Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Tunbridge Wells > Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site Reviews

CLOSED: Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site
Forgewood Barn
Sham Farm Road
Danegate
Tunbridge Wells
Kent   (Browse area)



Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Now Closed 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 83 Reviews
                8/10 from 83 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Sadly this site is now closed.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dan-w 3 reviews from this member

We have just had a fantastic long weekend at Forgewood, the site was great with a very relaxed atmosphere allowing en fires and being able to pitch up anywhere we wanted was great as we had a reasonable size group with 4 mid to large tents.

The toilet and shower facilities were not anything to shout about compared to bigger sites but their website states this and they were a lot better than we expected, with boiling hot water, decent size shower cubicles and were kept reasonably clean throughout the day.

Our kids attended the Woodwise course and loved every minute of it, returning with bread they had made and telling us all about the shelters they made, a really great experience for them! They also loved exploring the woods and swinging on the rope swings dotted around the edge of the woods.

We hired the grills available which was great as cooking for a group of 14 on them was a doddle over the open fire.

We will certainly be back again soon as we are pretty local and loved every second of our long weekend, except the packing away in the wet.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sunfunbum 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here twice already this year. I asked the kids after visiting the first time if they would like to go back or to somewhere we have been before and they chose Forgewood again. So the kids obviously like it and I must say I don't really have any grumbles. Toilets and showers are great in the main field so are the washing up facilities. Woodland pitches are great and very atmospheric. Main field pitches are a little uneven, but hey its camping. My only niggle is that I would like to see the grass cut in the field. Its the main playing area and the grass is knee high on kids so energy sapping and not inviting to play. Also it gets quite damp in the evening. It may be they are not allowed to cut it?? The woods a re great for playing with a number of dens and rope swings around the edge of the field. Kids did the bushcraft course and loved it.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Firesteve 1 review from this member

A great campsite, but they are charging way too much, 2 adults and 2 children at 42 a night. Last year was 30 which seemed a lot but ok. 2014 prices are just silly, by the time you add logs and such to the bill, the price is just too much. If I went on my own, in the same tent, it would cost me 15

A shame, but I doubt we will be going back.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Manglemender 6 reviews from this member

We spent Easter at this site and it was fairly busy so we opted for the lower field. My brother and his daughter also joined us and it was great to be able to cook on an open fire. There is a policy on site of not gathering firewood from the woods but many people seemed to be ignoring this which I found rather poor and selfish.

There were only portaloos in the lower fields while the main facilities are excellent. We thought that the showers would be busy but this didn't seem to be the case.

We live in the north of England and picked this site based on reviews and location so that family members living in the south could visit. We had previously used another site not far away and that was truly awful.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suffolk Trev 5 reviews from this member

Camped here with family, two tents, gazebo, two cars, chose the lower field backing onto the woods as thought being in the woods would be too dark on such a sunny weekend. We all loved it. It was busy but not crowded, there were reserved spots but ths did not stop us finding a good one. The main shower block was clean, showers were cold at peak times, but Monday AM when weekenders went they were superb. Portaloos were what they are, as other reviewers have said they were cleaned by staff, left dirty by campers. Having a fire was great, hired a grill. Loads of woods for the kids to run in, the walk to the ice caves was good, when we got there we had them and the surrounding area to ourselves. Reception well stocked, staff superbly helpful. Did not use the restaurant or the bushcraft sessions. A great time in a great site in a lovely location.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suziu123 1 review from this member

We've just returned from spending the weekend at this site and loved it.

It has all you need from a campsite - friendly reception, restaurant, bar and well-stocked shop, firewood delivered to your tent each night, clean and perfectly adequate toilets, warm and wet showers - surely all you need them to be(!), woods for the kids to run around in and a lovely atmosphere.

Camping just the way we like it - we'll be back!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Minijim79 2 reviews from this member

We visited Forgewood campsite for three nights at the end of the Whitsun half term - what a fantastic campsite, we had a brilliant break.

Following two days of rain earlier in the week we arrived on the Thursday to a pretty wet and soggy campsite - were met with friendly faces and some advice about where to pitch. Couldn't find space big enough for our (admittedly large 10 man) tent in the woods so settled on a soggy patch at the top of the bottom field - hoping for some drainaway when the promised good whether arrived later in the weekend. With the tent pitched we had some fantastic spectator sport watching all sorts of vehicles trying to get back up the hill! The staff were helping stricken vehicles by towing them up (some 4x4s included) which was reassuring. We were near to the portaloos which was good given our three young children - these were cleaned daily which was great as some left them in a poor state.

The children (3, 4 and 7) quickly made friends, explored the woods, got covered in mud, made rope swings, bows and arrows, found a stream, got stuck in a bog, chased each other with sticks etc. All within the first few hours. All good fun. Lots of groups on the site, lots of children of all ages - all well behaved I thought, no-one over the top, too noisy or disturbing the whole weekend - we must remember this is an active campsite aimed at outdoor living and outdoor pursuits.

Friday came and so did the sun, we walked up to the Neville Crest and Gun on the A26 near Eridge - perhaps 2 miles through the woods/country. Great beer, beer garden and tractor to play on. When we returned the site had drained, and while still boggy in places in the sunshine it was a much happier place to be. Similar, much longer walk the next day to the Abergevanney Arms in Frant 4 miles maybe more and a lovely walk along the Weald Way, although pub not as good as the Neville Crest.

The final day and packing away came far too soon - we could have spent all week here, we were left to reflect on the site. OK it is not, nor portrays itself to be, a touring park with clubhouse, tarmac roads and plentiful toilet blocks and if you come understanding that you will have a great time. The shop, food hut, wash up and toilet blocks are sufficient for all you need (providing you are a little prepared!). The woods are fantastic fun and a rarity on campsites, the countryside is brilliant and walks for all ages in every direction, having a campfire grilling sausages and chicken on the hired grill pans was great, watching the smoke rising across the site as the sun went down with a glass of wine was relaxing, the children (and they enjoy it the most) were up until sunset playing games with new friends, exploring, collecting firewood, football, frisbee, cricket, poking the fire, toasting marshmallows then falling into bed and sleeping till 7 and starting all over.

I really could not recommend this site more, getting up for the daily commute on Monday morning was particularly difficult. Would much rather have stayed at Forgewood!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ladybird123 1 review from this member

A beautiful location and friendly staff. Loved the choice of woodland or field, although we opted for field as we are all in our fifties. Took a dog with us who was made welcome. Nice little snack bar and shop selling the basics. Facilities were not really sufficient for the number of people but in fairness this is a 'back to nature' site and the facilities were kept clean. Only real criticism was that there were massive piles of rubbish in the bin area which looked like they hadn't been emptied in days. A bit of a health hazard really and looked and smelt disgusting. Hopefully this is a temporary problem. Otherwise, very happy there. Bit expensive for what it offered though. Close to Tunbridge Wells for a day visit and nice pubs quite close.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ltlwing 6 reviews from this member

This site could be wonderful. Beautiful spot, friendly staff, lovely restaurant plus snack bar and well stocked store. But, and it's a big one for us, there was no demarcation between the family side and what was sold as an adult only side. There was no one to enforce any rules, be it the children camping in the adult section, or the ghetto blaster being used at 3 am. The facilities were impossible to keep clean on a rainy weekend, but they are simply not adequate for such a large site - there needs to be twice as many portakabins as at present.

I'm sure that families with small, energetic children would have a better time than we did, but this is not the place to go if you are looking for an idyllic weekend of communing with nature - we couldn't hear the birds for the shrieking of the kids.

Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2004 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019