Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning
Polruan By Fowey
Fowey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL23 1QH
Tel: 01726 870263
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 114 Reviews
                9/10 from 114 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 43 to 48                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Doogle47 2 reviews from this member

One of the best if not the best site I have stayed on, everywhere is absolutely immaculate, lovely friendly people beautiful setting. All this cost me travelling on my own just 11-00 per night a bit different from my previous review were I was charged 10-00 a night for no facilities whatsoever [I declined to stay there]. Lovely village at foot of the hill, loved the lugger pub particularly, the only drawback is the return to campsite up the hill, after a nice meal and a few pints its an absolute killer, took the ferry to fowey another smashing place. Will definitely return next year and use the ferries from fowey for car free days out. Would highly recommend this site to all tenters caravanners and motorhomers.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ashandalex 7 reviews from this member

Absolutely lovely site, fantastic amenities, Extremely clean and well kept. The owners are out and about all the time, weeding the plants and keeping the grass cut etc. The pitches are all flat however some are on a very gentle slope. The site facilities are of a high standard with 3 showers in both the men's and the ladies washrooms, we never had to queue once. Hot water at all times. A fridge is supplied for campers to use which has plenty of room for everyone. A large freezer is also available for campers to use, freezer blocks could be loaned for no extra charge, so we just swapped ours each day. We also stored some items of food in the freezer. There is a Washing Machine and Dryer available(extra cost). Under cover washing up area. Information room with local places of interest and maps. Well stocked shop, everything you could want on a campsite and more.

Yes there is a quiet policy however this is about common sense, being respectful and courteous to other campers, some of whom have small families, we were sat outside our tent talking and having a drink at night as were other campers however we weren't annoying anyone else. Children were not running wild over the site at night and Dog owners were respectful of others, no parties were taking place but everyone had a good time. This is a family friendly site and is not for rowdier groups or families who don't know how to behave around others.

To add, We had a horrendous journey in as we encountered a terrible accident on the M6, we telephoned the owners and they stated they would be available until 10pm to help us pitch if necessary, asking that we keep them updated, unfortunately we wouldn't have been able to get there before 11 and so decided to stop on route and arrive the following morning. We telephoned the site to advise and arrived a day later. No problem and no charge which we were astounded by as at other sites we have been charged if we haven't been able to make it for any reason.

A little warning, the lanes around the site are very very narrow. When we weren't walking (the Hall walk is lovely although very shaded and you need midgie spray, the walk to polperro along the coastal path is quite difficult, a lot of up hill, as is the walk back to the campsite from Polruan, I believe the local bus will bring you back up the hill if you time it right) We used the local bus, it picks up and drops off right outside the campsite and we visited Looe and Polperro using this, the cost is even less than paying for parking and it gave us an opportunity to enjoy the area without using our car. The bus driver gave us a tip which is very useful - Do not follow your sat nav when travelling about the lanes, follow the road signs as they will take you along the slightly wider roads which have better passing places. The sat nav will take you along the very tight narrow lanes which are a nightmare to pass if you meet something coming the other way.

To finish we would like to thank the owners for a wonderful week on a lovely campsite.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Annhellen 2 reviews from this member

We have just realised that we didn't leave a review on our return from our June 2013 holiday but as the campsite in lovely Polruan was such a good site to stay at we still wanted to let campers know how 'great' it was. The owners were extremely welcoming, kind and helpful and the pitch we were on was large, flat and well sheltered, nothing was to fault and we will definitely be returning at some point in time. The showers and toilet block were kept very clean daily and the shop was very well stocked. The site was well laid out and the owners ensured that everyone was happy as they toured the site to make sure that all was well and no-one was causing any unnecessary loud noises or disruption. It is a quiet, peaceful and relaxing campsite that you will enjoy and this was very much appreciated by all. The walk down to the harbour didn't take long at all and was enjoyable but the return walk may be a little steep for some older or disabled people. The little ferry to Fowey was operated regularly and took about 8mins, it added another dimension to our holiday and we loved it. There are 2 pubs at Polruan harbour and both served good food and were welcoming and Fowey itself has a number of quaint shops, good pubs and eateries and we had an enjoyable time there. We can go on but won't - all we can say is that this Campsite is very good and there are plenty of places to visit from this area. Don't hesitate to visit!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Laineyi 1 review from this member

This is our 2nd visit to this site the 1st time being 3 years ago. We can't praise it enough. The whole site is spotless;the showers, toilets, laundry area, washing-up area. There are 3 ladies showers, 2 men's, these are free of charge on 7 minute timers, which is perfect time. There is also a hairdryer in the ladies, small charge of 20p. The small camp shop sells essentials. The owners are very friendly. We camped on the bottom field, perfect for overlooking the sea. There are lots of fantastic walks close by. We walked the coast path from the site to Polperro, took 3 hours but breathtaking views, then caught the bus back, you can request it to stop at the site gate. We also did the hill walk to Boddinick, had a meal at the Ferry Inn then crossed to Fowey by ferry. Polruan is a lovely village, about 5 minutes walk from the site down a steep hill, has 2 pubs that both serve very good food, a cafe, gift shop & a general store. The walk back is very steep, takes about 10-15 mins. There is also a ferry from Polruan to Fowey 1. 70, takes about 5 mins but lovely views of the estuary. Well worth visiting Fowey. We will certainly visit the site again.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonford 19 reviews from this member

Very nice site. Nicely laid out with good pitches. Some seemed a little uneven but I'm sure levellers would sort that out. Lovely views over the sea.

Nice location to walk to Fowey (and v nice town/village). You have to get the boat across though, which means walking to the harbour. Down a steep hill. (deff worth a trip to Fowey for an hour or 2. But just remember to have to walk the steep hill back up!) Takes about 15mins to get back to the site form the harbour. (also, the 3 minute boat trip to Fowey is quite expensive for what it is, but I suppose they have to make a living!)

Shower block was good - new condition, although with only 2 male & 2 female showers, it may get busy when fully booked.

Bit of a small lane to get to the site (approx 3miles long). Lots of passing places, but bit of a pain if you meet another large vehicle. DONT follow the local route to Polperro if you are in a motorhome / caravan. Its best to follow the main road out and come back in on yourself along the main road to Polperro - the small lanes are a nightmare. Even if you don't meet anyone on the way!

Nice separate playing area for kids.

Now we have visited Fowey, we wprob wont stay here again (purely as we like to visit new places), but if you haven't been to the area, this site is a nice choice. Dog friendly too, which is always a bonus!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DaveAndrea 7 reviews from this member

This was our second visit of the year to this fantastic site, but this time it was unplanned! We had spent a couple of disastrous nights at a campsite near Stratford upon Avon and was about to abandon our holiday when we decided to do a detour to re-visit here as we knew we would be guaranteed a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. This added an extra 400+ miles to our total planned journey and therefore speaks volumes for this wonderful campsite.

The holiday ended up being a truly memorable one (again) and we are looking forward to our return visit next year.

Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 43 to 48      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth 109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2360 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977