Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Folkestone > Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
385 Canterbury Road, Densole
Densole
Folkestone
Kent   (Browse area)
CT18 7BG
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 138
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Osgyidos 4 reviews from this member

Used this site en route to France and booked one of the sites ferry pitches. The Site was very clean, the access was excellent even for larger vans such as ours. The Ferry Pitches are in an area adjacent to the main site so to not disturb other campers if you have an early start. This site gives easy access to both Dover and Folkestone and we will use this site again the night before our next adventure to the continent.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickwithdoodle 23 reviews from this member

Stopped for 1 night (30-05-13) prior to catching ferry to France next morning and after returning to England (03-07-13)

Typical C. C. Site, everything clean, smart and tidy. Pitches large, hard standings and flat. Come tea time I have never seen as many rabbits grazing on the grass between pitches, the dog went crazy. Toilet blocks excellent but one nearest office I suspect is due a refurb. It is looking a little tired. Small enclosed dog walk but plenty of fields to walk in nearby. Village pub 50 yards away but we did not visit and small/newsagents across road from entrance. Easy to find, just off A 20 to Dover.

All in all ideal for our purpose.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

We needed somewhere to stay for one night near to Dover and as this site had good reviews I decided to try it out. I am not a caravan club member so had to pay £10 extra and when I rang to book, the lady said that if I’d not stopped in a caravan club site before I was “in for a treat”. I asked what was so special about a caravan club site and she said that the toilet facilities were really good. Having now stayed at this site I have concluded that although the facilities are good they are not any better than several sites I have stayed at which are not caravan club sites, so I am at a loss to understand why these sites charge such a lot.

That said, we had a good sized hardstanding pitch with electricity, tap & drain and although it was near the road had no noise problems. The toilet block (women’s) contained 1 hairdryer, 2 washbasins, 4 private washbasins, 4 showers and 5 toilets - all of which were very clean. Other facilities included 2 washing machines, 1 tumble dryer plus sinks and there were 2 or 3 (can’t remember) dishwashing sinks.

Reception seemed very efficient and handed out a site plan with ferry, tunnel, village & fuel station directions. This site is very convenient for an overnight stop before catching the ferry or shuttle train.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cymru traveller 5 reviews from this member

We used this site for a one night stop going to and returning from France via the tunnel

Going out we had a good sized ferry pitch away from the road close to the facilities which were great and gave us a good first impression of this site as we had never used it before and were recommended it.

On our return we had a small pitch tucked up by the fence and next to the road. This was not such a good pitch as the noise from the main road kept us awake added to that at 3 pm in the morning someone off site in a property near by decided to play house music really loud! Which was not good when we had a 6 hour drive home the next day!

We didn't use the pub nearby but drove into Folkestone for fish and chips. On a Saturday night a chip van does come to the site as well which lots of people had

All told this is a good site for a stop over as long as you are away from the road!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs Woowar 10 reviews from this member

Ferry pitch area has been extended since we stayed last year, now covers two sections. Full normal caravan club facilities, the lady who checked us in was much friendlier than when we've been previous years ! They give you a printout with directions to nearest fuel, and to the ferries and Eurotunel. Black Horse pub opposite serves typical pub grub, nice enough but nothing amazing. Don't be late though we heard someone complain that they had rung to check serving times but still didn't get food because the chef had finished for the night.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mildi 14 reviews from this member

As with others we used this as a one nighter as we were going through the tunnel the next morning. Expensive if you are not a CC member £28 for the night on a pitch next to the road so we didn't get much sleep anyway, next time we will give it a miss and just go straight for the tunnel. Site was well kept and clean didn't see any staff so can't comment. If you need to stop over make sure you don't get a pitch next to the road

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: EMANDTIM 3 reviews from this member

We used this campsite for one night before catching a ferry and it was a very well appointed site indeed, as well as being very conveniently located for the ferry port. The local pub was lovely and a very friendly haven for a drink or food. If you visit the site in freezing conditions when it is snowing heavily, just don't expect the warden to advise you if you have any problems hooking up your electric or expect him to emerge from his cosy little house to start up his tractor and assist vehicle owners who are struggling to get their motorhomes off the sloping site in the morning. Thank goodness caravan club members are so friendly and willing to help each other out in a crisis!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nyala69 22 reviews from this member

We have stopped here a few times over the last few years when using channel ferries and found it to be a great stop over. The site is divided in to two sections, the first section is for the one night ferry stops and the lower half for the longer staying members which cuts down on disturbance of noise for the longer staying families. Just a short drive away are a good section of supermarkets for stocking up your van before the trip over the water. I have also noticed a pub over the road from the site which does food but cant comment on as we have never used it. All in all very handy site with a good bit to do round and about if you are stopping longer than a night.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Colonel Ken 1 review from this member

Site immaculate. Showers are superb. The only downfall we found was when it rained heavily our pitch got flooded.

All 7 pitches around us channelled their water to our corner. So if you think it's going to rain do not accept pitch No 81, because your awning may be under water.

The staff were very helpful but any alteration to the pitch is controlled by senior management.

Apart from that problem we still had a wonderful week.

Great to have the bus service right outside every 15 minutes to go to either Folkestone or Canterbury.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gene10 8 reviews from this member

What a super site. We spent a week here. Super Toilet block and a drying room for your towels after a shower. Very clean and all well maintained. Large flat hard standings.

Bus stops outside site Folkestone one way Canterbury the other. Buses every 15 minutes. From Canterbury you can get all over Kent by bus. From Folkestone we went to Hythe very nice promenade and lovely walking along the Military Canal. We used our bus passes all week went somewhere different everyday only did 20 miles in the car all week, must have one of the best bus services in the country.

Had a very good and inexpensive meal at The Mayfly at Hawkinge next to Llidl 10 minutes from site. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay even though it was cold and rained every day. Lots of places to visit. We will be back and hopefully find the sunshine next time.

Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4921 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019