Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Fowey > Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning Reviews

Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning
Polruan By Fowey
Fowey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL23 1QH
Tel: 01726 870263
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04/2021 to 01/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 122 Reviews
                9/10 from 122 Reviews

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  122 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Desk1958 3 reviews from this member

 Once again a lovely site with great views, all the facilities were clean and modern as usual and the shop well stocked.

There are new owners running the site and they should be congratulated. Ray did his upmost to make us feel welcome and make our visit comfortable and he did everything possible to make our stay a pleasant one. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Angela C W 2 reviews from this member

 Possibly one of the best sites we have stayed on, very clean and tidy. Owners very welcoming.

Bus stop right outside runs from the quay through to Polperro and Looe.

Ferry to Fowey at the quay and access to the South West coastal path.

Highly recommended 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Amirq11 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite - great views, very clean and well maintained, very hospitable helpful and supportive.

Grass pitches and plenty of space.

Definitely recommend 👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 4fell3 1 review from this member

 Loved this site. If you like a peaceful site with beautiful sea views this is the best place in Cornwall to be.

The South West coastal path is on your doorstep as well as may other walks nearby.

A perfect place to unwind as a couple. My dog loved it too. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Cwreghitt 1 review from this member

 Positives: Beautiful views. Peaceful location. Friendly owners. Well stocked shop on-site. Great facilities - immaculate toilets and showers. Fridge & freezer. Library.

Easy access to coast path but steep hills up from coast/beach.

Negatives - takes ages to travel anywhere as quite a remote campsite. Not many local amenities. Not much for kids to do.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LilacGoblins 1 review from this member

 It is the 4th time we have visited this site and cannot fault it. It is spotless, and Kevin,

Trudy and Barry cannot ne more helpful. Lovely spot on the coastal path. Bus available to Looe and Polperro.

Lovely walk, but steep! to Polruan harbour. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Trevor caravan 10 reviews from this member

 Site has the peace and quiet I like. However site wasn't full before children holidays. Tourer caravans are in a sort of goldfish bowl arrangement surrounded by statics which were mainly unoccupied.

Lots of signs with rules and regs of what not to do but doesn't phase me as I like a strictly run site which is for everyone's comfort. Regular foot ferry to fowey and the hill is worse on the knees going down, just pace yourself going up.

There was only one huge critical which was the access to the site with a tourer, narrow lanes. You have to rely on goodwill of cars to reverse.

Definitely not for the faint hearted and has put me off returning which is a shame. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chelan037 1 review from this member

 Our pitch had a sea view. The campsite is beautiful and very well run. The toilet and shower areas are spotless.

There are many thoughtful touches - a bottle opener by the washing up area and a rotary line to dry your towels. The owners are very friendly as were all the campers.

I would highly recommend this site and will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bazzman 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful gem of a site! Not crowded, the facilities are spotless, the shop is very reasonably priced (not much different to the supermarket) and open long hours and the owners very accommodating. The fellow campers are friendly and chat, even had a few pints with some in the town before heading back to the campsite.

Talking of which, that hill is VERY VERY steep (nothing to do with the gorgeous Tribute Ale). Luckily the bus turned up. Top tip - check the bus timetables - it's only 1 to save that hill climb, bargain at double the price.

The only comment I would make is please place some basins in the shower block, rather than having to go back to the toilet block to shave or brush teeth. Very minor niggle though and everything else far outweighs it.

I was on a motorbike, which puts a different perspective on those last few miles into the site. The roads are very narrow and twisty with no chance of 'offsiding' as there's a slippery grass ridge in the middle of the track. So your view is limited to just a few metres in places. You have to rely on the goodwill (and slow speed) of people coming the other way. Luckily I only met a few and they were great - thank you from a grateful biker.

I will definitely be back to this fantastic site! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: LesF 8 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic and very well run campsite. We had a marvellous stay here and will certainly be back. Everything is clean, clearly labelled and the owners work tirelessly to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We chose this campsite for three reasons; the excellent location near Polruan, Fowey and the SW coastal path, the superb reviews and the fact they had rules which are enforced. It exceeded our expectations in every way.

We are very experienced campers and value quiet after 10. 30 as well as spacious well kept pitches. The site has a lovely shop and very clean facilities. To shower you press a button outside the curtain then you have 7 minutes of free hot water. There is a freezer and a microwave as well as loads of useful information. We went down the hill to Polruan to explore and have a drink, it is a steep hill but you can follow the coast path down and back up which gives you a gentler incline.

We went down on our first day and caught the very regular foot ferry to Fowey where we had a most enjoyable day exploring the town and taking in a river cruise as well. Please note that after 5. 15 the ferry returns from Fowey from the town quay which is different to it's daytime departure opposite the blockhouse.

We spent the following day walking along the cliffs. We did not use the Mazda Bongo camper van once during our stay but walked everywhere.

This site is as near to perfect as you can get with many little touches and impressive attention to detail. We just can't wait to return! 


Previous     122 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fowey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3188 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement