Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Touring Caravan Site Reviews

CLOSED: York Touring Caravan Site
Towthorpe Moor Lane
Towthorpe
Strensall
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed from 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 85 Reviews
                8/10 from 85 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ju64jules 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site, couldn't fault it. Very professional booking over the phone. Toilets and showers spotless - not even a spider in sight 10/10.

Its across the road from an army camp with a very loud hooter at 7.30am only heard it on one morning though, so the other day it either didn't sound or the wine worked well!

Great location, park and ride was 4.20 for 2 adults - kids free.

Went to Jorvik centre which was not value for money and the Railway Museum which was really good.

A small clean site. Only downfall was the cost - a tad expensive for the time of year.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kilgirl 5 reviews from this member

Just back from a weeks stay on the site. Had a lovely time. Good location, use the park n ride if you want to go into York. The site is very well kept, peaceful too. Never saw the wardens the whole time we were there, but they were there if needed. Toilet and shower block are spotless, never had to queue. Good spaces between caravans. We visited knaresborough, York, Goathland (where heartbeat is filmed) and loads of other beautiful places, all within about an hours drive from the site. More to see, so we will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BiffyBoffy 23 reviews from this member

We used this site to visit York, which is about 15 minutes away. The reception was at the golf club house where you were shown your pitch and given keys / codes to the toilet block and gates.

The toilet block / washing up facilities were always clean and there was plenty of hot water. This site is primarily a caravaners site so the facilities were higher quality and newer than what we were used to!

There are no shops near by so buy everything on your way in if you’re not staying for long like we did. The club house does have a cafe for breakfast baps and proper coffee.

We didn't venture far off the site but there are plenty of footpaths around the fields.

This site is ideally suited for York city centre and all the other attractions around.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingscots 4 reviews from this member

A lovely quiet little site! Situated only 5miles from York and there is a great Park and Ride a 5min drive away which is only £2.30 return with kids travelling free!

Site had a small shower block with 3 showers per block ( but I only had to wait once!) There us an army training barracks literally across the road, and they let of a siren at 7.30am! Its not too loud though! We would recommend this site for a quiet getaway and for York siteseeing! May return again!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thegizmyster 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, very good toilets and showers. Had a very relaxing break. Only 5 mins from York centre by car and plenty of local amenities as well. Good security and very polite and helpful staff. Enjoyed the driving range while the girls went shopping,took advantage of the 50 balls and bacon butty offer. Will definitely be returning

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Poppy11 5 reviews from this member

A very good site next to a 9 hole golf course and driving range. Toilets and showers are good, and there are 3 of them per sex (no waiting).

No children's playground to speak of, but plenty of space for ball games.

There is also a cafe which although expensive, serves good hot sandwiches, drinks etc.

We enjoyed our stay (apart from one night with some noisy campers until 1.00am) and will definitely return in the near future.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tigerlillyzoe 8 reviews from this member

This our 3rd time staying at this campsite and I'm more than a little disappointed. The toilets are nowhere near as well maintained as before

The cost of staying on the site has increased (£52 for two nights), I would not mind if the site had something special but it's just a basic site (they is s driving range but this is a add cost if you wish too use).

The site manager came and asked us to put out our fire (we had are BBQ, which is off the ground with charcoal and a odourless / smokeless / compress wood (environmental friendly) log which barely had a flame), if we didn't put it out now, he said we had too leave. As we had a few glasses of wine we could not leave. We spent the night cold and hungry (as we couldn't cook our tea or roast are marshmallows).

Woke early by army base training, didn't improve are moods. Had to cut are stay short.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jls27d 2 reviews from this member

This is a wonderful site & the attention to detail is great, it is kept tidy & pleasant & the views of the golf course are lovely. The tent area is neat and not to many units are allowed on at any one time which makes it a very nice stay.

The toilets and showers are kept very clean and there is a nice little room with information, an iron and even a washing machine which you can pay to use. The site is 4 miles from York and is in the middle of the two major shopping centres with a 24 hour super market at each of them. We will certainly be going again what a lovely site the owners should be very proud of them selves.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KerryH81 3 reviews from this member

My husband, myself and 2 children (1 & 5) stayed here for 2 nights and found the place lovely. Very small area for tents, there were 10 tents in total but lots of space and very large tents.

Showers and toilets always spotless and lots of hot water. Hubby and son played a few games of mini golf which they loved. Very close to York town centre and a tesco just down the road. We went to York Maize Maze which was about a 10 min drive and had a fantastic day out, lots to do if you've got kids or you're like a big kids which my hubby is.

A £10 refundable deposit is needed for the keys to the shower / toilet block.

We will definitely be going back again this year.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mines a carling 4 reviews from this member

Just got back from this site, great site in a great location, nice and peaceful, nice and clean. Great little 9 hole golf course and driving range with a nice coffee lounge. Good location just off the a64 about 3 miles or so from York. The warden couldn't have been more helpful, we had a problem with the electric tripping out so he put a electric cable from his house for us, now that's service. Will defo return.

Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1823 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019