Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Tunbridge Wells > Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site Reviews

CLOSED: Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site
Forgewood Barn
Sham Farm Road
Danegate
Tunbridge Wells
Kent   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 83 Reviews
                8/10 from 83 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matthew b 5 reviews from this member

 We visited the site with 6 other families for the fist weekend in Oct. John, the man in charge, had officially closed but as we were a large group he very helpfully stayed open a few days longer than originally planned.

We had a super time. We camped in the field rather than the woods as we wanted to stay together around a central fire. The kids, of which there were 14 I think disappeared into the woods to build camps and explore and we saw very little of them for 2 days. It did however seem quite safe. The modern toilets and showers were great as there was little demand on them. I expect things get a bit clogged in the height of summer. There are 4 additional portaloos.

John was helpful and directed us on a short walk to some man made caves which the kids found very exciting. He even joined us for a drink around the fire on the Saturday night.

All in all a great site without too many rules and with free wood for camp fires. Close to London and facilities.

We will return. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crack 5 reviews from this member

 Absolutely first class site and thoroughly wonderful weekend. Chap on the maingate (John?) was really friendly and helpful. We camped up in the tree's which was nice and cool given that the sun was blazing on what must be one of the hottest weekends of the year. Plenty of wood just lieing about though some of it is quite green (not complaining!)

No complaints re the toilets, typical green portaloos however all were clean and had plenty of tissues. Showers (I stayed dirty all weekend, I'm on holiday!) were clean and also FREE!

Will definitely go back though wish I'd found this place sooner.

Couple of our friends went to the tea rooms (on the right as you enter the site) I don't think the tea rooms and the campsite are owned by the same person) as the woman serving was quite surly and seemed a little put out by several of our group buying ice-creams. If I had a business that had such a captive audience I'd be open 24/7!

Top class site and look forward to visiting in 2010.

One other thing - we totally missed Eridge Green and had to do a 180 degree turn and come back on ourselves - might be worth having a sign on that turning.? 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liverbird08 13 reviews from this member

 Last minute chance to leave husband and child and have a girls break, so snapped it up! I had a look and saw this site, so we booked it. At 12.50 per adult per night I thought it was a little expensive, but after a weekend there, I feel the cost is justified.

We arrived at dark and pitched the bell tent in a little copse called 'John B's' - we had been shown this by Nick, one of the guys helping to run the site along with Denise, John and their children. There is a field or camping in the woods - we camped in the wood and then had to carry our stuff in the dark but once we were set up it was amazing. Big pitches, water points all round the field and four portaloos but also up by the entrance (and tea shop) there are flushing loos and a very clean shower unit.

Kids ran around picking up wood but there was plenty of FREE wood and logs just there for the taking in a pile - hence the price justification. You can have a fire during the day and night, people had set up all types of camping kitchens and some had tripods made of branches! Kids loved it we had lots of charming little visitors popping by to show us animal skulls and pinch marshmallows - I promised my daughter I shall take again as soon as it opens in Spring.

You also get a lot of like minded campers - first time I have camped and not heard any music other than a group who had a guitar and briefly played this during the day.

It is only open for another two weeks but I asked if they would consider winter camping as this is an ideal place to do this.

As for the surrounding area, I believe it is beautiful however I was so smitten with my patch of woodland I chose to stay there the whole weekend! It felt like we had been on a retreat it was so peaceful. I have photos that I shall upload but these do not do it justice. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bluesmartie 3 reviews from this member

 I warmed to forge wood when I read previous reviews and knew we would love camping here. We loved this place as it provides every opportunity to play together and have fun as a family, close to nature. Making dens in the woods, climbing trees, playing on rope swings, walking amongst the trees.What a fab way to spend time! Our kids instantly buddied up with other kids on site and really enjoyed the freedom to play,roam and explore in such an exciting environment.

The owner John and his family were welcoming, friendly, helpful and always approachable.

Facilities were clean and accessible - nice hot shower, toilets, washing up area, recycling area for rubbish, stand pipes dotted around. Also on site are tea rooms which are handy but we didn't use them.

We camped at the edge of the field( more space for larger size tents ) but there are pitches tucked away within the forest too - well spaced out.

Campfires are so special and are responsibly encouraged here, we were given a fire bucket on arrival to keep nearby. John even cuts and delivers logs to your pitch on his quad bike for free! Or you are welcome to forage the woodland and collect your own which we loved doing too.

The site has only been open for 6 weeks and are hoping they are granted a licence to continue long term - we are keeping our fingers crossed for them as we will definitely be returning to this magical gem of a site. Thankyou for such a great camping experience. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sparklycamper 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend here with a group of adults.

The owners were friendly.

The toilets/showers (1 of each per sex) were by far the cleanest and most pleasant I have EVER seen when camping! 100% immaculate! (they were of course only 4 weeks old!) Showers were hot and clean and free, with loads of space to change, no complaints there!

There is no plug socket or hairdryer but there is a shaver point.

(there were also 4 portaloos in the field but I didn't use them)

There is a washing up sink with COLD water only (so we got some hot water from the showers in our bowl and used that!)

Basically a HUGE field, not particularly flat, with woods surrounding. You can camp towards the edge of the field or in the woods! (if you camp in the woods you park in the field and carry your stuff in)

They LIKE you to forage for wood and make campfires etc so that's exactly what we did. (We bought a saw to cut the long branches we found)

They alse leave strategically placed piles of wood for you to collect, and at dusk drive round in the quad bike to say Hi and deliver more wood if required.

This is a lovely site, with a great atmosphere and we all enjoyed our time there.

The only thing was the price: 12.50 per adult! (no option of electric!) The same group of us are spending LESS per night hiring a luxury 4 bedroom 4 bathroom cottage in a few weeks time!

Maybe they don't want to encourage adult groups?, as if you are a group with children they only charge 8 per adult and 6 per child.

The other thing worth mentioning is that lots of airplanes are flying over head (I assume from Gatwick) They can be a bit noisy but did not disturb my sleep. There is no traffic noise however. Quiet time is after 10pm.

Electric music is not allowed, but singing and non electric guitars are welcome! There was a group playing music until the early hours on Saturday night though

Due to density of woodland and fires burning day & night I wouldn't recommend coming here with a toddler, but once a bit older it would be a fab place to camp with children! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hennie 1 review from this member

 Fantastic location. Fabulous people running/owning the site. Plenty of space to camp in the woods! Only two showers, one for women and one for men, but who cares, we have such a great time in the 'great outdoors'. Everyone we have spoken to absolutely loves the place. Supermarkets, garages, pubs about 3 miles away. We will keep going back for as long as they will have us! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katyb4 1 review from this member

 Great site. Very busy bank holiday weekend but it didn't feel crowded (so many people pitched in the woods) and the basic facilities coped well and were cleaned frequently. NB no hot water at the washing up station so don't bother lugging your dirty dishes up there unless you've forgotten your washing up bowl!

We pitched at the edge of the field so we could take advantage of the sunshine. Whilst were in our shorts and t-shirts, campers were emerging from the woods in their fleeces and long trousers. I suspect the field was probably a lot more peaceful too, as all the kids chose to play in the woods! Don't forget to bring string/rope for den and bow building as well as a sharp knife for whittling sticks for marshmallow toasting.

Tea rooms are lovely but a bit genteel for grubby kids in wellies but they were doing takeaway ice creams and drinks from the kitchen door by the end of the weekend. Lovely homemade cakes and we had a delicious lunch in the garden after we'd packed out tent on the last day.

Turn right out of Sham Farm road and keep going straight for approx 2/3 miles to a huge sainsburys.

Nearby, Groombridge Place - Enchanted Forest quite expensive so go early to make a full day of it, Bewl Water and N.T Scotney Castle Gardens. We also came across a GREAT playground on Frant village Green with just the best swing -(all 4 of us got in it!)barely 2 miles away, take a picnic and that would make a very cheap morning out : )

The only reason I've witheld some stars on facilities is that in an ideal world there's be hot water for washing up, 2 showers rather than 1 and a small farm shop for local fresh milk and eggs etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LWN2 2 reviews from this member

 I spent bank holiday weekend here camping in the woods and it was great. It was like camping in the wild, but with basic amenities nearby. The Manager and family were very friendly and helpful.

The field camp was ok and not at all crowded, and the pitches in the woods were very well spaced, so sitting by the log fire at night felt very secluded. There was no extra charge for wood and it was in plentiful supply.

Cars can't be brought into the woods so camping there means carrying everything to your pitch. A minutes walk or so, but more for the remote pitches. The woods are extensive and great to explore. You could camp in complete seclusion if you wanted.

The site pricing favours family groups. Consequently, the site was very quiet from about 10pm. I was woken in the mornings by planes going into Gatwick, even though it's miles away. But then aircraft noise is a problem that must affect many camp sites.

The camp site is newly opened and I expect its amenities will improve - more showers and loos and hot water for washing up perhaps. But for now it offers a camping experience that really should be tried to experience something different from the usual. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angelahorn 3 reviews from this member

 I visited this site just after it opened and loved it. It's in a beautiful location, the manager is really helpful and laid-back, kids are actively encouraged to build dens in the woods, the loo and shower block was the cleanest I have ever seen, and there's a great choice of pitches. There is a field surrounded by woodland, and you can camp either in the field or in the woods. You can collect your own firewood and have a proper, open campfire. I really hope that campers collect wood responsibly so that this can continue. There are several drinking-water taps around the field and a good washing-up station and bins at the top, near the loo/shower block and tearoom. The manager is considering building some composting loos nearer to the woods as it's a bit of a trek up to the tea rooms/car park where the plumbed-in loos are.

We camped with friends on the edge of the field and our kids spent hours making dens in the woods, and finding frogs and toads. The field is gently sloping but there are plenty of places which are fine to pitch a big tent on. The ground is a bit bumpy in places so check your pitch before putting the tent up - although I think they're going to improve this. It's just such a lovely place, and John (manager) is such a helpful person, that I'm sure it's going to be a great success. I loved the fact that there were very few rules, there was nobody bossing us around - it's wild camping, but with services available!

One bonus that the listing doesn't mention - yes, the site is in idyllic countryside, but follow the A26 back to Tunbridge Wells and there's a giant Sainsbury's just 5 minutes away on the approach to the town, clearly signposted - so you can do your wild camping without having to take a week's worth of supplies! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pmwf 2 reviews from this member

 Delightful rural Sussex campsite with both field and wooded pitches and facilities for open fires. Washing facilities were somewhat basic but adequate. Great pub close by and tea room near campsite. Be aware that if you choose a pitch in the trees, it will get cool and dark earlier than if your pitch is in the open field. The site is not far from Tunbridge Wells with good shops and supermarket. 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3537 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement