Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Tunbridge Wells > Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site Reviews

CLOSED: Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site
Forgewood Barn
Sham Farm Road
Danegate
Tunbridge Wells
Kent   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 83 Reviews
                8/10 from 83 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dotcomplex 9 reviews from this member

 Really great site, it's actually two sites in one location, spread across rolling woods. Geared up to take 20 plus pitches but all far enough apart to not really notice your neighbours. Kids really loved it, acres of woods to get lost in.

We went on a dad's camping weekend with 5 dads and 7 boys. We managed to get five large tents plus a hammock all around two fire pits and could only spot the other pitches when they lit up their fires at night.

Facilities if you wanted them were at the top of the hill but really professional. John and Nick were really helpful - haven't tried the new sites at Inwood and Lordswood but hope to soon.

This is a really well managed site - but managed so that you still feel you are really getting away from it all. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Isr303 1 review from this member

 Site is excellent, clean, tidy and plenty of room for everyone without tents being right next to each other. Plenty of choice of pitches, whether you want to be in the woods or in one of the fields.

Considering how much space there was, it was somehow not too much of a trek from where we were (the 'Adults Forgewood' area) to the facilities at the entrance.

The toilets and showers were of good quality, well looked after and no need to queue.

Also at the entrance is a small shop selling local produce, ice creams, toiletries and some camping supplies (gas etc.) and a nice cafe / bar.

The team are very friendly, laid back but at the same time everything is well organised. The chap who delivers the wood really has his work cut out of an evening, so make sure you flag him down and order some as soon as you see him.

There is also an excellent pub within walking distance, the Neville Crest and Gun. They gladly accommodated 11 of us, plus a young baby and we all ate and drank very well.

All this and only about an hour from London. Will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smudgeymum 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived late on Friday afternoon to a warmish welcome. There were only 2 other tents and so we had the pick of the field. As this was only the 2nd time we had pitched our tent (the first being a rehearsal in our local park!) it took us a while to get established. Others arrived after us and settled long before us!

We were surprised to see campervans as we thought the site only allowed tents, but it wasn't really a problem. We were, however, disappointed by the amount of cars parked next to their tents. We had 2 cars with us and parked both in the car park.

The toilets and showers were fine as were the washing up facilities. We never had to queue for anything- but did see some queues at the washing up sinks - you just have to pick your time to go. It was great to be able to have a camp fire, and we would recommend hiring a camp fire grill. 5 per night - but with a 40 deposit.

They are more reliable than a BBQ and the bacon in the morning for the bacon butties was out of this world! You can buy logs for 5 a bag (will last one evening) but ask for it long before you need it! There is plenty of wood in the forest to be had to help with kindling and is also a great game for the kids!

We walked to the ice caves and had lunch in the cafe on site. It may be a little pricey - but is well worth it. Had a gorgeous panini and my husband had a lovely chilli. By Saturday afternoon, in my limited experience, I would say that the site was very busy, I felt a little too close to our neighbours, but that said we would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kazzy232 5 reviews from this member

 I am just on the way home from visiting this site. The setting is lovely and you can either camp around the edge of the field or in the woods. We chose the field, but I must say that I was envious of people that chose the woods as it seemed like a real adventure.

The facilities a very good. Three showers and three toilets for Ladies and similar for men. The were also disabled facilities, and a washing up and vegetable preparation area. The site encouraged open fires and you could buy the wood. Although we didn't have a fire I can confirm that the bags of wood were large.

On site, although not under the same management, was a lovely barn cafe. This served food, hot drinks and alcoholic beverages.

What impressed me was the cleanliness of facilities, lots of water taps dotted about, the spaciousness of the site - as you could pick your own pitch there were no marked areas.

We had a really good time with our dog. However, when we go again I am going to insist to my husband that we put up tent in the woods. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Laura_sparkles 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this camp site last weekend.

Good points - Clean hot showers never waited once always had loo roll and was never smelly.

Very helpful staff actually excellent staff two lovely guys with lots of useful things for sale like ice, toothpaste, fresh croissants and even tampons but it wasn't like a shop if you needed it they had it tucked away in storage! And always made time to chat to everyone even though they were always busy day and night!

Campsite excellent location and beautiful to wake up in the woods surrounding the tent.

Bad points - Noise it seems the woods amplify it especially children who obviously love running wild and free in there which in the day time is lovely but at 6am like our neighbours kids did not so much fun with the woods echo and amplification.

And its very over priced I thought.

Be careful in your choice of pitch location if its near a large clearing then there is a good chance a group will camp there right next to you when they have a whole forest to choose from! But for kids and families I should think its amazing but for couples looking for quiet, stay in the field or make sure you camp in the far right hand corner of woods seemed less families there! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moonchair08 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here, 4 adults over the weekend and then just 2 with our 2 dogs for the rest of the week. This site is one of the best we have stayed at. If you want a peaceful, back to nature campsite, this is ideal.

We camped in the woods, which was great. Campfires allowed which is a real plus and logs are delivered to your tent. You get a large bag of logs for 5, we only needed to buy 2 bags for our week long stay. We used a firewok as cook our meals on the firewok using a trivet and dutch oven, but you can use the existing firepits to have fires on the ground if you wish and the campsite shop has campfire grills for sale to cook.

Shower block clean and always hot water when we visited and never encountered any queues. In addition to toilets at the main shower block there are 2 sets of 2 portaloos, so never a long walk to the loo! The portaloos did get a bit 'fragrant' by the end of the weekend, but that is to be expected and still not far to walk to the main block. There is a washing up area by the shower block, I can't comment on this as we wash up using the kettle and washing up bowl at our camp, but there never seemed to be a queue when we were at the shower block/reception.

Great walks around the site which we made good use of and you are given a map upon arrival detailing these.

There is a large Sainsbury's in Tunbridge Wells which is only a short drive away. Our friends arrived by train and the station is also close by which is very handy for those without cars.

If you camp in the woods, you can take your car down to drop your stuff off and then park in the reception car park which makes it nice and car free when walking around the paths and woods.

Owners very friendly and helpful.

Cafe on site, unattached to the campsite, serving good selection of food, although wasps a bit of an issue when sitting outside when we were there.

Pricing is per person to account for the varying size of tents and extras people bring. I have seen some comments on here about this being expensive, but the experience of this campsite makes it worth every penny, we paid 12.50 per person per night, dogs free.

Truly a great site and we will be returning for sure. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alexandra.elliott 1 review from this member

 We have just enjoyed a really good four nights at Forgewood, with some rain, camping for the first time with three young children and with good friends whose son loves a good open camp fire. We decided to camp on the field, next to the entrance to the woods in the corner, so we had the best of both areas. We erected the tents, visited the cafe, which does a delicious Paninni for 5.25

Visited the toilet area and showers and were very impressed that there were portacabin flushable toilets/three sinks and three electric showers for the ladies with hot water. Next to this area was the washing up area with two sinks with hot water

The woods are really fun for the kids to explore and go on their bikes. There is a nice walk to the caves, which is a good adventure. The camp fires were great, as we hired and bought in the end a 'campgrill' from the owners,which we cooked our food over the fire each evening. Each evening there was a delivery of wood for 5 a bag which did for the evening meal and fires in the evening to chill out around! The owners were really nice and friendly. We will return in the future, and I am sure you will not be disappointed if you visit Forgewood. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Surnamefoster 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 4 nights camping at Forgewood, and we have had an absolutely fantastic time! We are a family of 4, our 2 boys are 2 and 6. This included the weekend, and it wasn't too busy in the fields, although this maybe because there were so many tents in the woods. The things we loved:

Nothing pretentious about this site! Very friendly owners - very accommodating, but not in your face at all.

The woods - so much fun and room for the kids to run, cycle, climb trees etc

Lots of families on site, very child friendly

Logs were good value compared to some sites we've been to - 5 for a large bag, plenty for an evening

Being able to hire camp grill (5/night) - fantastic simple device allowing you to cook at variable height over the fire. It worked so much better than a BBQ, and because of the adjustable height we didn't burn the food!

The bush-craft classes - our 6 year old loved carving his own spoon, and my wife and son did the camp-cooking, learning how to cook over an open fire. The sessions were great value, mostly 5 per person and lasted 1 hour.

Walks in the woods - so beautiful, so much room to explore

The caves - about 30 minutes walk to explore the caves, the kids loved this

Open fires - the kids loved helping build a fire, and sitting round the fire in the evenings was lovely

Good, clean showers & loos (never had to queue)

Not being crammed in

Being near to Tonbridge Wells (10 minutes drive) for Sainsbury's!

Some reviews say sloping field is a problem, but I thought the slope was very slight, not anything to worry about.

There were just lots of nice touches and thought gone into this campsite, which made the experience thoroughly enjoyable, and gave us lots to do without having to drive anywhere.

The not so good:

The cafe - not run by the campsite, but very expensive (4.50-5 for a sandwich)

Wasps! There were loads of them! We became very efficient and bold at swatting the little buggers. Sorry to any wasp-lovers out there, but after a few days your patience wears thin.

Only 2 washing up sinks - only had to queue for 10 minutes maximum though. The hot water was SO slow to fill the sink - that took about 5 minutes on it's own!

Conclusion

Can't wait to go there again! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Putthekettleon 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely weekend at Forgewood. We were in a group of two families, and we camped in the forest, quite near the field, so it was handy for the toilet block and cafe, etc., but was still tucked away in the woods. It was good to be under the trees when it rained, and the pitches weren't too squashed together. If we'd been a bigger group I don't think we would have been able to set up in the forest as the clearings aren't big enough for several tents, so we would have had to try out the field.

Plus points:

Nice to camp in wooded surroundings.

Ability to have a campfire, and sale of wood is a big plus and popular with adults and children alike.

Nice, friendly cafe. The children's pasta dishes were tasty and good value for money, and the milkshakes were delicious.

We brought our dog, who had the best weekend of his short life.

Good walks and enough to explore for children.

On the downside, a large group of loud 'party animals' arrived on the next pitch on our second day and made a racket until four in the morning, seemingly unchecked by the owners, despite requests to deal with it from one or two members of our group. The owners were pleasant but I do feel they could have made more of an effort to do something about such an obvious and persistent annoyance. Perhaps they didn't realise quite how loud it was down in the woods. Anyway, I know we weren't the only disgruntled campers at the end of a sleepless night.

Having said this, I would go again, because we would be unlikely to have such bad luck with the neighbours another time.(?) and we have returned happy, if somewhat bleary-eyed. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sausage Sizzler 2 reviews from this member

 The previous reviews paint a pretty good and fair picture of Forgewood.

We chose to camp in the woods. It rained on the first afternoon, and the woods really held the water (ie Water dripped off the leaves for longer that it actually rained) and it felt dank and cold overnight. With hindsight, we would have camped on the field, perhaps on the edge of the woods, thereby getting best of both worlds.

Being in the woods also means your 'porch' is constantly covered in bits of twigs and bracken. We were sweeping every five minutes and the inside ground sheet was filthy.

Having said that, seeing the kids enjoy the total freedom of stomping about in the woods was lovely!

A large church group were visiting when we stayed and despite them being pitched a long way away from everyone else, their very loud singing at 4.30am woke most of the other campers. The manager did come and apologise, but the group had a repeat performance the following night. The site's literature is very clear about not playing amplified music or allowing raucous children to run riot past 10pm, so it was a tad galling that we were disturbed a second night, despite the apology.

Agree that a fiver for one evening's worth of logs is a bit steep; indeed the overall price is a bit expensive for 'what you get'. However it's a lovely area with loads to do nearby. We went to Bodiam Castle, which was fantastic.

It's a lovely quiet site and would recommend it to anyone with children - but would advise you camp in the field rather than in the woods. 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3269 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement