Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Touring Caravan Site Reviews

CLOSED: York Touring Caravan Site
Towthorpe Moor Lane
Towthorpe
Strensall
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed from 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 85 Reviews
                8/10 from 85 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this site closed permanently from the end of the 2017 season, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LOOPYLUNAR 9 reviews from this member

The fully serviced hardstanding pitch was large enough but looked scruffy due to amount of weeds growing on them. If you intend to use the dog walk then you may have a problem, unless you are no more than 2 feet tall and 6 inches wide because the fir trees which have very long spikey branches will take your eyes out. The dog walk field is not mown and our little 'un came back covered in grass seeds which can irritate. We didn't see a warden for the entire week. The toilets were kept clean, all two of each of them. I think at one point I was invisible because the chap cutting the grass looked straight through me, no acknowledgement, nothing. The emphasis at this site is the golf and the caravans don't matter. When you leave the site with your 'van choose your timing if you're going to turn right onto the A64 toward York. OR PRAY. It is very, very busy. Shan't be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emmamoo 12 reviews from this member

I took my family here for a few days with our tepee. The weather was quite good and the kids nagged me about the foot golf! The pitches are nice and even, and plenty of space. Check in was easy enough. Good for a stop over not sure about much else, unless you're a golf fanatic.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Radios010101 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a few days, during a visit to York. We had a pitch with water and drainage, which worked well, and it was reasonably flat. The shower block is modern and clean, but the showers are the push button type. Each burst of water was of very short duration, requiring constant pressing. Also, a point made by someone else too, the shower head needs to be further up the wall for tall people! The golf facilities appeared to be impressive, but I didn't get the chance to try them in the short time we were there. We will go again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BexB 1 review from this member

Facilities are clean & good location for access to York. The site itself is very basic though with very little character. A point worth noting for anyone wishing to book is that the caravan site is close to a military training base & gunshots can be heard regularly (5. 30-6. 30am then 9. 30-10. 30pm) We paid for a fully serviced pitch & unfortunately the TV hook up did not work. Although we didn't mention this until checkout as we used our own aerial, there was no offer of any discount or partial refund, which I would of expected given the other reviews on the site.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Denstone 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site, shower & toilet block kept nice & clean, only two little moans, showers kept going off far too quickly, and a soap/shampoo holder would have been good so you didn't have to keep bending down in a slippery shower, there is a stool, so next time I think I will put that in the shower with me as the showers are nice and big, there is a hand rail though for you to hold onto, but this would not put us off from going back. We used the P&R at Monks Cross to take us into York, just a couple of miles up the road, buses ran every 10-12 minutes, and at 2. 80 each return well worth using instead of trying to find a car park in York itself. We only ate out once and we used the Toby Carvery again just a couple of miles from the site, very nice and staff all very friendly, there were other pubs all nearby to the site but didn't use them so we are unable to comment on service or food choose. There is just so much to do in York and the surrounding areas, we did the Train Museum, York Minster, Farming Museum, James Herriot in nearby Thirsk, Heartbeat near Whitby, so much so that we will be going back next month and we will be using the same site. The golf course next door was good priced, football golf, crazy golf but we only played crazy golf. All of the staff were very friendly, can't wait to book up again.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ishe 2 reviews from this member

There are a few pluses for this site - it is tidy and well maintained, the facilities are smart and clean and there is even a fully enclosed dog walking area where you can let your dog run off lead. In addition it is close to York on the one hand and to lovely countryside on the other. There are no shops (other than the on site golf shop and cafe) within walking distance, but a lovely fish and chip shop called Thompsons just around the corner on the A64. This is a level site.

However there are a few niggles that spoilt an otherwise nice time. We are careful to restrict ourselves to 16 amps so we don't trip any fuses but we were surprised that we only had heating on and a 1. 4kW kettle and it tripped. We then realised that it is only 10 amp supply and in winter, with heating on it means being extremely careful. We resorted to turning the heating off when using anything electrical.

For some reason most of the hardstanding pitches were isolated from the main through track meaning that the grass between was churned up (it was on our pitch when we arrived).

The shower facilities, although clean and in good repair, were a little awkward to use. Firstly I am 6ft tall and the fixed shower head is at my eye level, meaning that I had to crouch to wash face or hair. Secondly the push button water system lasts 3 seconds maximum so for this problem (not confined to this site I hasten to add) I tend to hold down the button which means I take much longer to shower than usual, which wastes water. The push buttons are quite stiff and my wife only managed to get about 2 seconds out of each push.

Another minor annoyance was the fact that the lights turn on to the toilet/showers when someone enters. However the lights stay on for about 5 minutes max. And twice I was plunged into complete darkness until I neared the entrance door again!

I thought it somewhat overpriced for the time of year.

With a few adjustments this would be a very nice site indeed.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Moustachio 4 reviews from this member

After a dreadfully slow crawl along the A64, we arrived to find a clean and pleasant site with apparently quite a few seasonal pitches. Being a golfer I enjoyed using the nearby driving range and had a couple of rounds on the nine hole course which is flat and uninteresting but good practise nevertheless. Everybody involved with the site is helpful and good natured and the facilities are kept very clean. The one thing we were not aware of and the site does not inform you of beforehand is the close proximity of an army 'war games' range. Waking or having breakfast to slightly worrying, if not annoying, sound of machine gun fire spoilt at least 4 mornings of our stay. This aside the site sits a short ride from park and ride access to York, is surrounded by good golf courses and has the village of Strensall 5 minutes away providing shop, petrol and pub facilities.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emmamoo 12 reviews from this member

This site is great! Even if it is over the road from an MOD site. It's clean and the pitches are nice. Loads of space for my kids to run around. It's not too big either so it wasn't very noisy (except the mod siren at 7am) but we didn't mind. The golf theme was great and the cafe was nice. They have foot golf which we didn't have a go but looked fun. It's easy reach of York and I will definitely stay there again. The staff were very nice too.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

Second visit, and second time I can and will recommend this site. We stayed here for along weekend, and again played football golf it really is such a giggle. I stand by everything I have said in my previous review, there has been a few little changes, the only disappointment was there is now, as I type, no play area/park for the kids, I did speak to the owners and did explain how good they are for kids to gather and make friends whilst on site. As yet there was NO answer as to if or when it would be replaced we hope it will be as we have really enjoyed our time here and hope to return soon.

Great site easy to get to plenty to do on site and loads to do around the site facilities are great and always kept immaculately clean.

Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4250 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019