Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning
Polruan By Fowey
Fowey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL23 1QH
Tel: 01726 870263
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Seana 1 review from this member

A fantastic small site kept to an extremely high standard not just the grounds but the toilet blocks as well were kept very clean.

Kevin and Trudy couldn't do enough for us to make our holiday go as smoothly as possible as we encounterd a few days of horrendous weather.

The hard work they put in pays off to make this site great.

We had young children who thoroughly enjoyed themselves even if the walk up from Polruan village was quite steep but the views from our tent more than made up for it.

All in all a great site, very clean toilets, well stocked shop, great surroundings and friendly owners who go the extra mile to make sure your visit is enjoyable!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MaryLox 8 reviews from this member

This is a quiet site on the very edge of Polruan. It is not too large and has a field for statics and caravans and two fields for tents and camper vans. It is very well tended and tidy and the friendly owners were always to be found weeding or tidying parts of the site. It has a good shop, a room with telephone and internet access, a launderette and separate washing room and very good clean spacious toilets and showers, which have the great advantage of being free.

You can get your mobile phone or laptop charged at the shop for free and they supply freezer blocks and a freezer to freeze your own. It really has all the facilities you could wish for in a camp site and it is looked after very well. It is situated on a no through road which ends in Polruan, the access roads are very narrow and windy, but the site is very well signposted - fortunately.

It is a very steep walk down to Polruan from where the foot ferry goes to Fowey and there are a couple of pubs and shops there or a drive of a few miles to Bodinnick from where the car ferry crosses the Fowey estuary.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay there, but I have a couple of reservations, Firstly, bearing in mind it is situated on a dead end road it is incredibly busy, especially first thing in the morning so you are woken very early. Secondly the site is rather wallpapered with instructional notices and rules.

Now I am sure that most of this is the fault of the site users, some people are clearly too inconsiderate to know how to behave in public, but I just found some of the rules a bit O. T. T. For instance, they have a silence policy after 10. 00 p. M. - great, but they consider noise as someone talking after that time and the sign states, with some glee, that every year they evict several campers who ignore this rule. So if you like to sit outside your tent at night and have a natter this site is not for you.

Also they say you MUST check in before pitching your tent, but the reception is closed from 11 until 4 so quite what you are supposed to do if you arrive then I do not know. Finally, they have a key pad number code for the toilets. Why? As the site is right on the very edge of town I cannot really imagine stray visitors wandering in to use the facilities. I encountered a new arrival swearing and cursing at about 11. 00 p, m, as he had forgotten the number and was desperate to use the toilet.

Do not let this put you off! If you can abide by all the rules you will have a great time here, it is a very good site in a very nice area.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Annetax 5 reviews from this member

Spent 2 weeks here. Site is immaculate and well maintained. Showers and loos are kept very clean although with only 3 showers and 3 loos per block, I can imagine it gets crowded peak season!

Overnight 'quiet' rule is well enforced so a good nights sleep is possible.

Small play area/field for children.

Polruan is quiet and on a steep hill but the foot ferry to Fowey 1.60 each way takes you to an excellent choice of restaurants and shops.

Road access is quite challenging so not for the faint hearted. But lovely site - would return.

Wonderful sea views of the coastline.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DaveAndrea 7 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this brilliant site and it still remains our overall favourite that we have visited so far. Kevin and Trudy continue to be as friendly and helpful as you could possibly wish for.

The site continues to offer everything a camper requires and more, it is spotlessly clean and in our opinion cannot be beaten. Met some lovely people on the site, and hopefully we will see them again.

We will definitely be back for a third visit and hopefully this time will surprise Kevin with some fish I have promised to catch for him for the last two years!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monty50 4 reviews from this member

I would just like to thank Kevin & Trudy for making our holiday a very pleasant and relaxing stay at their fantastic Camp Site.

The toilets and showers are immaculate with plenty of free hot water. The Park is in an idyllic location, just a ten minute walk into Poluran.

The shop has all the basics at cheap prices. The are two pubs in Polruan and can recommend the food at The Lugger. We ate there three times massive portions at very reasonable prices.

Plenty of walks from the site and once crossing over on the passenger ferry to Fowey, more walks.

All in all a brilliant Camp Site and the rules which are set make it all the better for your relaxation. Ie no noise after 10pm and 8am.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs badcrumble 7 reviews from this member

What a brilliant site. Kevin and Trudy are a lovely friendly couple who work hard to keep the site tidy and the facilities spotless. There is a laundry room with a hot drinks machine, fridge and microwave for the use of campers and you can put your freezer packs in the dedicated freezer in the shop free of charge.

Kevin loaned us an extra long EHU cable without charge or deposit. Prices in the shop are reasonable and the basics are available, supplemented by the veg man on Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday mornings who also sells scones and croissants.

There's a small but well stocked grocers halfway down the hill for meat, wine, fresh bread etc, otherwise it's quite a way to the nearest supermarket. Didn't try the Lugger but had a very nice meal in the Russell, good portions and not too pricey.

We were in the upper camping field which is a little more sheltered than the lower field, both of which have gorgeous sea views. Considering the amount of rain we had, the ground drained extremely well apart from the last day when some cars needed a little push up from the lower field in the morning, but much better than we expected given the continual downpours we experienced.

Polruan is down a steepish hill but it's not too bad coming back, just take it easy. Foot ferry to Fowey runs every 10 minutes or so, or drive to Bodinnick (4 miles, single track roads with passing places) for the little car ferry.

Handy for the Eden Project(well worth the money, we bought our tickets online and you can validate them to get free entry for the next 12 months), Heligan/Polperro and Looe.

Yes, there are a lot of signs on the site, but the only ones to raise an eyebrow about were over the sinks in the ladies which mean none of the mirrors in the ladies are actually above a sink, so you have to do a little side step while washing, and that's the only fault I can find!

Yes, extreme quiet is expected at night, which means you get the best night's sleep ever. We didn't find the owners intrusive or overbearing with rules, they pretty much leave you to get on with it but they're around if you need them and are very helpful when you do. We'll definitely be back to this lovely little site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tavyoaps 1 review from this member

Beautifully kept small site with good hardstanding for small motorhomes. Kevin and Trudy -the site owners work extremely hard, whatever the weather.

The toilets and showers are always spotless. We are looking forward to our third visit in the autumn.

Polruan itself is a delightful place with good pubs etc and walkable from site ( 10mins down, 20 mins up !)

A foot passenger ferry is available from Polruan over to the larger Fowey.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Levoh 16 reviews from this member

What a super time we had again at this site. This site must be one of the cleanest, well equipped and well run sites in the country let alone the county ! The owners, Kevin and Trudy couldn't do more to make our stay enjoyable if they tried.

The location is fantastic and after a couple of days the hill back up from Polruan is no problem. Do yourself a big favour and stay on this site at least once. I guarantee that you will come back again.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunbeam03 24 reviews from this member

The entrance route is not for the faint hearted with a caravan as it is accessed by narrow roads which you have to take the 'we are bigger than you' approach with cars - if you meet another caravan there would be issues!

The site itself is very well kept however too regimented for our liking and perhaps too many signs telling you what you can't do. The pitches are all hardstanding but a little cramped - for tents it was more spacious (perhaps touring caravans where an after thought)

The toilets/showers are very clean however the showers were on a timer which is a little annoying as the buttons are outside the cubicle also a key code was needed to access the toilets/showers which may be a little excessive.

The staff are friendly and the shop is well stocked, you also get a delivery van selling local produce coming a couple of times a week.

Very nice location with good coastal walks nearby the campsite you can get a foot ferry to Fowey which is a walk down the hill - the return journey is VERY steep and perhaps not suitable for all although there is a car ferry nearby also two nice pubs in the local village both serving good food and a local general store nearby but again down the hill.

Overall a nice site perhaps a little isolated but on a bus route

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DickyMint87 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at Polruan Holiday Park last June and have to say how much we enjoyed staying here, the only downside was the weather (no-one can do anything about that) which was a shame as they are so many places to visit and explore!

The family who run it were extremely helpful, kind and very polite, facilities very good and exceptional clean toilets and showers, and very clean grounds

If there is one downside it has to be the very narrow roads leading to the site! we called it the Pixie Highway! but it would not put us off returning

Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3215 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019