beer will always get the thumbs up. There is a pub about an hours walk through country paths which made for a nice afternoon.

There was plenty of space, the other people there were friendly and our visit wasn't spoilt in any way by the large number of families with small children. The facilities and the staff were also good, although we didn't use the showers.

My major issue with this campsite is the track through the wood to the other field. I was told on arrival that you could drive along this and proceeded to do so. At the time the track was wet, muddy and quite significantly rutted. My car suffered some damage to the engine undertray, which I have just had to replace. This issue could have been easily rectified with some hardcore. If you don't have a 4x4 or similar, check the track before you drive down it! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mr Tong Lee 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from a cracking weekend at Forge Wood with a group of friends. Even though the weather was a little dodgy initially this did not dampen our spirits.

Back to nature camping in the forest absolutely brilliant! Showers a bit hit or miss as to whether they where hot or luke warm, but this did not matter as we were only there for three nights. Friendly helpful staff and the guy who runs the site really understands what people want from the camping experience! Hope you enjoyed the rum which warmed you up on your walk round Saturday night!

Forest pitches are brilliant kids off on the rope swings and making dens, walking to the caves was fun.

There are bush crafts and an art tent on site.

The best bit was being able to have a fire in the evening sit around chatting, kids toasting marshmallows!

Will we be back yes indeed and will also try the other sites run by the same team!

Thanks for a brilliant relaxing off the grid back to nature camping experience. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martin West 3 reviews from this member

 Good location, but facilities could be a lot cleaner, during a busy weekend they need cleaning more often and basic simple things like empting bins need to be addressed.

There are nice walks of varying distance. We walked to Frant about two and a half hours round trip.

There is lots of room to camp and you didn't feel cramped in or even that the site is particularly full, but they do pride themselves on not not packing people in.

It was just a shame that there is not a little more effort taken by the staff (who were very friendly)to go the extra distance but maybe it wasn't their job to clean the showers /empty bins that were almost on top of them - but therein lies the problem (it's not my job to do that.  


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smiffinch 24 reviews from this member

 Disappointing - overcrowded and overpriced.

If you are going to pack people in then I think you need more than 3 female toilets. I didn't even bother trying to get in the shower. I like 'real camping' as much as anyone, but at 35 a night, I expect a little more than a field and a portaloo.

There was a toilet block in the bottom field but it was only open at night, and had no lighting or running water.

Staff not particularly friendly or accommodating.

Nice area though, good walks locally. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karl+mal 2 reviews from this member

 We had a fantastic time at Forgewood. We stayed for 5 nights in the woodland during the week and was blessed with wonderful weather. The site was quiet and beautiful with decent facilities and great staff. The cost is a little steep paying 25 per night for the two of us in one small tent and 5 for a bag of logs each night. In the end though this didn't matter as we were getting an almost wild camping experience that we will treasure forever. Great location for PROW footpath network taking in some incredible unspoilt countryside. Campfires and dogs welcome which was our primary reason for choosing this site. Although the place was rapidly filling up as we were packing up for the weekend; the layout is exceptionally well suited to accommodating quiet woodland campers and families glamping in the open fields at the same time. The facilities would be pushed beyond capacity at busy times though and this needs developing to sustain the site over the long term.

Overall highly recommended by this happy camper. 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2824 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement