Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Tunbridge Wells > Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site Reviews

CLOSED: Forgewood Camping Unplugged Site
Forgewood Barn
Sham Farm Road
Danegate
Tunbridge Wells
Kent   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 83 Reviews
                8/10 from 83 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pipatgreen 1 review from this member

 We've now visited twice, each time pitching our tent in the woods.

Other people's children) are always an issue and some groups can be noisy, but this is less of an issue if you are in the woods. You can also pretty much spread out as you like.

On our first visit we were able to have a fire pretty much any time. If you're using it to cook you need to start by about 5pm in order to eat in reasonable time (especially with children).

Wood was delivered by quad bike right to our site.

The management was very relaxed about booking in and paying for wood.

However, the second visit was rather different - same relaxed feel but we were told that we could not light a fire until 7pm - apparently some 'neighbours' had complained. Suddenly we felt a bit constrained and not so relaxed. (hence I can't score it highly for customer service - possibly not the site management's fault).

The 'shop' is really useful - nice venison meat & sausages - and the cafe on site is nice for a treat.

However, it is expensive. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brighton campers 2 reviews from this member

 Forgewood is an absolutely huge campsite, which brings with it certain pros and cons. After a long weekend camping there here are a few:

Pros

1) You can choose to camp in the fields or the woodland. In the woodland there was much more space around.

2) Most of the pitches were pretty flat

3) You can have fires from 7pm - bags of logs are 5 each delivered to your tent. You can also hire a BBQ to cook things over your fire

4) Main shower/toilet block was pretty clean, and there are porta loos dotted about the campsite so you don't have to trek all the way to the main bit.

5) Cafe/bar on site selling selection of alcohol/hot drinks and providing a really lovely breakfast.

Ok and now the cons:

1) at 25 per night this is the most expensive campsite we have ever stayed in, and in all honesty I'm not sure it's worth that much more

2) By far the worst aspect of the site was (for us, child-free campers) the huge numbers of children around. Though it was lovely at first to see so many kids playing, 10 hours of screaming/crying later it had worn off a bit. If you are after a peaceful camping trip this is not the site for you - however if you enjoy waking at 6am to the sound of a leisure centre in half term then you're in luck!

3) The cafe, though serving a truly lovely breakfast, was in complete disarray with regard to the ordering system. I never got part of my order despite asking several times and mostly the staff were wandering around trying to work out who to serve to food/drinks to. A system is needed here!

Overall, probably a great campsite if you have young kids but otherwise we'd recommend searching around for something a bit more peaceful. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikeydevon 1 review from this member

 Am a relatively infrequent camper but always prefer low key wilderness/wild camping rather than major developed sites. This is the best campsite I have seen/been to in the UK so far, and comparable with the camping experience you get in state parks in the USA. Pitching areas are well spread out, pitching your tent in the woods and you can light a fire just out in the field.

We (a couple) were there in the week in June and it was so quiet we had a whole field to ourselves, not a sole around, in fact so quiet you could go au-natural and only the wildlife would notice. So I am a little surprised to read reviews about it being busy. I think there were only 2 or 3 other campers on the whole site which is quite a few acres. If you go into the far field, as we did, it is a 10 min walk to the main facilities though there are water taps and toilets nearer.

The cafe, showers (free) and mini shop are very nice clean and adequate. This is a great place if you like wild camping, not if you want lots of facilities.

My only niggle with the place was when we arrived the welcome was not unfriendly, but a bit vacant 'cold' - as though they weren't expecting anyone. Also, despite being given directions to the far field, once we had set up we were told there were planning issues about that part and in theory should not really be there. Though there were obviously recent fires. However, as it was just one night we could stay. A bit odd - if that's the case why not tell you not to go there, put signs up saying no further and/or cover the fire pits.

You do get some faint noise from planes overhead (I assume on a flightpath for gatwick) so it's not complete tranquillity if you are used to TOTAL silence, but it wasn't a major issue - very background - and in someways added to the atmosphere of the place.

All said, I would def go back to this place it is a gem 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smithagain 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a week at Forgewood.

We booked before the site was rated top ten by the Guardian. What with that and it being half term, the site was very busy (full) but was not over-crowded. Lots of children (lots and lots).

Looked at dispassionately, the site is adequate - facilities are OK (all located at the entrance, with some chemical builders-site type toilets near the opposite end of the site).

Taps are dotted around, so you don't need to carry water too far, but showers / rubbish / shop / washing-up area is a fair walk away if you pitch in the more remote parts. The showers are adequate only if hardly any are being used - in the morning peak the water pressure can't cope and the showers (especially in the mixed sex / family block) become just an icy dribble.

It's not super-flat (I think the second field is flatter than the first).

However, what makes the site brilliant is free reign in the woodland. The woodland is fairly open, but there's not clearings - a modest four or five person tent will fit between the trees in lots of places but a sprawling multi-pod one probably won't.

We pitched in the woods and hardly saw our children for a week. They were off collecting sticks, building dens, climbing trees, building log bridges, investigating holes, discovering rope swings, crawling in ditches and generally entertaining themselves with the English woodland.

From an adult point of view we simply lay back and relaxed, with an occasional amble to the ice-cream freezer at the site shop. There's a circular loop walk from the site to some folly caves on the estate if you need to walk off the ice-cream, or simply meander about in the woods.

Come evening, light the camp-fire (firewood delivered to your pitch for 5 per bag, for a small fire just to sit around a bag does a couple of nights) and sit round watching the night fall.

You pay a premium for the woods, the fires, the space and the general laid-back air. If you want sparkling modern facilities seconds from your pitch and billiard-table grass you probably need to go elsewhere. Also, if you pitch in the woods, you need to be tolerant of the occasional party of small people trekking through/past your pitch.

We hardly left the site in the week, and it was the most relaxing weeks camping we've had yet. We all came back dirt-coloured and smelling of woodsmoke (we only braved the icy dribbles once in the week), but if that sounds good to you, this site is probably just your thing. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tennant62/68 6 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from this site,and if its rustic your after,this is the site for you.

We camped on Snag Acre field,which is a 5 minute walk away from the main reception.

This camp is ideal for kids, ours played in the big field as well as explore the woods around.

We all went on some excellent walks, which took in the caves and the winding streams,but the main part of this trip was building your own camp fire, which of an evening is a must.

The staff were on hand for any needs if required and one of them came around on a quad bike selling logs at 5 a go. The only minus was the portable loos in our field. They run out of paper very quickly and smelt as toilets smell. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kentlisa 3 reviews from this member

 Had a fantastic Bank Holiday weekend at the end of April. Arrived to a warm welcome and a map of the local area given to us along with a quick guide to the campsite. Shown where to pitch our tent by friendly helpful staff.

Ground was in good condition and lots of room between pitches. Water taps very central to all areas. Fire pitches are available for charcoal fires during the day or wood fires after 7pm. A member of staff delivers wood from 6pm for 5 for a large bag which lasts for 1 - 2 nights depending on how much you use.

The surrounding woods were very pretty with the bluebells out. Smaller tents are able to pitch in the tents which would be great for some. There is plenty of area for the children to play and my children had lots of fun and were kept very occupied by riding their bikes through the woods and the adjoining fields.

The toilet and shower blocks were exceptionally clean and are certainly one of the best we have used. There is a male, female and mixed shower and toilet block.

The shop stocks a the necessities along with meat and fresh fruit and vegetables from local farms. Staff will freeze ice blocks for free. Tunbridge Wells, Crowborough, Groombridge etc all within easy reach. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will look to return. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alanersk 1 review from this member

 Great area for camping - woods and fields(which are great for kids).

Shop (In temporary marquee) was fairly well stocked and not too expensive which was a pleasant surprise.

Showers were generally clean but too few (recommend using family showers past the ladies as generally quieter) Peak time shower queue was long!

Temporary thunder boxes dotted around which were generally ok but over a bank holiday were full very early which was a problem. Tanker arrived on Monday morning which was too late really.

I think for the price per night (30 pn for 2 adults 2 kids) the facilities were basic. All in all great weekend but shame about the value for money. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hela 9 reviews from this member

 Just back from Forgewood and it's so good I'm hoping to go back shortly.

PROS:
Lovely selection of pitches either in the woods or on the field
Large area for the kids to play on
Clean shower/toilet/washing up facilities (made a change that even the campers kept it clean too!)
Can have either a charcoal fire before 7pm or wood after
Mixed/family shower/toilet block
Lovely cafe and well stocked shop with a great range of local meat, fruit and veg
Will freeze ice blocks for free
Great and cheap bushcraft activities for kids
Fantastic trout farm nearby and if you're lucky like we were he'll catch you some- great on the BBQ
Some great local walks such as that to the ice caves
The people who run it are very friendly and relaxed
Not far from Tunbridge Wells town centre

CONS:

The pressure to the water supply gets easily overloaded and it means either freezing cold showers/tap water or intermittent cold/tepid water or boiling hot/cold. They need to buy a pump per block
You can only have an uninterrupted warm shower or tap water when all showers and/or sinks are quiet
Cafe got overwhelmed by the amount of campers on one day (I think it was the last day for most so it got descended upon) and ran out of much of the menu
Some people allowed their dogs to wander off their leads and pee anywhere
People littering the woods 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campfairy 3 reviews from this member

 We spent the easter bank holiday weekend at Forgewood, good friday to easter monday, our first visit. The website said they were fully booked for the weekend a few days before hand, so we were expecting a busy site with not much space.

How wrong we were. We pitched in the woods and had the most space we have ever had on any campsite, in fact we had to 'call out' to greet our neighbours!

The woods looked amazing, the bluebells were in full bloom, a stunning sight.

Showers and loo's were busy at times, as with all sites you had to 'choose your moment' but they were very nice, always clean, and the lovely hand soap was a nice touch of luxury.

Having a campfire to cook over was great, I bought one of the campfire grills and we tried the venison burgers from the shop.

I think the price is good, what you are paying for here is the choice to camp in a fabulous ancient woodland and experience 'real camping' at its best.

It would have been rude to leave without trying the coffee and homemade cake in the barn, which was top class.

Our many thanks to John and Nick for a fantastic, laid back, relaxing weekend.

It really was priceless. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kt_camper 2 reviews from this member

 After a friendly welcome, we camped in the woods and would definitely recommend it - the pitches are spacious and a fair distance from the nearest pitch.

Wood is 5 quid which will cover 2 nights which I thought was fair.

The facilities are fine - as long as you pick your times - long waits for showers at the peak times.

There is an on site shop for essentials and a cute cafe/bar.

I would definitely recommend this site but if you don't have kids I would recommend camping in the woods rather than in the fields with the families. 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4185 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement