Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Tunbridge Wells > Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site Reviews

CLOSED: Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site
Forgewood Barn
Sham Farm Road
Danegate
Tunbridge Wells
Kent   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 83 Reviews
                8/10 from 83 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cutienosy 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from our second trip to Forge Wood and things have changed. When we first visited in Sep 09 we did not have to pay for logs and were encouraged to find our own logs in the woods. This weekend, bags of logs were available for £5 which lasted for one evening.

I agree with other reviewers that the cost of staying (2 adults and 1 child using 1 tent for 2 nights = £50.00) was a bit steep; but this is compensated by the fact that you are able to have campfires and have the option of staying in the field and wood.

Another change (for the better) were the facilities which had expanded from a 1 X shower per gender to a 3 x shower per gender plus disabled facilities.

The Tearooms (which are not connected to the site) is an added bonus. You can also buy various

Things (such as ice) from the site's reception.

We most definitely will be returning again as it is family friendly and the location is great 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pj_andrew 7 reviews from this member

 We spent a weekend (Fri Ė Sun) with a large family group. Our personal experience was mixed although overall itís a reasonable site.

First the good. Itís a decent location and has some lovely woods for good tramping. The owners provide a map and there is a circular walk taking in the ice caves which is very pleasant.

The site is two fields of roughly the same size and there is a shower, washing, toilet block on one of the fields. They also keep to a reasonable number of tents so there is enough room. Camp fires are allowed which was the reason we went. People tend to have a fire every night and it does make for an authentic camping experience.

If you get fed up with cooking there is an on site mini-restaurant doing good food at pub prices (it seems this restaurant is unconnected to the site, it just happens to be at the same place).

Second the not so good. We camped in the first field and while some pitches are flat the majority are on a slope. Just depends on how well you deal with slopes. The toilets, showers, washup are best described as adequate. The owners keep them reasonably clean but there are only 2 wash ups which mean long queues (20 mins wait). The number of toilets and showers is limited (3 male showers).

The on site shop / porta-cabin is ok however itís all expensive. If you get the grill, meat & wood it all soon adds up. Itís not forced on you however we did get the feeling the owners were charging a hefty premium on everything. While leads me to the nightly costs. We are a family of 6 so expect to pay more however it was £30 a night. This is too expensive for the quality of site and facilities.

Itís a site which is convenient for the South East. The woods are nice and the kids will have a great time. However a weekend was enough and I wouldnít stay any longer nor would I go back Ė there are lots of other cheaper and better sites. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vickpole73 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend here with another family of four. We had such a brilliant weekend. The scenery around the campsite is beautiful and the walks around it are worth doing.

The staff are so friendly, welcoming and helpful. We tried the venison steaks which were fab - and we had advice on how to cook it. The toilet and shower block next to reception was so clean and there was never a wait for anything.

The two portable loos in the bottom field where we stayed were absolutely fine. There are also recycling facilities which is great as there's nothing worse than taking back bags of smelly bottles and rubbish home with you.

The cafe on site which is run independently from the campsite is really lovely, good food and friendly staff. A really friendly man drove around delivering logs of wood at £5 a crate which lasted a good evening.

We will definitely return when we get another free weekend. This weekend cost us £60 for two nights for a family of four, it seemed a bit steep but as we had such a great time and the facilities which were there were good we didn't mind. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MudandBlossom 2 reviews from this member

 We spent a lovely couple of days at Forgewood. It was their busiest weekend so far, but it didn't feel too cramped because the fields are big and many of the tents are in the woods. The good things about the campsite are: choice of field or lovely woods; fires allowed; nice walks on-site (we walked to the ice-cave and the lake); great pub not too far away (the Huntsman); great cafe with fry-ups and ice-creams on-site.

Bad things: No tap in the field we camped in; portable loos rather than toilet blocks or compost loos in the field; wood was pricy at £5 a bag but there's lots of dry wood you can collect yourself. No discount for not bringing a car, and it is a bit tricky - if you come to Eridge there are no taxis! Also cars are allowed to park on the fields which I didn't like. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmamoo 12 reviews from this member

 I took my 2 children camping at Forgewood. It's a lovely large field with wooded areas around which you can pitch in. We made the mistake of pitching on the edge of the field next to the woods. Next time, we shall pitch in the woods, as there is no shade in the field whatsoever, so having gorgeous weather was a nightmare until the sun came down, it was so hot! I recommend pitching in the woods! They have a lot of campers with dogs, which is fine if you don't mind that, as all dogs are allowed off the lead. Some we found can be a bit annoying. The site has a really lovely on site cafe/diner where you can pick up cakes and snacks, and beer etc. It has a beer garden. The shower block wasn't too bad. It did become a bit soggy though, and I thought they could do with an extra 'family' room as it sometimes took a while to get in there. Reception wasn't where you think it would be, in where the diner is, its hidden in with the shower block. Not a bad site, there was a bonus to having camp fires - the owner went round every evening with bags of wood on a quad bike and trailer if you want to have a fire you just buy the bags off him then. I would recommend for weekends. I think I just found the dogs off leads a bit too much for us. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shires_vl 7 reviews from this member

 Just had a splendid weekend at Forgewood - weather was great which always helps. We were two families with four under 5s.

I agree that £30 per night is a bit steep but it is a fabulous setting and very efficiently run. The free hot showers are great once you get in them. But they are quite few in number and get very busy when the site is full as it was this weekend.

We camped in the second field (with portable loos available close by) and just a short walk through the woodland to the main facilities - showers / wash up etc.

Campfires were great (kids loved it!)with an efficient log delivery service or scavenging for sticks in the woods was possible and very child friendly; when our disposable barbecues failed there was a grill to hire to put over the campfire; and jump leads were quickly supplied when our friend's car battery failed!

All in all a fab site and we will be returning I am sure! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Michwood 1 review from this member

 We visited over a weekend and although the campsite was busy on the Saturday night there was plenty of space and we had a choice of where we could pitch.

The first field does have a slight slope but is very close to the toilet / shower block - and more importantly the on site cafe - fab for coffee and cakes! There weren't lots of showers or toilets but they were well maintained and I didn't have to queue once.

The real bonus was being able to have a campfire which we could all sit round and cook our dinner on. We took our dog and were really impressed with the walks we could do from the campsite - there are even ice caves to explore!

The site is also near the Spa Valley Railway at Eridge and Groombridge which was great for our little boy. We stayed an extra night and were the only people left in our field which made this officially the quietest campsite we have ever stayed on!

The site had excellent waste and recycling facilities which encourages everyone to leave the site as clean as they found it. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Astockwelluk 1 review from this member

 An excellent campsite. Major perk being able to have a camp fire and the forest is great to camp in. There are also pitches in a field but then it would be the same as any other site. When we visited was still being created with pitches being cleared and portaloo toilet and washing facilities which hopefully will become more permanent in time. On the negative side it was a bit pricey 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ed_pete 3 reviews from this member

 I think the owners of this site have decided to tap into the camping crowd looking for a 'real' camping experience. The site is set in two fields of roughly equal size; the first fields is largely square and on a bit of a slope with a track around the perimeter, the second field is more rectangular and track through the surrounding woodland joins the two.

Although there are no allocated pitches the owner prefers people to pitch on the field perimeter or - and this is what make this campsite different - in between the trees in the surrounding woods.

We pitched in the first field as recommend by the owner however it is on a bit of a slope, although it does have the advantage of having running water from standpipes which the second field does not.

Real campfires are allowed and the owners will supply you with logs at £5 per bag (a bit steep we thought and you need 2-3 for an evening). Portable loos and showers were OK, the second field which is quite far from the toilet block has some portable loos. Electric showers so not very powerful and cubicle very small. Two washing up sinks again with electric heaters for hot water which were a bit slow for filling the sink.

Cafť on site was good but pricey (£2 for small coffee, £3.50 for a sandwich, £5.65 for a pannini). Nearest supermarkets were Morrisons and Waitrose in Crowborough about 4 miles away. Great food and very good beer to be had at The Huntsman nr Eridge Station.

Overall a good experience but 'real' camping comes at a price - we paid £10 per night for adults and £5 per child so 2 & 3 came to £70 for a weekend. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kaz33 2 reviews from this member

 We went for a four day stay in half term and it was boiling hot, the owners did not jam the tents in so loads of room both in the woods and field. It had a lovely back to nature feel and other campers were friendly but not intrusive.

No silly rules, use your common sense on building campfires and you can forage in the wood for dead branches etc.

We camped in the woods and it was lovely and cool. One small note of caution on the second night I found a few black cockroaches, perils of camping in the woods. Despite the fact that all the food was in sealed containers. Also if I go back again think I will go for field pitch because we were almost a bit tucked away.

Owners were very friendly and my boys overloaded on banana milkshakes from the cafe. Didn't try the food but they were open from 9-9 and did a full range of food. We bought some vension burgers and steaks to barbecue but not very good and my eldest was sick after the steak. Probably just didn't agree with him as we were both ok.

We went to Hever Castle, well worth a visit and High Rocks (ok).

It is expensive thirty pounds a night for the four of us but well worth it. Definitely would go again. Soon I hope. 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3265 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement