Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning
Polruan By Fowey
Fowey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL23 1QH
Tel: 01726 870263
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chriscable 38 reviews from this member

Great little site. Easy walk down into village where there are couple of shops and pubs but it is a much harder walk back up. Also you can catch ferry to Fowey ( and take dogs on board) which is a super small town with loads of nice eating places and a fab local baker. Our motorhome was just below their max allowed length and with the narrow lanes leading in I can see why they have such a limit. Very very clean and well kept facilities block although shower cubicles are very small (no cat swinging ) and they are a little old. Owners very friendly and very helpful. A site I would return to.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Astonchap 1 review from this member

We wanted a nice quiet site in Cornwall and I did a lot of research (including winter visits of lots of sites on South Coast) and others said this was a nice site and they were not wrong. Very clean, neat and tidy and lovely owners who were always making sure everything was right and nothing was too much trouble.

Polruan is a lot quieter than Fowey but its a short bike ride across the harbour if you want more to do. Great views couple of nice pubs in the village.

Only thing to be wary of is the 0. 6 mile hill down to the harbour as its apparently the steepest high street in England, also the last couple of miles is on tight roads but don't let this put you off its worth it.

Already booking for 2015.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daz and Sal 2 reviews from this member

We booked to stay here for 7 days and stayed for an extra 4 - it was fantastic.

This site is quite honestly the best site that we have stayed in - full stop.

The facilities are superb, the entire site is spotless and all showers and toilets were kept very clean at all times.

There is a fridge to use, free. There is a freezer and freezer blocks to use, free. If you're inclined there is WiFi, free. There is a library in the information room, free. The well stocked shop is priced very competitively and has more than the essentials.

Taking all of this into account it is clear that this family do not run this site and offer facilities to make money at every opportunity - this is so refreshing.

The site is always well kept with it being more like a garden than a camping and caravanning site.

The only point I have marked down is for children - this site is not really suited to children, but to be honest neither is this part of Cornwall. That is unless they like peace and quiet, great views and lots of walking.

The owners truly provide a second to none service on an excellent site and we wish all sites could be to this standard.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Clarkellp 6 reviews from this member

A fabulous site in a wonderful area! The site is quiet, peaceful and very well laid out. The facilities are well-organised, spotlessly clean and beautifully presented throughout. Fabulous views, a well-stocked shop and comprehensive information about the local area all added to the experience. The owners obviously take considerable pride in their site and they were helpful and welcoming. We were sorry that we could only stay one night and would definitely recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daz and Sal 2 reviews from this member

This is quite simply the best site that we have ever stayed on. The facilities are second to none, the grounds are more like a garden than a campsite. The cleanliness of ALL facilities were excellent at ALL times, and the site is so peaceful!

The toilet/shower facilities were modern, impeccably clean and regularly checked and there was always hot water. The washing up facilities were very good and there was a free fridge to use, free freezer block exchange, the showers were free, free mobile charging etc and for those that want it, free wireless across the site. The site has an information room which also has a library and a wealth of information about things to do across the area as well as menus from pubs and restaurants. Taking into account the free facilities offered and the competitively priced shop, the focus is clearly on customer satisfaction rather than money making. A rarity today!

The shop is well stocked and very well priced. The site does slope but not so much as to cause an issue. If I had small children would I bring them to this site? No. But then I wouldn't take them to this part of Cornwall either!

The site is at the beginning of the village and the road does slope down considerably so is a hard walk back!

In the harbour village are two pubs which both do food (we ate in the Lugger twice and was not disappointed), a post office/store, a store and cafe, not forgetting the passenger ferry to Fowey. The area is very popular with walkers and the views are fantastic.

This is an excellent site, very well cared for, very well looked after and a delight to stop in with great scenery and views out to sea. This is a family run site and they should be proud of the site that they have created and maintained! Stunning.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizziehenden 1 review from this member

The location of this campsite is idyllic- esp for access to the coastpath. The sea view is beautiful and the campsite is very pretty and well looked after. The access to Polruan and Fowey is easy, just 10 minutes down the road. The showers and toilets were clean. My only gripe would be the poor shower pressure but lovely and hot! I also hate having to pay for hairdryers and there were no plugs to use your own. There are loads of little added extras too including a shared fridge, microwave and ice block loan. What is nice is as a camper you feel equal to the caravanners whereas sometimes you feel like you're a second rate guest in your tent! This wasn't the case here. The shop is also very well stocked, although I would have liked to have seen more local produce rather than just 'Happy Shopper' goods. A fruit and veg van does come round though once a day in the morning- great touch! The campsite is family run and the family are always round about so you get to know them. My only complaint would be that the campsite prides itself on being 'quiet and tranquil' but unfortunately this ended for us on the Saturday when a large, noisy group arrived. We did complain but nothing was done and we spoke with other campers who were also upset that the group lacked consideration for their fellow campers. I should think this was a one off but for us really spoilt the whole weekend. I would recommend to the campsite a 'warden wander' to keep an eye on such occurrences and just to politely check on people- this was the case in a campsite near Weymouth I stayed in and everyone loved the warden and respected him. My advice would be as well to ask to stay in the field NOT next to the play area if you don't have kids and you aren't a fan of the noise they make. We were having a BBQ and two lads were playing catch and a few times the ball flew over the windbreak and nearly caused havoc. Also, parents tended to shout from tents (on one side of the field) to kids in the play park, across all the other tents. Spoiling again the peace and quiet for the rest of us, but I noted the middle field was very peaceful. We would definitely return as hopefully that group WAS a one off and the location is great with so much to do close by. I would maybe complain more than once if we were presented with the same situation again regarding the noise and encourage my fellow campers to complain rather than us all being rather British and just getting mad-passively aggressively!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jewell26 4 reviews from this member

Just back from a wonderful weekend at Polruan. As ever the site was exceptionally clean and tidy. The owners were on hand to help and make suggestions for outings and places to eat. Good selection of produce in the camp shop and reasonably priced. Veg van visits on a Sunday morning. Good bakery at the bottom of the hill. The walks are never a disappointment and this time we took the 45 minute harbour cruise which was a treat. Recommended site for those looking for peace and quiet, no noisy bar or children racing around on bikes.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobnjean 5 reviews from this member

Spent a great week on this site. Owners friendly and welcoming. The facilities are immaculately maintained and clean. Grounds are well kept too. Tents are accommodated on the two lower fields. These are sloping but most seemed to find a reasonably level pitch.

Facilities include free wifi, great little library, washing machines, shop and there's even a coffee machine available in the washing room.

Showers and toilets are immaculate. Showers are free with plenty of hot water and with good flow.

For tourers there are hard standing plots surrounded by static caravans. A little close but well acceptable. Access to the site is good, with plenty of width through the gates ( I wish other sites would take note). There is an automatic gate on entry but reception is further in the site, not the building immediately to your left, which is the owners accommodation. It is signed but easy to miss and we saw others making the same mistake and looking for reception at the owners door.

For those towing - The route into Polruan as advised on the web site is just about manageable. Take note and make sure you use it. Use Sat nav at your peril! It's very tight but manageable. Be warned, take one wrong turn and you can be in a nightmare situation as some of the local roads are incredibly narrow. Local drivers are pretty accommodating and will back up for you wherever possible.

Local scenery is lovely and Polruan is a great little place to explore. Site is about 300 yards from the coastal path. Two good pubs in

Polruan with the Lugger being our favourite. We ate there most nights and enjoyed every meal. Most of the food is a cut above average pub grub. A good selection of beers too, with a good choice of real ales, all well kept. Also a little village shop with newspapers too and a cafe, which we didn't manage to visit but it seemed popular.

As mentioned before, the walk back up the hill to the campsite is pretty tough, but walking everywhere in Cornwall involves hills!

A fair few folks have mentioned the rules posted everywhere. I guess this is due to so many campers actually needing a reminder. We have all been on sites where there's folks who only think of themselves.

We felt that's what they are for - to make sure everyone understands you need to respect others on site.

Great and would definitely go again. Would score 10/10 If road access wasn't quite so tight.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kateandjames 46 reviews from this member

What a lovely well maintained site above the village of Polruan. All facilities are spotless, the showers are free though the water could have been a bit hotter and my husband didn't like the separate shower / toilet facilities. But other than that we had three lovely nights here, despite the windy conditions.

There is a small shop on site, plus laundry, fridge / freezer, coffee machine and free internet access. The best pitches to be out of the wind are against the hedge.

The walk into the village is down a very steep hill, and back up a very steep hill. The Lugger Inn does very good food and beer. There is also another pub, cafe and a small supermarket. A frequent ferry service crosses the river to Fowey, nice little town for shopping, eating and onward ferry journeys.

The site is very close to the cliff path and if you feel up to it there is a good walk to Great Lantic Beach and Lantivet Bay or on to Polperro and Looe. Alternatively there is the Hall Walk along the river to Boddinick (approx. 4 miles of easyish walking). At Boddinick the Old Ferry Inn serves good food, and if you don't want to walk all the way back you can take the ferry to Fowey and then another to Polruan.

Of note, do not follow your sat nav, take note of the brown direction signs and you wont end up being stuck down a tiny Cornish lane. Also there are size limits on campervan / motorhome / caravan that can be accepted at this site, so check with the owners before booking if in doubt.

There is lots of useful information on the campsite web page.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paula68 5 reviews from this member

We spent a week here at the end of August and I have to agree with the other reviewers, it's a really well-run site. Everything is clean and well appointed. We had a pitch at the bottom of the lower field, it might have felt a bit exposed I suppose if it were windy, but the weather was kind and we had the most wonderful views. Little touches make all the difference - being able to freeze ice packs in the shop's fridge was great, and it's really handy that they will charge mobiles etc. For you. Fantastic to have a fridge in the laundry room too - it made the difference between the milk lasting a whole week or it turning into yoghurt after 3 days in the back of the car! The shop was well stocked and priced; a pity it didn't have any of the fabulous local beers in its fridges but I guess a licence to sell alcohol is probably more trouble than it's worth!

We loved Polruan village. Yes, it's a steep walk back up, but it only took us about 10 minutes and you soon get used to it. Both of the pubs (the Lugger on the quay and the Russell) are good. If you want to eat in the Lugger then it's best to book if it's a busy time or at weekends. The teashop (Crumpets, I think it's called) is very nice and the scones are the best I've ever tasted (sorry Mum!). The passenger ferry to Fowey runs until 11pm so you can easily spend the evening there too, we ate in the Ship Inn which was lovely.

The campsite is great for hiking. Hall Walk is lovely. The SW Coastal Path to Polperro is longer and more challenging but beautiful. Lots of other walks can be accessed from Fowey too.

A few people have mentioned 'the rules'. None of them are unreasonable. I'd rather have a few extra posters up reminding everyone what the rules are than put up with other peoples' noise. The site was quiet and peaceful. We don't have children so I can't comment on 'child friendliness'; the only thing I'd say is that it mightn't be great if you have very small kids as the 'no noise before 8am' rule could be hard to enforce on them!

Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2254 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019