Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Applefields Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Leiston > Applefields Campsite Reviews

Applefields Campsite
The Orchard
Abbey Road
Leiston
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP16 4RE
Tel: 01728 833501
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20 Vans, Motorhomes & Tents
Open: 01/03 To 01/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 69 Reviews
                10/10 from 69 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this may include toilet and shower facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SteveAI 2 reviews from this member

 We had a wonderful stay at Applefields. The owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. The site is very spacious and has excellent, clean facilities. There is a utility room for washing up with fridge, freezer, kettle and microwave and a lounge area with lots of books and a comfy sofa.

There are lovely walks to the beach and don't miss out on the fish and chips from Sea Hawkes in the town. The Long Shop Museum is worth a visit. We will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Poppyandskipper 11 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week at this lovely laid back site. Didn't actually meet the owner but they must be caravanners as absolutely everything you could possibly need facility wise was provided. We didn't have good weather but managed to visit many of the amazing number of attractions nearby. Thorpness, Sizewell, Sutton Hoo, Aldeburgh, Southwold, Steam museum in Leiston, Leiston Abbey. Not to mention several lovely meals at The Parrot and Punchbowl nearby. Altogether a great stay. Will be back and hope to bring the sun with us next time! 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Michaelpuryend 2 reviews from this member

 We liked the location, near town and beaches. Recommend the Seahawk fish and chip shop. Good value site, roomy well kept toilet / shower block. Very positive owner who is working hard to please us campers. Good circular walk from site to Sizewell beach and back via Sandlings walk, about 7 miles. The Eels Foot Inn is well worth a visit and Adnams beers are nice. Visit the remains of Leiston Abbey. We will be back for another visit. Good for well behaved dog owners and space for children to play. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 4Xchaos 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely level site. Even when full there's plenty of room. Great updated facilities. Dog walks nearby. Shops easy to walk/cycle to. Eel's Foot pub highly recommended for a visit!

We cycled extensively during our stay and enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing few days.

We don't often return to the same site but this is worth it. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BarnsleyBelle 12 reviews from this member

 This is a charming site set in lovely farmland with flat well drained pitches and easy access to the delights that this part of Suffolk has to offer. The clean and plentiful facilities will provide you with everything you need (and more) for your stay at Applefields. There's a kitchenette with indoor washing up facilities(3 sinks), fridge, freezer, microwave, kettle and washing machine and additional power points to charge your phones and 3 family sized unisex shower rooms with toilet and sink and 1 smaller unisex shower and separate ladies and gents single toilets. The site was full when we visited but we never had to queue for facilities and I have to say even when the site is 'full' itís not over crowded we had so much space around us.

The site is within a 5 minute walk to the centre of the small town of Leiston which has everything you'll need for your stay including regular buses, large Co-operative supermarket, a selection of restaurants (Indian and Chinese), takeaways and pubs - try the Perfect Grill. The beach at Sizewell is a short drive away and ok the power station is there but don't let this put you off it really didnít impact upon our stay and if you walk down the beach in the other direction youíll find a nice little pub/hotel tucked away on the dunes with a screened beer garden looking out to sea.

Other reviewers have mentioned the Eels Foot Inn at Eastbridge which is a short drive away and all Iíll add is donít leave it too late in your stay to discover this fantastic pub with its fabulous beer garden complete with chicken and boules and well kept ales/cider and totally scrumptions and reasonably priced food catering for food allergies/intolerances.

We also visited Aldebrough, Thorpeness, Minsmere, Southwold, Dunwich and Orford all of which were great days out.

We rarely return to the same site because we like to explore different areas but we were so taken with the warmth and friendliness and sheer value for money that Applefields offered to us that we would most definitely return if we come back to this area and considering what a fantastic week we had this is highly likely. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 0ldskool 1 review from this member

 This site was recommended to me and certainly lived up to expectations. The friendly owner ensured that we were ok after a torrential rainstorm and couldn't have been more helpful with directions to local shops and attractions. The facilities were spotlessly clean, the showers hot, the pitches level (rare in a tent), and we were entertained by the plentiful wildlife around the campsite. It was easy to find and not far from the beach for lovely long walks. We spent almost a week at Applefields enjoying Orford, Southwold, Minsmere, Snape Maltings, Leiston Abbey and various other unexpectedly wonderful places nearby. We've already decided that we'll be back to this lovely site in a beautiful part of Suffolk. The rhubarb and eggs were a bonus! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heluart 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet and relaxing site, surrounded by countryside. The new toilet/shower rooms were excellent, very clean and spacious. Being able to buy new laid eggs was an added bonus. Ideal for both dog walkers and families. Not far from the town of Leiston or the beach at Sizewell 'B'. Would not hesitate to recommend it and looking forward to going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stevenlesley 4 reviews from this member

 An excellent laid back site with great facilities. We stayed for several nights and found it very relaxing, very quiet, virtually no road noise, very dark at night although there are automatic lights around the toilet/shower block (need to take a torch!). The camping field is quite large and there are hookup points and water pipes around the edge. A short walk into Leiston where good pubs and restaurants can be found. Showers are 50p a go but work on an honesty box system so you can leave the money when you depart which is what we did. Some fresh produce and eggs were available to buy when we were there, as the site appears to be part of a farm/smallholding.

Quite a few rabbits around to keep you amused! Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ginger@69 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights at the end of a weeks break in Suffolk. The site was spacious, very gently sloping and the ground even. Low level road noise was sometimes be heard but this was not obtrusive. The camping field is inside a working fruit and veg farm. Down one side of the field the pitches each have taps as well as electric which is a bonus and something you would normally pay more for. The facilities were clean and well maintained. Showers were 50p and the washing machine £2. There are fruit/veg/eggs for sale depending on the season. The owner was friendly. The small town of Leiston is 10 minutes walk away and has a Co-op, film theatre a couple of cafes and pubs. The excellent Eels Foot Inn is about 2 miles away but well worth a trip. There are great foot paths around the area for the energetic and RSPB Minsmere is not too far away. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maree G 1 review from this member

 This camp site is very easy to get to, best toilet/shower block we have ever used, clean site and friendly owners. Washing up facilities are inside, with a kettle and microwave for free, plug sockets for anyone wanting to use their straighteners! £2 for washing machine, 50p for showers. Eggs and various veges available to buy. We had lunch at The Eels Foot Inn in Leiston, lovely pub, toys for kids, veggie food available and the springwatch crew eat there, bonus. My husband had their special Eels Foot burger and it was gorgeous.

Site was quick draining, quiet and only a few minutes from Leiston. Nice long field, with apple trees to one side (bee hives as well), and farmers fields on other side. Plenty of electric pitches and several water taps available.

In Leiston itself, there is a big Co-op selling everything from food, newspapers, nappies, kids toys and even furniture! Also a few more smaller corner shops, butchers, Deli, antiques shops, clothes shops and a few pubs.

Site gets 10 out of 10 and we will be back with family next year.

Many thanks 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Applefields Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Applefields Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Applefields Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leiston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5716 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020