Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Tunbridge Wells > Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site Reviews

CLOSED: Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site
Forgewood Barn
Sham Farm Road
Danegate
Tunbridge Wells
Kent   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 83 Reviews
                8/10 from 83 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lovelyveg 3 reviews from this member

 We will definitely be going back! Its a beautiful site and camping in the woods was lovely - although you do have the option for camping in the field if you prefer. Facilities are clean and I liked the way they were hidden behind a wooden screen so they didn't I pose on the campsite itself. Lovely little cafe where we were able to buy beers and wine in the evening and breakfast in the morning.

Our toddler had a lovely time playing in the woods and sitting around the campfire was great.

Would definitely recommend this site for those with children as the ones we saw playing in the woods were having a lovely time. Also recommended for those looking for a quiet, peaceful site where you can sit round a roaring fire in the evening listening to the sounds of nature. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Foleys 4 reviews from this member

 Sssh. Don't tell too many people about this site. Too good to share, sorry!

Will tell you the bits that I don't want you to hear.

Visited 2nd May bank holiday. I believe the site was pretty full but the owners hadn't squashed you in, plenty of room for everyone. We camped in the field by the woods but put our kitchen gazebo in the woods where our two parties could meet and sit round our real fire!

The portable cabin for the showers and toilets were kept very clean and although only 3 showers for men and 3 for women we didn't have to queue. I think there may have been a family room too.

Yes there were only 2 dishwashing sinks but we must have been lucky as never had to wait more than 5 minutes.

The woods were just fab and we took our dog which was just great. Kids took their bikes and were hardly seen. The owners were very helpful and obliging and the 5 for firewood was good value so don't bother buying beforehand.

The only thing I feel the site could benefit from would be a wash block with private cubicles with basins for those that just want a wash or to clean teeth etc to free up room in the shower/toilet block.

There is a big Sainsbury's within around 3 miles without having to go right into town and a garden centre even nearer which had a very good camping section in, which proved very useful when we needed warmer sleeping bags! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 27happyhelen 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful weekend spent in the bluebell woods of this campsite! Camp fires, kids able to run freely through the woods and fields playing, no loud music just a harmonica and a fiddle being played as well as the gentle hum of conversation and laughter.

Owners friendly, facilities clean - even portaloos in forest. Will definitely return. Our 5 bag of wood lasted 3 nights as fire only on in evening.

A lovely atmosphere to the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: COGS2010 1 review from this member

 There were too many of us to pitch in the woods so we pitched in the main field at the bottom, which is slightly sloping, but not too bad!

The site is nice and tidy and the new toilet block is clean and has free hot showers, soap and paper towels, which is a bonus as you aren't normally provided with any of these! There are plenty of portable loos doted around the site too. They also have recycling bins, which is good as we usually have to take our rubbish home.

Whilst we were there we visited the Huntsman in Eridge which is about half an hours walk away; great food and a garden for the kids to run around in. (There are also good pubs in Groombridge, The Junction and Rotherfield, The Kings Arms, although you would need to drive to these).

The weather was a bit hit and miss, as usual, but we had pleasant stay.

The best bits: Campfires and the kids having fun in the woods.

The not so good bits: Only two washing up sinks for the whole site meant long queues.

The worst bit: There was a very large group, who had complete disregard for all other campers, and partied very loudly into the small hours every night.

If this site wants to encourage families to camp there, a night time noise curfew would be a good idea in my opinion!

Other than that it was a great site. I'm sure we'll visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kelsteve 1 review from this member

 This was a last minute getaway as our son was in respite for the weekend. We have found a gem of a campsite! Woodland pitches or open field all with campfires!

We wanted to pitch in the woods with our large 8 berth tent.And we did.In the dark!

A very friendly welcome by the owners, John & Denise.

We arrived very late and it was dark but we managed to pitch our tent in the woods! We got half a bag of wood and the rest dropped off the following day.

We were told all about the facilities on site. The toilet/shower block is clean and dry. They have a beautiful tea room that sold the most gorgeous cakes. Beer & wine also available which is very handy.

It was a complete chill out for us, the Bluebells were so pretty. The hoot of the owls at night and the stars were incredible and not forgetting the glow from the campfires. Pure bliss!

I cant wait to go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shims 1 review from this member

 Went to Forgewood two weekends in a row and if not fully booked will go there for the bank holiday weekend.

Always a friendly welcome from the owners who are more than happy to answer any questions.

The 12.50 per person per night an excellent price.

An essential campsite if you want to have fire. A large bag of wood for a fiver is a bargain, our bag lasted two nights.

There are toilets and showers on site and they are very clean and new.

They do sell some meats if you run out and there is a cafe there for cakes,burgers, beer and wine.

We went for a walk up to Frant an olden tymes village and a pub grub lunch in The George Inn, good prices and worth the walk through the bluebell woods and the Eridge Eastate where you can see deers roaming free.

Also if like me and my missus you don't drive it's easy to get to on the train. London Victoria to Eridge change once at East Croydon and bobs your aunt mary, there's a pub next to the train station at Eridge called The Huntsman. Stop there for a pint then a half hour walk to Forgewood Campsite. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scubagoose 1 review from this member

 Fantastic low key campsite. We went with a group of 11 adults and 17 children for most of the kids it was their first time camping and they ranged from 2 to 12.

The kids spent most of their time in the bluebell woods (or on the edge of the woods for the little ones) the site had a large area in the middle where there were no tents on our weekend so the kids played rounders and football there. The owner delivered our wood to us on his quad bike.

The showers and toilets were new and very clean. There is the added bonus of a tearoom on site which also sold cold beer (which was handy at 5.00 when I realised Id forgotten to pack hubbys beer) and coffees.

We went for a walk to the ice cave but our kids were too young to go far in. Looked a bit scary.

Had a fab time and will come back next year.

If you plan to stay for a few nights on a family holiday they are only about 3 miles from Groombridge place with its Enchanted forest which is a lovely family day out and also only a couple of miles from Spa Railway. Tunbridge wells is about 4 miles away if you want to re-enter the real world and shop or eat out.

A great back to nature experience for all. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BigtallKath 10 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site, especially at this time of year with the bluebells carpeting the woodland and deer skipping across the fields. Lots of space for the kids to run round and a real joy to have both a campfire and a decent loo block.

A warm welcome from the owners, who regularly tootled round on their quad bike to check everyone was OK.

A couple of gripes that might put me off returning: although the site wasn't crowded (possibly due to the foul weather?) the hot water quickly ran out, so a cold shower and cold washing up makes a grumpy camper. Secondly, the price: the site is lovely, but basic and 30 per night for a family of 4, plus 5 for firewood is a bit steep. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crack 5 reviews from this member

 Another great BH Weekend amongst the bluebells, under the trees. Wood is now sold though there is still plenty of wood for foraging, though the bags of wood that are sold are very generous for what is a minimal 5.

The weather was terrible but managed to get a couple of tarps up and was fine.

One slight issue, we were recommended the Abervagenny Arms in Frant (we were seeking a pub to shelter from three days of rain, that had good food etc.) What can I say other than Don't Go To This Pub - we had a most shocking afternoon, threatened with violence by the chef and the landlady was positively foul.

However I will recommend the Huntsman which is next door to Eridge Train Station and is about a 30 min walk from the campsite and def worth a visit.

Forge Wood is a wonderful site and def in my Top 5 sites. My one issue would be the price 12.50 though this only a small niggle! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D+np 1 review from this member

 Like other reviewers, we loved the woodland setting and found the people running the site and the tea room to be exceptionally helpful. We made good use of the tearooom, which made for a great mix of luxury - tea and scones - with camping. We had never had a camp fire before and it was magical.

The shower and toilet facilities were good and we were given advice where to find local facilities. Including supermarkets with cashpoints as they only took payment in cash or by cheque and we hadn't arrived with either!

The site had only recently opened when we visited and we sincerely hope that planning permission is granted for 2010, as closure of this site would be a great shame.

Lovely site and a memorable trip. 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3006 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement