Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning
Polruan By Fowey
Fowey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL23 1QH
Tel: 01726 870263
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Baggie1 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned and would like to tell everyone what a fantastic site this is. When we arrived we were greeted by one of the owners, Kevin, who showed us to a pitch and set the tone of the holiday from then on. In a relaxed way, allowed us to set up and settle in before accepting payment. The booklet on the site and surrounding area was very helpful.

The site is very keen on recycling and encourages people to take part, and I was highly impressed by the amount of action taken to help people comply with their green responsibility. The facilities were so clean and well taken care of. If there is one fault, my wife found the timer in the showers a little embarrassing, if you forget to push the button you have to open the door and press to start the shower going. The caravan pitches are perfect and as someone has mentioned before, its like spending time in someone's garden. The owners, Kevin, Trudy and their two boys are so friendly and helpful, and ready for a chat if you want.

The walk into the village is a nice, easy walk. Coming back isn't so easy because of the 16% hill, so just take your time and enjoy the view. Other nice walks are the walk to Lantic Bay and the Hall Walk (according to the wife, I went fishing instead of the Hall Walk). Fowey is a nice place to visit and explore the shops and cafes. The pedestrian ferry will only take 2-3 minutes across the river, but well worth the £1.20 fare for an adult and 30 pence for the two pastie hounds (we have found out that is the breed our two dogs are.)If you want to go further afield we would not recommend Padstow or Ricks-ville as we re-named it. Too commercial for us.

To conclude; a perfect place to enjoy the walks, the rolling hills, the lovely towns, the local people. And a great place to try and grow a beard.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindy Lou 52 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from 9 day stay at this wonderful site. Roads leading to site are a bit narrow so take care, but road users are very thoughtful and no problems. There are 7 hard standing pitches with electric in a circle on a large lawn which is surrounded by static vans. The toilet/shower block is close by as is the washing up/launderette/recycling area and shop. This leads through to two areas for tents and camper vans.From this area you have a wonderful sea view.

This has to be the cleanest, neatest, best kept site we have been on in over 30 years camping. Usually I wear flip flops in camp showers, but these were so clean.There is a mop which obviously everyone used as I never went in to find mud or grass visible. However, the owners work very hard to maintain the high standards and are also very friendly and helpful. The shop sells basic stuff and prices are good. You can order a daily paper. There is a fruit/veg/egg/milk/bread van which calls at the site every other day. I really cannot find any fault with this site at all.

Polruan is a pretty village and as previously stated, the walk down is quite steep, as of course is the walk back, but you get used to it. There is a bit of a short cut through the tent field. The two pubs both serve good food and both sell St Austell ale. The foot ferry to Fowey is great as is the car ferry at Boddinick. There are some really good walks around. We did the Hall Walk from the site to Boddinick which has some fantastic views and is not too hard. There is a welcome Inn at the other end! We then boarded the car ferry as foot passengers, and completed the circle by catching the foot ferry back to Polruan. Wanted to do Lantic Bay but weather and time didn't permit. There is also a ferry from Fowey to Mevagissey from there it's a 5 minute bus ride to The Lost Gardens of Heligon. 2 return tickets were £3.60 and if you showed them at Heligon they deducted £2 p.P off the entrance! Much better than driving all the way round - and you could have a couple of pints here and there. We did however visit Mevagissey by car before ferry ride. Good tip = park in the Charity car park on the right before the main car park. It's much cheaper and is open till 10pm and evening charges are half price - plus the money is going to a good cause. Whatever you do DO NOT drive into Mevagissey! You would think they would have a one way system as cars were nose to nose with no one moving = chaos !

There is so much more I could say and hopefully you haven't lost interest. The only down side to camping at Polruan is there is only one road out to where ever you want to go, but don't let this put you off, it is a beautiful area, beautiful site and well worth the drive. 10 out 0f 10 for everything.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Morphthecat 3 reviews from this member

This campsite sits just outside Polruan on top of the hill next to the coastal footpath.

It consists of two small, well protected fields, the lower field overlooking the sea. All the facilities are clean, well thought out and sit unobtrusively within the campsite. The shop and reception area is well stocked and well run. The owners are very obliging in every way. Each individual pitch is separated from the next by a marker so there is always 7 or so metres between you and the next camper. The site is gated.

There is a shop and two pubs in Polruan and a ferry ride away in Fowey, you can buy everything and a boat to boot.

This is classic coastal walking country. There is a bus to Polperro and Looe weekdays, so a return walk from either is very feasible. Be warned though, there are some big hills to climb!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Meridienmick 5 reviews from this member

Polruan Holidays is a superb little site. In some 40 years of camping and caravanning it is probably about the best we have stayed at outside of the Caravan Club network. We have just spent two fabulous weeks there and really enjoyed every minute of it. Kevin and Trudy, the owners, plus their two sons work incredibly hard to keep the site in pristine condition and to make sure everyone can have an enjoyable and relaxing time - in fact making the place pleasant and enjoyable is clearly their main priority as I am sure they could “milk” more profit out of it if that was their main objective.

There are a few rules designed to keep the place peaceful, such as no ball games in the pitching areas, no cycling, skateboarding etc around the site, no noise after 10.30 pm, etc, and this was part of what attracted us to the site, and it definitely results in a beautifully quiet, relaxing site. Not once during our stay were we subjected to the awful “boom boom boom” of someone else’s taste in music thumping out from a ghetto blaster, the annoying thump of a football being booted about, or the infuriating clatter of the plastic wheels of ride-on toys hurtling around the site. There were kids on the site and they all seemed to be very well behaved, and I think this reflects the type of clientele that the owners are aiming for.

Other reviewers have spoken about the location, which I have to say is absolutely superb. Out of a fourteen day stay, we only used the car on six days. There are lovely walks from the site, and a walk down to the village of Polruan gets you a small passenger ferry to Fowey where there are more walks, shops, pubs, restaurants etc, or boat trips up the river or, as in our case, a boat to Mevagissey. You can take the bus from the site gate to Looe or Polperro, and the coastal path joins these with Polruan so you can mix and match eg a bus to Looe, walk back to Polperro then bus back to the site. We walked to Polperro from the site and took the bus back. We tried both pubs in Polruan, both are dog friendly and gave a warm welcome and good beer. We felt that the food in the Russell was a bit better than the Lugger, they seemed to do better with the more challenging dishes. The Lugger’s fish and chips was great, but the veg lasagne was a wet mush, and the scallops were swimming in a bowl of molten butter. The Russell served excellent stuffed peppers (veg option) and a wonderful steak and ale pie, although it still came with sauté potatoes despite twice asking for chips.

It’s hard to find any real downsides to this site and its location. I think most fellow Caravan Club members would share my surprise at how close together the hard standings for touring vans are, and I guess this could be a problem if you were unlucky enough to get grotty neighbours, but as I said earlier the site and the location do not seem to attract the “neighbours from hell” types, and I’m sure the site owners would quickly sort it out if anyone were disturbing the peace. Others have mentioned the seven minute shower timer, not a problem for either of us although a slightly larger shower cubicle and somewhere to put the soap and shampoo would not go amiss. Neither of these points were in any way significant enough to detract from the enjoyment of staying at Polruan Holidays, and I think we will definitely be back. Oh, and just a mention of the three miles of single track roads with passing spaces as you approach the site – great fun with a caravan on the back!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bobjacko 1 review from this member

Fantastic site - Would highly recommend

This is a small, friendly site with spacious pitches. Site is mainly level, with non electric area that sloped slightly. The site is very well kept, and the facilities are excellent,and spotlessly clean.Site is situated at the top of the town, and is an easy 10 minute walk into town. Polruan has 2 pubs both serving good value food, which we sampled on several nights. There is a foot passenger ferry, which is great for visiting Fowey, with a good selection of pubs restaurants and shops. Small bus runs from entrance to Polperro, and beyond. Coast path is nearby. We thought it was a great position and a great site.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geddes 8 reviews from this member

Spent 9 nights at this lovely little site. The owners were very kind and helpful and were tireless in their efforts to maintain the high standards on site. It was almost like having our tourer pitched in someone's very pretty garden! We were fortunate with our weather also, as the sun shone for most of our time there. Came away completely refreshed and rested having enjoyed the peace and quiet, a few long walks with some stunning views, and some nice trips out from the site. We were a bit daunted at the almost vertical descent from the site to the village, but by the end of our time there, we were managing it with no bother at all. (Even the locals just take the hill at slow steady pace)

The only criticism I would make, is that perhaps the toilets and showers could be a bit more modern. Of the three showers in the Ladies, only one was roomy and large, the other two were really far too small to wash/dry/dress etc., however, they were spotlessly clean, even when we had some rain, there were no muddy grassy footprints that are usually found on sites in bad weather.

That said, hope we can go back there again sometime.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Em1982 8 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our second stay at this site and was determined to find 5 mins to tell everyone what a fab site it is and how lovely the owners Kevin and Trudy are, mind you everyone seems to have done that all ready but I will continue

We visited for the first time last year and this was our second trip down, as mentioned the last 4 miles are narrow country roads, and some of the locals are not very good at moving over when you have a tourer on the back but it is worth the journey, as the passenger I try and lean forward and look ahead to warn OH by saying car (or something along that lines as it was last year!)

On the site there are 7 hard standing pitches and grass pitches as well as statics, you have the norm washing up facilities, showers and toilets, laundry and hot drinks area. You are timed to 7 mins hot

Water in the showers but I have always found this to be plenty including when washing my hair and other lady things!

On both occasions Kevin and Trudy have been very friendly and helpful, including charging my camera batteries for me when my charger died it's death!

In the local village are 2 pubs and a local shop and newsagents as well as a tea shop, we have yet to try out the food in the local pub's or the tea shop, oh what a shame may have to go back again then :)

Fowey is accessible by foot ferry from pulruan or car ferry from bodnick (just to warn you there seems to be no way of getting off this ferry with out hitting the anti snake bar especially at low tide!)

All in all a fantastic site that in my opinion deserves 11/10 and 5 stars and we will be back again at some point.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline + John 1 review from this member

This site was beautiful and clean, the toilets were spotless however the water pressure to the wash basins was a bit weak. Most pitches were level and those that weren't were only on a slight gradient.

The owners Trudy and Kevin were lovely people who couldn't do enough for you and were always friendly. We would recommend this site to anyone, we will be going again in the future.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: OGRItheCamper 1 review from this member

We just spent a fabulous break at the Polruan site which is run immaculately by owners Kevin and Trudy who are assisted by their sons. The site has a shop for all the essentials we needed and it is very good value for money too. There's also a fruit and veg delivery which I think is daily Monday to Friday and he also sells loaves which is handy if the shop runs out.

The instructions to reach the site are spot-on. The roads to the site are beautiful with stunning views of Lantic Bay but they are narrow and you need to be sensible and alert to use them safely. Having said that, they are wide enough for all cars or large MPV's(which is what we drive).

Kevin greeted us and allocated us a pitch but invited us to go and look at several others to make sure we were happy with his allocation. We had a good look around but felt his choice was right on the money. The pitches are fairly generous all slightly sloping but nothing to worry about.

The campsite is very clean and tidy and there are lots of notices as previous reviewers have said but we were happy that they were for guidance to ensure our comfort and to maintain the site in it's current excellent condition. All the tent pitches had excellent sea views.

Just for the record the toilets, showers, dishwashing facilities, laundry area, and even the refuse area are all immaculate. There is a fridge and a micrwave set aside for all campers to use. Access to the fridge and microwave is 9am to 9pm.

Kevin happily charged my mobile phone and froze our freezer blocks for us. Trudy and Kevin are always on hand if you need them and we did have a few conversations along the way.

The walk to Polruan village from the campsite is about 10 minutes and again it's stunning and downhill. Allow twice the time for coming back. We found that the walk back became easier every time you do it. In the village there are two pubs and having read previous reviews we went straight to the Russell Arms where the landlady kindly poured me samples of all the available bitters on tap so I could choose my favourite. She was very knowledgeable about them all too. So then we ordered food, we both ordered the Proper Job cod and chips. This may not sound terribly exciting but we both scored it slightly ahead of Rick Stein's efforts. Just go and try it.

There's a general store just up the hill from the pub and an excellent tearoom almost next door to the pub. There's a post office / gift shop on the Quay.

A short walk from the Russell Arms is the Quay from which you can take a passenger ferry to Fowey for £1. 20 each. We did this several times. Getting away from the main street in Fowey is rewarding because you find that the part of the town not given over to tourism is paradoxically exactly what the tourists are looking for.

There are many walks from the campsite, we did the Hall Walk which leads to Polruan village or Bodinnick ferry depending on whether you go left or right from the woods. The track to Polruan village is a pretty and gentle walk.

We also journeyed to the usual places of Looe, Polperro and Mevagissey. I only mention it to advise heading for Lanreath first if you're aiming for Looe because although it's a few more miles, it's a lot quicker than going the shortest distance. For Mevagissey go via Boddinick on the car ferry to Fowey.

We both wanted to stay longer because we were so chilled out. When we left the site Kevin and Trudy both came out to say goodbye and to thank us for coming and invited us back in the future. We felt this was a really nice touch and a good indication of the care and effort that the put into their site. We'll be back before too long I'm sure.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Oldgazza 25 reviews from this member

There seems little more I can add that hasn't already been said about this wonderful site.

Friendly welcome, excellent facilities, fantastic location at the top of a steep hill. This site should be used as a model for what small sites should provide, I cannot compliment it higher than that.

Two good pubs in Polruan, good food at the Luggers, didn't eat at Russell Arms, good real ales from St Austell brewery at both and dog friendly too.

Excellent walks from site on coastal path and the wonderful Hall walk around the estuary with stunning views, then across on car ferry to Fowey with its many shops, pubs and restaurants. We ate at the Galleon pub on Town Quay which deserves special mention for a fine Farmers Platter and an excellent range of real ales by pump and gravity, then the short passenger ferry back across to Polruan

We enjoyed a three night stop here but wished we had longer. Be prepared for narrow approach roads on the last part in to site about three miles, well worth it though.

Not much here for kids, a small swing in bottom field, but I don't think the site is aiming for families really unless your kids truly appreciate a lovely natural environment.

Overall Highly recommended.

Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


141 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019