Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Applefields Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Leiston > Applefields Campsite Reviews

Applefields Campsite
The Orchard
Abbey Road
Leiston
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP16 4RE
Tel: 01728 833501
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20 Vans, Motorhomes & Tents
Open: 01/03 To 01/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 69 Reviews
                10/10 from 69 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 61 to 69                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this may include toilet and shower facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 Applefields Camp Site is situated just ten minutes walk from the centre of the small Suffolk town of Leiston, yet on the right side of the railway track to enjoy all the peace and tranquillity of the surrounding countryside. It consists of a large dedicated field on a working farm that has taps and hook-ups for about a dozen caravans or tents. The proprietors are very friendly and very trusting ('When you're ready just pop the money in an envelope and leave it in the honesty box'). We stayed at the beginning of April when East Anglia was enjoying a week of fine weather that seemed to elude the rest of the country.

Located adjacent to the farm outbuildings are the washing-up room with fridge-freezer and tourist information leaflets, a male and female toilet, and the shower room. Although the facilities are far from ostentatious, they are clean, well-maintained and the shower is FREE to use (hey, we've stayed on sites that charge twice the 12 per night for a plot with hook-up that Applefields do and still be expected to pay for using the showers!).

The only criticism with the facilities is that the site can be very dark at night (which does at least make for great star-gazing when skies are clear) so a torch is essential because, although there is a security light by the toilets, it did not appear to be working when we stayed. In addition, one of the hook-up points is located slap-bang in the centre of the field when it might have been better located along its tree-lined northern edge where campers are more likely to want to pitch up in the sun trap this creates.

However, these are minor niggles. Applefields is a superb little site that, though new to the business, deserves to prosper and attract other campers eager to enjoy the wonders of the beautiful Suffolk coast, which it is centrally-located for exploring. For example, the beach at Sizewell (although pebbly and dominated by its eponymous nuclear power station) is just five minutes away by car, fifteen minutes by bike or just under an hour's walk through the wooded trails of the nearby Kenton Hills. From Sizewell, the Suffolk Coastal Path then forks north through the Minsmere bird sanctuary to Dunwich, and south to Thorpeness and Aldeburgh respectively. There is also a footpath from the site to the nearby ruins of Leiston Abbey.

The nearest family beaches are Thorpeness, Aldeburgh and Southwold - the latter boasting both sand to play in and a pier with amusements for a rainy day. The shopping centres at Woodbridge, Ipswich and Lowestoft can also be accessed by car and bus should an additional rainy day diversions be sought. Otherwise, Leiston itself has a selection of antique and curiosity shops, as well as a Co-op for stocking the larder. There is also a Tesco supermarket in nearby Saxmundham.

In summary, Applefields is a brilliant little no-frills site that is easy on the pocket and tailor-made for a restful stay, as well as boasting great days out that can be enjoyed on foot, by bike, in a car, or by public transport. We recommend it.

Finally, a useful point to consider if travelling to Applefields from the Midlands is that although the A1120 is the shorter, more scenic route from Stowmarket and cuts the corner off the journey (which may be why some satnavs specify it), the better, faster road for caravanners is to be had by remaining on the A14/A12 as they circuit around Ipswich. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lesleyandtracy 2 reviews from this member

 Having coincidentally been looking at this site I discovered a colleague of mine at the same time had been staying at this site, spooky! I was told the site was a flat field, with minimal facilities and clean, just what we were looking for, so we booked a pitch.

We found the site exactly as described and we were happy with that. Being a little familiar with the immediate area and in the middle of the attractions we were also familiar with and wished to visit the site was great.

The site is close to Leiston and its shops (within easy walking distance) but also surrounded by fields and the peace and quiet that comes with that. It has the personal touch of the proprietors visiting pitches over the course of our stay to make sure all was okay and was there anything we needed? Local produce from their allotment is also on site including free range eggs.

At the time of our visit there were about 9 electric hook-ups, one shower, two toilets and an under-cover washing up area, as well as ample area for water waste disposal and rubbish disposal including multiple recycling. There is planned expansion for these facilities, still leaving pitches with ample room to make their own fun on the site.

We are looking forward to returning to the site for a future holiday as the site and area have so much to offer. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ktommo 1 review from this member

 Just spent 4 nights at this great little site. Ideally located and very peaceful, 10 mins walk to local shops and restaurants/takeaways etc owners were very friendly and helpful. Facilities although basic were kept clean and tidy. Some fresh produce on offer with payment by way of honesty box. A very relaxing and laid back site. Dog friendly with no extra charge. A very reasonable 12 per night with electricity hook up (limited number). I recommend to all 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Merris999 1 review from this member

 Was a bit apprehensive due to some of the less favourable reviews. We had an electric hook up for small fridge and air bed pump.

We got there late due to sat nav power lead failure grrr, but site owner was very helpful.

The site is in it's second year and has limited facilities (at this time. Read to the end) of 1 shower, 1 male and 1 female toilet and a kitchen area with fridge, books and several leaflets about local things in the area. With standard waste and rubbish area.

The pitches are level, with a few small 'rabbit made pot holes' in the grass. There are two 3, socket hook up points with water stand point. These are situated approximately 2/3 away from the entrance and facility block, so not ideal for those with mobility issues (like we are)if you need hook ups.

I had forgotten the 'Suffoler' work day where majority of shops are closed before 6 so struggled to find some stuff as we took kids off for the day before sourcing stuff we forgot.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay may be back in October and definitely next year.

On our last night while chatting to the site owner, discussing next years stay, she informed us that the site just got planning permission that evening and will be closed in January to February for the new shower and toilet block. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wruthie 7 reviews from this member

 Back from spending a couple of nights at this beautiful, peaceful site in Suffolk. We messaged owner before as we were not c&c members but this was no problem.

On arrival we were able to just pull up and pitch tent wherever we wanted. We chose a back corner area near the fruit plants as we don't use any electric hook up.

The toilets and shower room were always kept clean and tidy. Facilities for using a fridge and freezer which was great in the hot weather. Also, a local map and information for guests.

The owner comes round to meet you in the evening, he was a fantastic chap and very helpful.

One evening we were due a major thunderstorm and the owner offered us the use of one of his barns if it got to bad. Gave our new tent a chance to prove it's durability.

We are Geocachers and used this sight to do some caching around Suffolk, perfect base to go to plenty of footpaths and many Church micros.

Would highly recommended this site, if you are in a tent and it says full, its best to inquire as they allow tents on without electric in some cases.

Great price for only 12 per night with or without electric. We look forward to going back again soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

 This was a large flat field surrounded by fruit bushes. Each pitch had its own ehu and water tap. The toilets, a ladies and gents behind one door both had a loo and small hand basin, behind another door a shower with plenty of room to change, both were very clean at all times but a small foot board and mop would have been nice in the shower. They were in the process of installing a wash up area and I believe laundry area. It was about a 30 minute walk into town which had paper shops, a great butchers, a good fruit and veg shop and a co-op that sold electrical goods and cloths, also a couple of pubs and cafes. I believe you could catch a bus to Southwold and other places. I never made it to the beach, cinema, museum or pool all in the area. I believe the site was once strawberry fields. There are walks in the area too. We will use again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tjbaywatch 1 review from this member

 Just spent 10 days at this fabulous site. When you arrive you just choose where you want to go on the huge site, surrounded by fruit trees and veg plots. The owners will come and find you. They have toilets a new shower and as we left they had almost finished the washing up area, all under cover. You can walk into Leiston town for all your shopping needs. Cinnamon Indian restaurant is very good. The surrounding towns and villages are all within a car ride away. Sutton woo Southwold Walberswick Woodbridge Aldborough Orford Ness to name but a few. You can walk to Leiston Abbey. A very peaceful site full of wildlife. Would highly recommend a stay here. But please keep it a secret, he he. A great base to explore the Suffolk Norfolk coast. Caravans 12 a night with hook up. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ricci 1 review from this member

 This is a peaceful site, set on a former fruit farm. Pitches are not regimental and you can chose your own.

Water point next to electric hook-up. Ladies and Gents toilets were clean and tidy, there are no showers on site.

Plenty of rural walks and quite lanes for bike rides close by, perfect for those with dog(s).

Owners very friendly and helpful and the town of Leiston has plenty of shops, pubs, Fish Shop etc.

Excellent value for money and highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Muzpen 1 review from this member

 Very nice peaceful secluded site. Plenty of space with non regimented pitches. Electric hook up and tap on pitch in large field. Easy access for motorhome and we could chose where we pitched.

Nice clean toilets. Made to feel very welcome with an information pack of places to visit etc.

On the outskirts of town with easy access to amenities within walking distance such as pubs, cafes, shops and even a small cinema and museum.

Highly recommended. 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 69     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Applefields Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Applefields Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Applefields Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leiston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5447 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020