Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Touring Caravan Site Reviews

CLOSED: York Touring Caravan Site
Towthorpe Moor Lane
Towthorpe
Strensall
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed from 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 85 Reviews
                8/10 from 85 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Redleeebee 2 reviews from this member

Very quite site looks a lot bigger on website.The disabled toilets and shower were fantstic clean and well thought out the mirrors and hair dryers at right height for some one in a wheelchair.Also I didn't need to sit on the floor as the shower was a complete cubical with the correct seating and very comfortable. The only thing which let it down was the heat of the water just to say hot enough also you had to keep pushing the water button which could be a bit of a pain.

The site is well maintained and spotless. Never saw the wardens only once when arrived. The site is very good if your into golf. For a family with children it not really ideal the play ground it only suitable if you have 2/3 year olds no swings or roundabouts no ball games. It is a real pity because if they upgrades that it would be great. Ie a football field I would say this site is more suitable for couples with no children.Had to travel to the nearest villages to stock up as the on site facility were very limited.

But over all a very quite site. I would return if they upgraded the shop and play area

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Polar_king 3 reviews from this member

Clean, Flat & Friendly. Large pitches with hard standing for awning. I used a fully serviced pitch but was surprised to find the fully serviced bit 20 feet away. My hose reel & hook-up reached, but my waste pipe didn't stand a chance. One was soon found for me & that fixed that. The shop facilities were below average, and the bar was closed for most of my stay (10 days) and the on-pitch staff went on holiday 4 days in! Never to be seen again! As the better half is disabled, I Found those facilities excellent, With more than enough room for my aide. Windy was not the right expression, I needed 2 heavy duty straps to keep my awning earthbound, my neighbour was not so lucky.

The nearby village of Towthorpe has a great Chinese takeaway, which took care of lazy-days. The surrounding area is stunning and I will be returning to the area, but sadly, not to this site. They claim not to take block bookings, but around 10 camper vans all turned up at the same time and were rowdy for the rest of their stay. And, NO camp warden.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camille 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here with our 9 year old son just for a weekend. The campsite is lovely and clean and quiet. Shower and toilet block very clean and modern although couldn't regulate the temperature in shower but was ok. The club house was very small but prices were ok. The adjacent golf club was very good we spent quite a bit of time on the driving range and the pitch and put.
The down side to this site is that there isn't a right lot for our son to do. There is a small play area but needs a lot of attention to keep the children busy. Ball games or kite flying are not allowed except for the small area near reception which is by the road and we couldn't see it from where we was sited so couldn't keep watch our son playing.
All in all not a bad site for adults but wouldn't go back with children.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scorpiouk 6 reviews from this member

Weekend visit to this site. Pretty easy to find on the north side of the city. Beautifully manicured site, if a little exposed to the elements. Shower block is the best we've been to ( looks brand new ! ). Though on arrival we were told that the bar will be closed all weekend as there wasnt enough guests ( the site was half full ). Children play facilities are poor - could do with a couple of swings etc ( there is room ! ). If you're a golfer then the driving range and 9 hole course is attached to the site.
5 min drive to Monks Cross takes you to the park and ride into the City, which is well recommended.
In summary - needs better childrens area and a bar open as advertised !

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bethceg 4 reviews from this member

As a last minute easter break we rang at 4.30 on good friday and reserved our pitch. Quite easy to find if you remember to follow the golf course signs but were really pleased when we got there. Even though there is a golf range right next door they don't open after 8pm so there is no noise late at night.Its only a small site with about 44 serviced pitches and 10 tent pitches the tent pitches were large flat . There is a small wooden play area for the kids but they just tended to run and play tig which was nice to watch them not using game consoles and enjoying the fresh air. Its not far of the ring road that goes round the top of York soabout 2 miles away there are two good retail parks tesco ,argos etc. And you are not far from a park and ride to take you into the centre of York. I advise you to do that as we parked in the centre and it was over £5 for about 3 and a half hours. The site was lovely and clean and friendly and tracey the warden would always open the shop for you so you could get your milk in the morning. There is a small bar area but we didn't use it but that was nice and clean as well. The toilet and shower facilities were clean but you need a key for each which you have to pay a £5 deposit for so I kept tight hold of them so nobody lost them. The wash up was a simple little hut with two sinks but you had to be careful if you used the one with the boiler underneath you had to wait for it to warm up if someone had used it before you. Also if you stayed on the site you were classed as a member of the golf club so you enjoyed members prices at the range . This is one we would definitely go back to  

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Beno36 18 reviews from this member

Nice clean site , immaculate toilet blocks , but for us this is not one for the kids as there is not alot they can do ! The nearest bus stop is over a mile away. The club house is well. Lets say reminds us of kaths cafe from eastenders ! Other than that its a lovely quiet peaceful site and the driving range is cheap! The wardens are very friendly and helpful. Will be visiting again !

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 519 reviews from this member

I have used this site a few times now and it is excellent. The staff are friendly, down to earth and accommodating. The facilities are modern and very clean. York is close by and costs less than a tenner in a taxi. Alternatively, there's a bus stop a 15 minute walk away. Never used the adjacent golf range, but it seems popular and is discounted for campers and they'll lend you clubs etc. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LozGudSebWill 1 review from this member

Very clean & quiet site. As mentioned in a previous 'post', the children's play area needs attention if the owners are to continue to attract families. On site wardens very helpful. Despite it being high season, 1 of the 2 sinks in the washing area was out of action prior to our arrival & following our departure, the site shop never opened and the bar only opens on a Friday & Saturday night - this needs to be put in the advert. (No price reduction offered) Also, steps ought to be provided for children to allow them to use the bathroom facilities (sinks - brushing teeth, washing, etc.)
Great driving range that serves great coffee. The Farm Shop is a must - fantastic. Despite the above, I will return with my 11 year old, even if it's just for the driving range!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper23 1 review from this member

Good Site. Lovely amenities, very clean and well kept. The one down side was that on this visit we were quite far from the electricity point and the warden had to lend us an extension lead (we have been 3 times before though and never had a problem).
York is about 6 miles away and it's easiest to get there in the car, it's a 1 and a half mile walk to the bus stop! All in all though it's a great campsite and a good base for exploring York.
The warden in particular made my stay really good, she went out of her way to help us in many different ways! This is the 4th time I have visited York touring and caravan site and i'll be coming here again!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adambsmith 2 reviews from this member

We visited the site just for a "training night" - we are new to camping and have a week booked in August in Cornwall. The site personnel are very friendly and helpful and the facilities very clean. There was a bit of noise from other visitors nearby which ceased about midnight - so not too bad. Would definitely visit again.

Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4068 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019