Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Applefields Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Leiston > Applefields Campsite Reviews

Applefields Campsite
The Orchard
Abbey Road
Leiston
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP16 4RE
Tel: 01728 833501
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20 Vans, Motorhomes & Tents
Open: 01/03 To 01/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 69 Reviews
                10/10 from 69 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this may include toilet and shower facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maceymoo 1 review from this member

 Back from a fantastic weekend at Applefields, this site is a little gem. , The owner was very friendly and helpful, showers/toilets very clean. A Hugh field loads of space for games in the middle without disturbing fellow campers. Fresh eggs daily a bonus. A good base for Aldbrugh /Southwold/ Thorpeness. This is one site we will rave about and visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Marion55 10 reviews from this member

 Applefields is a very pleasant campsite, with friendly owners and great free range eggs to buy. The new facilities are great, and would be very convenient for a dad staying with his small daughters or mum staying with small sons. As you could all be together in one room. We had a super walk to Leiston Abbey very interesting, and the site is well placed for lots of Suffolk's attractions. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Happy camper42 1 review from this member

 We have just had a lovely weekend at Applefields and found it a very good site. The facilities are good, lovely hot water, heater in the shower, towel rail, hooks and a chair, plus mop for floor in shower. Washing machine, washing up sink, and electric kettle, ladies and gents toilets and information available. Only one shower so would not be good if site busy but I think extra are being built at the moment. Leiston is a very nice town which is easy to walk to and there a little 100 year old cinema as well as shops, pubs etc. Buses from town to Aldeburgh, Saxmundham, Woodbridge etc. So easy to get around the area. We will certainly return to this site 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Flaybo 1 review from this member

 Will use and re use this camp site is perfect for me and all that stay I can hand on my heart thoroughly recommend it. The owners are perfect hosts, and can't do enough for you it's a real friendly atmosphere with everything a short drive or walk away and its perfect for star gazers too with very little light pollution, and their up dating all the time with facilities. 10 out of 10 in my books Chris Flay from Bristol 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sjb247 1 review from this member

 Lovely site.

New to proper camping with my partner and 2 kids (6 and 17) in a large tent. Perfect site for us with electric hookup pitches for 12 a night (10 without elec). Plenty of space around edge of field for pitches (large flat field) with loads of space in the middle for cricket, frisbee etc.

Lovely countryside around site with wheat fields and trees. Leiston town centre just half a mile away with very good fish and chips, a couple of Chinese take-aways (also good), a few shops, cafes etc, plus a good, fairly large co-op supermarket which sells everything you need at reasonable prices, including a good wine selection.

Aldeburgh about 5 miles away, lovely place and a must-visit.

Southwold about 10 miles up the coast, great little seaside town with old-style pier, beaches, beach huts etc.

Sizewell beach about 2 miles from site - nice pebble beach with good walks and a nuclear power station as a dramatic backdrop! Great for kite flying.

We also had a day trip to Norwich, about an hour's drive away. Lvely small city with good shopping and market, medieval cathedral and castle, cafes, restaurants etc. Plenty to do.

Coutryside of Suffolk is lovely with gorgeous lanes and roads which are a pleasure to drive along, although at harvest time you may get stuck behind a large combine-harvester occasionally! All part of the fun.

We drove from the East End of London (Limehouse) to the site in about 2 hours (it was about 100 miles) - the A12 runs all the way from East London to within about 5 miles of the site.

Site has only two toilets, one for men, one for women (which is not really enough) but they are building more and these should be ready for late 2014/early 2015. One shower room. Kitchen has a communal fridge, communal freezer, washing machine (2 a load), large sink for washing up, plus a kettle and information leaflets/posters etc.

Site management very friendly. Locals in Leiston all pleasant and welcoming.

All in all highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 4Xchaos 2 reviews from this member

 Spent a week here in August 2014. Lots to do in the surrounding area - walking, cycling and canoeing included. A lovely simple site, flat and open. Two toilets and a shower currently but more being built. Small kitchen with sink, washing machine and fridge/freezer for campers. We had a lovely time here and will be returning. We had several days where we left the car and used our feet and bikes. Perfect! Easy walk to shops. Thank you for the 'free to a good home' vegetables. We all enjoyed them! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sananmalc 2 reviews from this member

 This site is a little gem, on a fruit farm. The field is flat and well drained, we had two torrential overnight thunderstorms but the field stayed completely clean and dry. Tap available for every 3 vans and electric hook up. One shower; one male and one female toilet, perfectly clean. They have planning permission to put in 4 more shower/toilets over winter 2014, and also one with disabled facilities. The town of Leiston had good shops and pubs and beach nearby was Sizewell. Do not let this put you off, the beach is great and wonderful paths to walk for miles, also great flora and fauna too. The coastal villages and towns around and about and also worth a visit are Dunwich; Thorpeness and Aldeburgh. Aldeburgh has the reputation of the best fish and chips in Suffolk, and they are! If you wonder what the name is of the shop, do not worry, as our near neighbour (who was local to Suffolk) told us, look for the one on the corner with the longest queue, which we did! Snape Maltings (inland) is another place worth visiting, free parking, it has lots of twee shops; craft and antique and cafe's and has the Benjamin Britain concert hall. Also boat trips on the river (which is tidal), so if you want to experience this, make sure you go when the tide is right! I would say travel wise if you are towing use the A14/A12 it may be slightly longer but it is quicker. The roads across country maybe shorter, but are narrow and some tight bends. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JenC1 1 review from this member

 Apple Fields is, for us, a gem of a find. It's spacious, clean and unfussy farm style accommodation with exactly what we need in the way of facilities - EHU and water nearby. For those without caravan conveniences there are basic but clean toilets and a shower, not to mention a washing machine. If we had a dog, there is lots of space to roam without inconveniencing others. The owner is particularly friendly and we were made to feel very welcome with an unhurried chat. Leiston, Thorpeness, Sizewell beach and Aldeburgh are just a cycle ride away. Minsmere is a short drive to the north and Snape too is very accessible. Best of all are the numerous walks in unspoiled heath and woodland, all close by. It's not for children who need man made facilities to keep themselves amused, but if you prefer space and peace in a rural environment then you will be hard put to find better. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hwd40 3 reviews from this member

 Applefields is a large, well cut, grass field (SLIGHTLY) sloping in places. The entrance end has a small holding and some sheds. The toilets and shower is located between two of them. To the left side of the field is newly planted fruit bushes, to the right side is a small fence. At the far end is a row of tall trees. The toilets, shower and pot washing facilities are well maintained, clean and of a good standard. At night the site is VERY dark, ideal for astronomers or just star watchers. There are no real obstacles on the field, except for other caravans, but torch could be handy. The site was very peaceful, quiet and relaxing. There were 5 vans, including ours, when we were there with as much space between them as anyone could want. In fact I honestly believe that there would be more than enough space with 3 times as many on site. For facilities, water and electricity supply I do not think this site can be beaten anywhere on nightly fee. The owners are friendly and helpful and I would highly recommend this site to my friends. Note if approaching from the Lowestoft direction use the B1122. The site is on the near edge of Leiston and well signed. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chilli-p 12 reviews from this member

 What a little gem. I'd confirm the details given by other recent reviewers, except there is now an 'honesty' charge of 50p per (electric) shower, and there's no sink in the shower room, so you have to occupy the toilet if you want a wet shave (I didn't look but I don't remember an electric shaver point). Don't expect any frills, but the facilities which are there, are kept nice and clean. There were only two other units on site while we were there, but there was no shortage of hot water for sinks. The site's in a great position to visit the attractions in the area. A good value basic site. And owners are really nice. We will definitely go back. 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Applefields Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Applefields Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Applefields Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leiston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5392 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020