Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Applefields Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Leiston > Applefields Campsite Reviews

Applefields Campsite
The Orchard
Abbey Road
Leiston
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP16 4RE
Tel: 01728 833501
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20 Vans, Motorhomes & Tents
Open: 01/03 To 01/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 69 Reviews
                10/10 from 69 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this may include toilet and shower facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Boatman1 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at apple fields many times and always enjoyed our stay but this time we left early because at night teenage children were messing around in and out of the shower block and making a mess.

Also dogs were not kept on leads and left to run about untended. Maybe cct cameras should be put in place.

Maybe this is just a one off we will go back as we like the camp site and its location. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Snooksdog 1 review from this member

 Loved this site, easy to find from main road, no silly dirt tracks. Sue the owner was lovely and told us to pay at end of stay by leaving cash in an envelope. Add 50p for each shower.

Facilities on site were clean shower units with sink n toilet in the same room and a separate room with use of microwave, washing machines, washing up sinks indoors. Outdoor dog wash area. 5 minutes walk to village with pubs, fish n chip shops, museum, supermarket.

We drove to RSPB minsmere and spent all day never seen so many birds n lucky enough to spot an otter. Sizewell beach n cafe a short drive away, both worth a visit. Well spaced pitches and plenty of space. Will definitely go back with friends. We had electricity n water tap 30 secs away.

Beautiful wild flower hedges n different varieties of trees bordering fences etc. So relaxing. A large group of tents with children were all sited at the far end of the pitch n all seemed to be enjoying themselves with campfires also allowed.

We liked it that this had a personal, loved touch to the site it not just a money-making venture, where you can hear the people’ in the next tent snoring (which happened the following week at a site in Norfolk, which cost double the amount paid at this site)

A very relaxing weekend, the weather was fantastic which always makes a difference. Fact that you can arrive and leave when you’re ready is a real bonus. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ScoobySH300 1 review from this member

 Second visit this year, although the site was full it doesn’t quiet seem full, the big grass area in the centre of the site seems to give a feeling of space.

Four showers each with loo’s and an extra couple of separate loo’s, haven’t had to wait for a shower yet.

Easy cycle ride to Aldrburgh and Minsmere on not too busy roads once you leave the main Leiston road.

Plus, it’s only a short walk into town for food, take away’s or a pub.

Very friendly owners don’t live on site but are generally around a few times a day.

Showers and loo’s are cleaned twice a day, washing up area, grey water and cassette emptying area’s.

Honestly box system for site fee’s and showers, I hope people don’t take advantage and ruin the goodwill shown by the site owners.

If the weathers poor and anyone’s struggling for grip there’s even a tractor around to get you moving.

We’ve been coming here for a few years now and after our recent visit we hope to coming for many more. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richardandjo2010 6 reviews from this member

 This is a superb site, we have been going here several times a year, since 2014. I thought I had done a review here previously but it appears I haven't.

The site is very well kept and the owners work very hard to keep it that way. The toilet blocks are unisex and are individual rooms each with a large shower hand basin and toilet. The site is managed very much on a trust basis which we particularly like, if you don't see the owners during your stay you put your payment in the envelope provided with your details a very very rare thing these days. The pitches are large with no rules on which way round to pitch. We love it there due to the cleanliness and the way its managed.

There is loads to do in the area, with places to visit in a short drive like Snape Maltings, Southwold and Aldburgh to name a few. In the small town of Leiston there is a supermarket several take aways catering for all tastes there's a small cinema pubs and many other shops and a museum also.

All in all this site is a perfect place to be for a relaxing weekend away or for a longer stay for families to enjoy. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yessamed 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Lots of space. Not too big. Fantastic facilities: electric showers so always hot; indoor kitchen area with microwave, communal fridge and freezer, toaster, washing machine; dog wash area; indoor chilling/ play/ dining room for escaping any rain. Very reasonable prices.

Well located for Southwold/ Aldeburgh/ Snape Maltings. Family-run. No shop on site, but on edge of Leiston which has co-op etc. Clean and well maintained. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Climo 6 reviews from this member

 A delightful site, flat open field situated well off the road so quiet and peaceful. Shops in walking distance.

Toilets though a bit dated were very clean & well kept.

Owners extremely helpful. Very good value and camping at its best. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nellyspania 3 reviews from this member

 This is a proper little gem of a campsite!

Quiet, cheap, loads of space and well placed for the coast (few miles to Aldeburgh).

Facilities are ok too, no shop on site but only a few minutes walk into Leiston.

One of the best campsites we've been to; if you want just a quiet fuss-free site to stay at then I would recommend here. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LenMinter 1 review from this member

 Superb site, very peaceful and quiet, lovely, helpful owner. Nice showers and toilets, only 4 units on the field when we visited and so very quiet, the way we like it. Close to Aldeburgh and Southwold. Payment made when you leave the site. We will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Redterrrier 2 reviews from this member

 Just come back from this Great Site, Very relaxed just a pleasure to be on this site. Toilets and Showers 5 star for Cleanliness and good sized showers all very, very good. Owners were so good and helpful.

All in all one of the best sites I've been to, Thanks will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizziemini 3 reviews from this member

 It takes a lot to impress me, but Applefields certainly did that. The facilities were spotlessly clean, even over the bank holiday weekend, when it was properly busy! And never a wait for a shower or the loo.

It was value for money (cheap sounds naff, but it was cheap, when we went £15pn for a family of 4 with a marquee of a tent AND electric hook up).

It was convenient for the coast and central for both up to Aldeburgh and Southwold and down to Woodbridge.

The owners have left a bit of the site wild for the kids to make dens, mud ramps for their bikes and general kid fun!

The site is flat, very well drained and easily accessible for all types of accommodation, a truck sized unit was on site when we were there, it was huge!

And if you aren't keen on kids, the site it big enough to get away from them ;-)

We are not a family to return to a campsite more than once (too much to see in the UK for us!) but we are returning in 2018 (booking just sent!) 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Applefields Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Applefields Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Applefields Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leiston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4579 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020