Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Touring Caravan Site Reviews

CLOSED: York Touring Caravan Site
Towthorpe Moor Lane
Towthorpe
Strensall
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed from 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 85 Reviews
                8/10 from 85 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sjemms 1 review from this member

Absolutely superb site. Nice wardens, flat and rolled field, exceptionally clean (and warm) showers and toilets and bar (serving draught ale) and golf on-site. It's very close to York which is great and there's supermarkets only a couple of miles away.

The surrounding area was alright. There's a chippy just along the A64 about 2 miles from the site. It's all main roads to it, so takes about 3 minutes to get back from there. That was tasty. Other than that, there's nothing before you get into York.

The traffic on the A64 can be a nightmare. I would suggest that you explore the back route from Monks Cross to the campsite as it will save you getting caught in the traffic.

The children's playground happened to be right next to our tent, which was great as it was a mini-assault course. Neither of us had a problem with that, but it was nice that the warden did ask us if we would like to move elsewhere away from the nippers.

There was one or two very minor drawbacks. The bar was only open on Friday and Saturdays so that made our Sunday night in a tent a bit boring. I do understand the reasons why they do that, so I don't wish to criticise unduly.

The site is also locked from 11pm - 7am. Not a problem per se (and I never did find out whether locked meant properly locked, or just the caravan gate locked) but it did mean that we couldn't have a late night out in York as it takes about 15 mins to get back to the site.

Overall though, I was very impressed by this site. I will be staying here again and have also recommended my mum and dad stay there when they next go to York.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gavster 1 review from this member

Well what can I say - superb facilities, great staff, really clean and spaciously laid out. Childrens play area could do with some development but its sufficient and kids didn't complain. Pub serves a nice pint also. Staff very welcoming, friendly and most helpful, amongst the nicest I have found on any site. Will definitely revisit this place regularly.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hopscotch 1 review from this member

Just returned from this site and we haven't got a single complaint. Wardens were very helpful, facilities were spotless with plenty of hot water and nice large pitches. I even took the kids for a go on the golf driving range (they lend you clubs to use if you don't have your own) which they really enjoyed. The driving range also made a cracking cup of coffee which was ideal first thing in the morning. Definitely would return. Happy camping!

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Krakenchops 8 reviews from this member

Camped here for a few nights in mid September. It's fairly unsual to go anywhere these days and find nothing to complain about, but this site was really excellent.

The camping field is seperated from the main caravanning area by a low fence and is bordered on two sides by trees. It is also bordered by the driving range which by the way is excellent and welcomed campers at member rates. The wife and I had never played golf but we gave it ago and had a fun time.

If you need a hook-up you have to plug in through the fence onto the caravan field points. We had a 10m lead and it was just long enough. The area is completely flat, grassed and mown. It was firm enough to get the pegs in securely but soft enough to be comfortable enough to sit down on. There looked to be 10 pitches in total for tents. After 9pm I didn't hear a single peep out of anyone on both nights which was great.....

The toilet blocks are locked and you get keys when you arrived. It made the facilites feel really secure. There is also a laundry area with iron board and washer / dryer. The toilet blocks are new and absolutely immaculate. Gents and ladies had 3 showers each which were push button and free. The washing up area was also very clean. There was also a small bar area which served food in the morning and evening.

All in all a really lovely site.

Reviewer: Alison100cool 3 reviews from this member

July 2005
A very quite camp site. The Warden very nice and helpful, always around if you needed something. The Showers and toilets were clean and the field area was spotless. Close to York city centre, also just up the road is an Asda and Mcdonalds. In the laundry area, there are lots of local leaflets for things to do. A small, quite, friendly site. Other people staying on the site were friendly and not noisy on the nights. I Would use this site again.

Reviewer: John31 3 reviews from this member

July 2005
What a lovely site. Have been camping for the last nine years and would highly recommend this site. Very large pitches and a lovely enclosed area for the kids to play ball. You pay a £5 deposit for the toilet key (refundable) which I thought was an excellent idea, and makes you feel very secure when using the immaculate toilet facilities.
The warden (lovely, friendly lady) is very helpful, showed us to our pitch and told us about the brilliant park and ride at Monks Cross.

Would definitely visit this site again, fit for a queen!

Reviewer: Taviour 17 reviews from this member

July 2005

We booked our weekend here based on the reviews on this site and we were not disappointed. We arrived Friday lunchtime and were greeted by the site warden who made us very welcome and showed us to our pitch and explained where everything was. We were also given our shower block keys. (£5.00 deposit required.)

The tent field was set to one side of the main campsite, but we did not feel segregated. The field was flat and the grass well cut. The golfing range could be seen through the trees surrounding the site and it is only a short walk away for those of you wanting to hit a few balls. We had a go on the driving range (£4.00 for 100 balls, 50p discount given for campers.) and had a go on the 9 hole putting course, (£2.00 each.) There is equipment available for you to hire at no extra charge, but a deposit is needed.

The toilets and showers are immaculate. There are keys to get into then and once again we understand that this is to keep visitors to the golfing range from using OUR facilities. The showers have plenty of room for dressing in and there are washbasins in the cubical. In the ladies showers there were four hooks for your clothes and a stool for sitting on too, however, My OH tells me the men were less fortunate in the hook department, with only one a piece. There were coin operated hair dryers in both the men’s and ladies.

There is a fully equipped disabled shower room, with loo, hand washbasin, dryer and hair dryer. The shower is a purpose built, wheelchair friendly unit. This room also doubled up as a baby changing room with fold down table.

There is also a fully equipped launderette on site with coin-operated washing machine, dryer and iron. This is also the ‘information room’ with leaflets aplenty.

We went to the bar on Saturday night, it opens at 7.30pm. The prices are very reasonable and the room is very welcoming. There are board games for those who wish to play and a few magazines to read. The bar does not admit children under the age of 14, however there is seating outside to enjoy the warm evening sun and watch the world go by. The bar is none smoking. But you can smoke outside. One word of advice though..take your loo key with you as there are none in the bar area. The bar room also has a small shop attached with a few essentials, which is not always open but the warden will always open it for you if you need anything.

The site is ideally situated for visits to York. It was only 15 minutes drive away. There are no shops or pubs within close walking distance, but there is a farm shop just up the road and loads of supermarkets near York.

We have been trying to think of a negative about this site and the only thing that we can come up with is that it is quite close to the Army’s gun fire and hand grenade training school and occasionally you could hear it.. That’s as bad as it got…! : )

We would fully recommend this site to anyone wishing to stay in the York area.

Reviewer: Debbienicola 21 reviews from this member

June 2005
This site is beautiful. The toilet and shower facilities are immaculate and new. There is a small pub at the side which is adequate and the driving range next door serves hot drinks and food. We had breakfast there and the bacon butties were lovely.

There is a farm shop 5 minutes down the road, which have an area for children to see the animals. I would definitely return to this site. The kids loved it.

Reviewer: Adnil110563 2 reviews from this member

February 2005
Spent a lovely weekend here, first time out with caravan. Owners helped guide you in etc. very helpful and friendly. Site was lovely, well spaced plots, showers and toilets included in price, deposit refundable for key to toilets / shower, very clean, nice and hot. Should imagine if site was full could be a slight queue for showers as only three in both ladies and gents. Small bar on site, friendly not too expensive, small coffee shop at golf range didn't use it but looked very nice.
You can walk to the local bus, takes about 15mins and down country lane but no path so bit tricky at times, park and ride to York very good though
Not much for children (didn't take mine so not a problem) and slight noise from Army shooting rang opposite, but would go again and recommend to anyone wanting to visit York.

Reviewer: DaisyBus 1 review from this member

August 2004
A lovely, well appointed and well equipped site. Mostly caravans, but we felt very welcome in our campervan.
The showers/toilets were spacious and well kept and there was instant hot water in both the bathrooms and at the well-lit washing-up point.
The site is approximately 1 mile from the village of Strensall where there are regular buses into York (£2.40 all day ticket) We walked to and from the site, but the road is unllit and there is no pavement so is probably not the safest option!
There is supermarket at the local garage (on Strensall road) which stocks plenty of cold beers, and any other essentials you may require.
We would definately visit this site again.

Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotland’s newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3464 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019