Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Touring Caravan Site Reviews

CLOSED: York Touring Caravan Site
Towthorpe Moor Lane
Towthorpe
Strensall
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed from 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 85 Reviews
                8/10 from 85 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robin54 18 reviews from this member

Lovely site everywhere was so clean, from the toilets to the area where the bins and recycling bins are. We there for 5 nights and never heard a gun shot so it was really quiet and very relaxing

When we got there we were shown to our pitch by a very pleasant man who told us where everything was where we could walk and where not to go, could not fault this site at all.

The site was quite dry considering the weather we have had for the past 4-5 months. Well positioned for York park & ride and the retail parks

Date of Visit: November 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DarrenKay 1 review from this member

A lovely site very peaceful friendly and totally relaxing. All amenities kept very clean. Owners / managers very friendly. Short journey into the centre of York ideal spot away from the centre but short distance into city, also close to all the outlet and shopping centres. Pitches and surrounding grassed areas very impressive. Absolutely would recommend we had a wonderful time cant wait to return.

Worth noting: if you want a lie in the only down point is the continuous gun fire from the army training ground which is literally just over the road

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tigerlillyzoe 8 reviews from this member

Super small site. Best bit was the lovely shower/loos, it was so clean and lovely and warm, you could get out of the shower and not freeze to death.

Boys enjoyed the army training noise in early evening, not too loud. Owner was helpful and friendly, do nice snacks in cafe and driving range was good value for money.

They is a very nice farm shop not far down the road (turn right as you leave the site, farm shop is not far down road on your left)

They is a huge tesco super store on your way in to York centre. Very close to York centre.

Will be coming back again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: L Harris 4 reviews from this member

Lovely site. Very clean toilet and shower block for which you have to pay a deposit for a key. The showers themselves were free, powerful and wonderfully warm. The shower cubicles also contained a sink and a seat.

Tents have allocated pitches which are of a generous size.

Only one of the two washing up sinks had hot water so I had to queue for that, but it was no problem.

The site has a barrier which closes at night and needs a code to access it so bear this in mind if you are a late arrival.

There is an army facility nearby which lets of a very loud siren every morning - waking the troops maybe? As an early riser it didn't bother me, but I heard a yelp from a neighbouring tent when it went off! Other than that it was a beautifully quiet location.

It is about a 10 minute walk to the bus stop which has a regular bus to and from York itself.

The owners are very friendly and helpful.

Would definitely use again.

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tonyparkin144 10 reviews from this member

On arrival we pulled in and checked in at the reception which is the pro shop for the driving range on site. I was booked onto a super pitch which had water and drainage and should have been an aerial connection (which did not work) but I have an external jockey wheel aerial so did not affect me.
The water supply was great did not freeze and the drainage, even though a little far from the van, very good. The electric being 16amp was great and very reliable.
The toilets were very clean and very well maintained there was hot water but cause of the temperature outside could do with a little more heating in the winter months with them being open all year.
There is not a lot near the site so you have to use your car or get a taxi which cost £15 into York for a 7 seater, so not bad shared between a group of you.
The only bad point about the site is there are quite a few seasonal caravans and at times we were made to feel uncomfortable by a few of the residents, but to be expected lol

Overall site was good but not enough around it for me, although if you are a golfer you would love this site.

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scuba69 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from this excellent site. Booked a super pitch which was great, The water supply did not freeze, despite the temperature dropping to well below zero during the night.

The toilet/showers were very clean throughout the weekend. Pitches were laid out very well each having plenty of space even though the site was almost full.

This site offers everything you could wish for, can't wait to return

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cufcbarside 68 reviews from this member

Ok As always the not so good bits: again this is our opinion and observations:

Not so good bits:

The gun fire from the military training ground opposite the site was sometimes started early with the sound of a large siren which when it happened the first time had Mark flying out of bed !

The reception team needs some lessons in customer service. Being one for first impressions this was not a tick in the customer service box. Could do better.

Ok here is a clash of opinions with him indoors. As I take our disabled son to the showers we had some issues with the water temperature and a couple of times the washing up area water was cold.

Bit of advice. When leaving the site with your caravan heading west, south of York then leave the site and turn left and follow road back to A64 DONT try and attempt to cross the A64 as it is extremely busy both ways.

Now the good bits:

Great location for golfers ! driving range and small 9 hole course mostly par 3's and some par 4 holes. Super modern driving range with well stocked shop.

The mens facilities were given a 5 star rating by his lordship. They were extremely powerfully and very hot. He reported that it was one of the best showering facilities ever.

The pitchs are a combination of hardstanding pitches and grass pitchs all with EHU. There is a one way system for the road and pitch 1 is one of the biggest by the facilities

The site is well located for York city centre approx 6 miles and there is a Discovery leisure group with good accessories shop 5 miles on the A64 to Malton.

The site represented excellent value for money and we will be going back to this one.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sugarwitch 1 review from this member

This site is nice and central for York and not far from Park and Ride.

The site has no facilities to speak of really. The golf club has shop but no provisions such as milk, bread etc. The kids were bored stiff as there is no were to play really just a climbing area which is not much more than a small plank of wood.

The showers were clean but very hot for young children, and the central heating wasn’t working although it was cold outside.

The site is very quiet, possibly too much so for anybody under the age of 60 and we did find that some of the seasonal caravanners were very aloof and didn’t even reply to a cordial “good morning”

Finally mustn’t forget the gunfire from Strensall firing Range which went on all weekend.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marting1717 1 review from this member

This was our first visit, and will not be the last. Efficient and friendly reception. Excellent large pitch. Toilets/showers were immaculate.

Our little boy loved the golf range. They have clubs they will lend you.

An ideal site for visiting York.

No negatives

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taviour 17 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site and once again we were not disappointed. There have been a few changes since our first visit in 2005 but none seem to have detracted from the pleasure of our stay.

There are no longer wardens camping on site – however there always seemed to be staff out and about if there are any problems.

The bar has now closed. We enquired about this and were told that it was found to be not used by the site and therefore not viable. There is a beautiful sitting area with TV and magazines in the main reception / golf shop now and food is available throughout the day at the café.

Our pitch was in the main field this time, and it was MASSIVE and benefited from being in the corner allowing excellent views across the site for people watching.

The facilities are spotlessly clean and there are notices up advising users that the water temperature can be adjusted if too hot or too cold. We didn't have to as they were fine for us, even on a cold April weekend.

We discovered the Park and Ride at Monks Cross this stay (less than 5 minutes drive from the site) It’s an excellent way of getting into York saving the stress of driving into York and finding a parking space. The £2.00 each return ‘bus fare’ works out much cheaper than car parks. (Under 16’s travel free.) Monks Cross Retail Park itself has a 24 hour Asda and Sainsburys and a host of other shops, including a dispensing Boots (open until midnight) and a Blacks.

Although we didn’t use the golf facilities this time, it is an excellent place to stay if you enjoy golf or even if you are a complete novice like myself.

We will definitely return to this site again.

Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2428 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019