Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning
Polruan By Fowey
Fowey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL23 1QH
Tel: 01726 870263
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MarkKnowles 2 reviews from this member

My daughter and I stayed at Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning Site for 7 nights and enjoyed our stay so much.

It is a family run site by people who care about you having a great stay. They are constantly keeping the site and facilities clean and tidy, but not so much that you feel they are always around you.

They also don't try and squeeze in as many people as possible like some other sites.

They are able to have 41 pitches but choose to accommodate 26 so that you have space and some privacy during your stay.

The views are great from the campsite and you are only 5 minutes walk to Polruan (10 minutes back, its a steep hill). Polruan is a very good location to get to Fowey and beyond, they have a ferry every 15 minutes.

The camp shop has all that you could possibly need and more.

Its not often that we say this, but we are definitely going back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 4shaws 3 reviews from this member

If you want peace and tranquillity on a quiet, friendly, spotless site ~ this is the one!

Fantastic in every respect, has just knocked our previous favourite site off it's top spot - say no more.

Yes the lanes are rather narrow, but do-able when towing; yes the walk to the village is steep, hard work back up, but do-able and all well worth the effort for this stunning location. The ferry services are excellent (we used both) and run every 15 minutes until 11pm. Fowey is lovely - if you walk to the left when you get off the ferry you will find the most beautiful small beach ever! Dawn French lives around here and I can see why.

We will definitely be returning to this little gem, a credit to its owners and management team, other sites should take note, the only 5* site we have been to that is well worthy - in my eyes!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happy to tow 1 review from this member

Wow what a find, great site with lovely clean facilities not to mention the brilliant hot showers. We had great weather and walked miles every day. Owners were so helpful when our little dog got sick they advised us on a local vet who was great. The site is in a fantastic location for walking. Great views from the site. A very well stocked shop that is open long hours so you can always treat yourself to ice cream or chocolate :-).

This is a must for anyone looking for a base to go walking and explore the lovely costal walks.

We tried to book another 10 days in October but sadly they close October 1st.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vanalan 8 reviews from this member

All the good things said about this site are true and I can recommend it highly. Even with a day's low cloud Polruan has great atmosphere and when it lifts it's a lovely place to be. The local bus is brilliant for getting to Polperro and Looe and the driver is my hero. Best to walk down to Polruan if you want to be sure of getting it at busy periods but please let the local ladies get on first for their ride up the hill as they use it all year round to make sure the service isn't withdrawn!. It's well worth having breakfast in Crumpets cafe by the bus stop, excellent food and really lovely ladies doing the cooking and serving. In fact it's good for all meals and great value. There's lots to do in the area if you're active and with Fowey (Foy) just a short ferry trip across the Estuary there is dining and shopping and walking and wonderful views to suit all. You won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Iantwice 1 review from this member

This is a bit boring but I have to repeat what recent reviews have said. It is clean, tidy, well kept and in a good position with a really helpful father & son (?) team in the office and on the site, helping out when a window jammed down on my camper van. The facilities look new and are shiney bright - so unlike many sites we could all name. And a first for me, at the chemical empting point they actually had a liquid hand sanitiser for when you had done what you had too.

Will I be back? You can put money on it.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Annhellen 2 reviews from this member

Yet another great holiday enjoyed at Polruan Holidays. The owners Kevin and Trudie were excellent hosts once again and nothing is too much trouble for them, Kevin even lent us an electric extension this year as we had pitched our tent just a little further away from the plug-in than we would normally be happy with. The tent pitches are large and not too close to your neighbours pitch and this is exactly what we always look for when booking a campsite.

Kevin & Trudie really care about their campers so this is why they have rules and regulations in place but they are all good R & R's and we wouldn't want them to change ANY of them.

The showers, toilets, shop and All their other facilities are faultless. The campsite is exceptionally clean and well cared for.

The downhill walk To Polruan takes about 15 mins but the return uphill can take about 25mins but it's worth it to be returning to such a great campsite that is peaceful and relaxing.

The ferry across to Fowey is a quick and enjoyable ride and there is plenty to look at and do when you Get over there - the pubs/food are good (as in Polruan where there are 2 pubs) shops, ferry rides to other places And plenty of walks to go on. There are also walks from the Polruan's campsite and the Hall Walk is especially good.

My husband John and I can thoroughly recommend this wonderful campsite and it's owners and we have always enjoyed our holidays here - so much so we will be booking again for 2016.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jewell26 4 reviews from this member

Another lovely, peaceful weekend at Polruan. Made to feel very welcome as always. Saw a dolphin in the river and a cuckoo on the coastpath. Fowey was buzzing with visitors on Saturday. Lots of lovely shops to browse in and buy from. Made use of both ferries which provide an excellent and frequent service. The campsite was looking very smart and tidy with lots of flowers and bird feeders. The facilities are very clean and lots of hot water in the showers. Easy access to plenty of walking for the dog.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sueiow 3 reviews from this member

Probably the most immaculate site I have ever visited, it is spotless a real credit to the owners.

Free hot showers, washing up facilities, a free library and information room, a decent shop, friendly owners and although no dog walk on site a quick trip over the road and your into fields where they can be let off lead.

Polruan is charming but very very steep you will know about it when you walk back to the site unless you are very fit.

The local bus will pick you up outside the site to take you to Polperro or Looe very reasonable fares too and the bus driver is a great guy.

The only downside is that the back of the campsite backs on to the only road in and out of Polruan so can be a little noisy first thing in the morning and late at night, but I think that's because we were in a trailer tent and I'm a light sleeper not anyone's fault just something to bear in mind when under canvas.

Some people have said there are lots of rules yes there are but it ensures decent behaviour and respect and a nice atmosphere.

We would stay again just away from the back hedge lol

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Diabolo 10 reviews from this member

I can only echo the comments of the previous reviewers. This site is fantastic and other campsite owners should take note. There are NO shabby breezeblock loos. NO dirty sinks and 20p payment showers. NO rude unfriendly owners. NO yobbos shouting and yelling.

Pitches are spacious and some are a little sloping but not unreasonably so.

Polruan and Fowey are delightful little ports but very much at the end of the major roads, it takes a long time to get anywhere and the roads are very narrow indeed. The ferry from Bodinnick to Fpwey is fast and efficient and cuts off a long drive. I very much enjoyed using the passenger ferry between Polruan and Fowey and we also took a boat trip to Mevagissey from Fowey.

The hills make this an unsuitable location for the infirm or those with small children. However the views make up for the aching legs!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adrian Sheridan 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights at Polruan and wished we'd stayed for more. Not a part of Cornwall I'd visited before and it's really great. I stayed with my partner and we found this a well spaced out site. Excellent value and really good facilities. Pitches are well spaced out and the site has a really friendly feel. The recycling is clearly marked out and shows the owners commitment to making a site as 'green' as possible. A slightly sloping pitch (the site is at the cliff top) was not a problem. Tent easily put up and secured for a mighty storm, shelter from the nearby hedge worked well.

A ten minute walk to Polruan, we went to the Lugger Inn by the quayside, great beer and really fresh seafood. I had 'whale' and chips one night and as it was so good we went back for the mussels. The 20 minute walk back up the hill is quite severe and this maybe wouldn't be a site for children as there are limited play areas and that walk back would cause a few moans.

If you are using this site as a base to get around Cornwall it is at the end of the road and our activities were a bit thwarted due to the roads (single track) back to civilisation. That considered it takes 30 minutes to get to the nearest town unless you're using the car ferry at Fowey. That's my lack of planning as the Coastal path and Polruan/Fowey are really stunning and this is a fantastic place to mess around on boats and have a great hike followed by some great food.

Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2885 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1016