Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Touring Caravan Site Reviews

CLOSED: York Touring Caravan Site
Towthorpe Moor Lane
Towthorpe
Strensall
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed from 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 85 Reviews
                8/10 from 85 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Batman41 11 reviews from this member

Just spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed my stay. Pitches were a good size and toilets and showers were always clean and tidy. The site was well maintained and every one was friendly. Golf course next to site were you book in when you first arrive. 10 deposit needed for keys for showers and toilets but returned at the end of your stay. Short drive to Monks Cross park and ride to go into York- 2. 60 return per person. York a is beautiful city, lots to see and do well worth a visit. Would definitely go again.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chihuahua-mammy5 2 reviews from this member

This was our first time away in our caravan with our 5 chihuahua's, so to us this is a 5 star site. I would recommend this site to everyone. Nothing much to do around area so better to go visiting surrounding areas ie Scarborough

An excellent site with fantastic facilities and dog area. Friendly owner and happy to help.

Based at a golf course, so sometimes shop is busy. Army camp near by so you will hear them practising on the range, but it didn't bother us

We would certainly go back again

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Trishswaby 12 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this campsite & I would like to say I would highly recommend it. Pitches were large, ground was lovely & soft, grass was kept short, it was clean. The showers were spotless & the keys were a good idea to stop youths hanging around the loo's, if you do forget to take them the disabled toilet is always open. The only down side on the showers is that they are push button, which I personally don't like but hay that's me! at least they don't waste water. The owners were really friendly & helpful. The crazy golf was a good laugh! The other people on the site were friendly + there was loads of wild life to watch. It wasn't far from anywhere, we went to Pickering & caught the steam train to Whitby for the day. York was only down the road & there was a lovely Toby Carvery 10mins down the road, which was really good. All in all, I would love to go back soon!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Missarahmlee@hotmai 21 reviews from this member

I loved this site and it was excellent as a base to visit York. The park and ride at Monks Cross was brilliant - 2. 60 return for adults, accompanying kids go free and that included parking.

The site was easy to find off the A64 and access -through a livery yard - onto site was good.

The site is surrounded by fields with horses and sheep or light woodland. You can hear the road, and at times, a nearby army range but its not intrusive unless you are very sensitive - the bird song was louder. There was an 'agricultural smell' when we visited but this is a farming area.

Check-in is at the Golf range on site and there is a cafe there serving from 8. 30am. A 10 refundable deposit was required for keys to the shower and toilets but there is a toilet for the disabled which is not locked which was quite handy.

There are about 40 or so touring pitches arranged either side of the circular access road. The pitches are nicely spaced out and 'super pitches' are available. The pitches were level and dry. Dogs are allowed, the other campers were pleasant and we experienced no problems.

The shower block is modern, warm and well maintained. The hot showers are push button and each cubicle was spacious and had a chair and its own basin.

There is a play area for kids although not much in it. My son just enjoyed riding his bike with a friend he made.

The 12 o'clock check out is a boon and allowed us to have brunch and a game of Crazy Golf on site with our returned key deposit money before leaving on our last day.

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: A kirk 8 reviews from this member

Great little site next to a golf course. Entrance is gated with a key code.

Reception is in the golf shop, we arrived about 8pm and luckily there was still someone around to check us in.

Facilities are very clean, and warm.

Pitches are level

Not much more I can say really, would use again if I was in the area.

If you listen hard enough you might be able to hear some of the noisy cars on the main road but its far enough away not to really notice them.

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Penguin73 11 reviews from this member

We stopped at this site for 2 nights in feb half term. Lovely and quiet. Had a relaxing time. Showers nice and hot, like the idea of having a key to get into toilet blocks(it stops annoying kids running in and out all the time). Only down side was we weren't warned that at 7. 30 on sat and sun morning that there would be army training in the army grounds across the road, it wasn't too loud but made me jump when I first heard it.

We will def be booking to go again.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sushutch 10 reviews from this member

Fabulous little site, part of the golf course so very well kept.

Efficient booking - we decided last minute to visit after some recommendations and a friend was booked so we thought we would join them. The booking was made over the phone and on our arrival the same day we asked if we could be sited next to our friend. We were accommodated no problems.

Smooth check-in, friendly reception.

Key to facilities - toilets / showers which were immaculate, hot water, only problem was push button but the cleanliness and heat of showers compensated for this.

Laundry room with washers / dryers, well stocked information room.

Pot Wash facility was quaint - it is on the site itself, near the water tap etc and a canny little hut which proved to be a very good little social outlet whereby you could stand for hours chatting with fellow campers while washing up, filling up your water etc. We were lucky to visit during a hot peak recently so everyone had BBQ's and eating/socialising outside. There was a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere to the site even though standards were very high and it was very well maintained. I am rather choosy with regards to sites and this is one of the top ones in my estimations.

The site has a few seasonal pitches, but once again, were very well maintained, with attention to detail on grass cutting unlike some sites we have visited. The pitches are very large and spaced so that you are not overlooked in any way.

The only downside is, and it has nothing to do with the site really, for motorhome owners you would need to cycle or take the vehicle if you want to go off site as the road nearby is very busy with no paths to walk along. However, there is a fab dog walk which is very well maintained and adequate, with a gate so you can let your dog have a run (unless they're hunters and might get into surrounding fields. There are also dog bins on the site which is very rare.

We stayed for two nights as we just wanted to chill so weren't bothered about going anywhere. If we had a caravan we would probably site it for the season. We will definitely visit this site again for a weekend of peace and quiet, and may also consider longer but would take a little runaround car. It is very near to Monks Cross shopping centre and Park and Ride so very convenient.

Children are welcome - there is no play area per se but the children on the site seemed to all have cycles and spent their day cycling around the site as its a one way system like a little track but very safe and child friendly.

I would recommend this site for anyone who either wants total tranquillity or use it as a base for seeing the sites of north Yorkshire. I could go on.

Fab site, visit to see for yourself.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Polar69 4 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for the August bank holiday weekend.

Booking the site over the phone was quick and professional.

On arriving at the campsite you have to check in at the golf club which is a two minute walk from the campsite. Checking in was painless and we were given a very good map and instructions for using the site.

The site itself is small and quiet. There is a one way system and no speed humps, entry for vans is through an electric gate, operated by a keypad, the rest of the time you can drive through a gate with a height and width restriction.

For a couple with no kids the site was perfect, the pitches were level and well spaced with easy acces to EHU points.

The shower block is the right distance from the pitches and is sited with the plate wash and bins etc.

There is a huge tesco about ten minutes drive from the site and pubs and small shops in Strensal village itself, as well as a Chinese takeaway.

The only problem we had ( and obviously not the owners fault ) was a lack of O2 phone signal, you can only really get a good O2 3g signal in Strensal itself, Orange however was fine.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy Betham 4 reviews from this member

Booked on this site for bank holiday week wasn't impressed so left early wouldn't go back again.

Toilet block clean and tidy.

The laundry facilities not very good.

The dog walk is so small, it would be more useful for kiddies swings.

You really need a car to go anywhere as it is out of the way.

There is a couple of nice pubs doing pub meals nearby but only by car.

There is a park and ride nearby.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barnabys 29 reviews from this member

Two adults, two girls 5&7 yrs

Just come back from a great 3 days here, easy to find, pitches are spacious and well drained & level.

Met & shown to our pitch by the owner who was helpful.

It was full with around 40 vans but was very quiet & peaceful.

Never had a problem with waiting for the showers and they were immaculate and warm with a private cubicle 3 in total as was the toilets and my wife said the ladies was the same high standard.

There is a separate field for the kids to play and they can occupy themselves safely but no swings or slide.

On site 9 hole golf course with good greens & fairways with good yardage, also crazy golf for the kids.

Great base camp for visiting York & surrounding attractions.

There is no shop on site but there is a large retail park 2 miles away with supermarkets & shops.

You can get bacon sandwiches, light snacks etc from the golf shop on site.

Summing up great site & facilities good value and would definitely stay again if visiting York.

Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5208 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019