Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Folkestone > Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
385 Canterbury Road, Densole
Densole
Folkestone
Kent   (Browse area)
CT18 7BG
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 138
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 61 to 69                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nightshifty 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here overnight while waiting to catch a ferry out of Dover. Standard Caravan Club campsite, clean and tidy with he usual facilities. Can be very busy at any time of the week so phone and book a pitch. Easy to find from M20. Didn't do any touring in the area as we just overnighted.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: R and S 17 reviews from this member

Stopped here over night before catching the ferry. As we were not leaving particularly early we were in the main part rather than the true overnighters. Very clean tidy site. Very convenient for the Ferry. Great little kids playground and friendly staff.

We will definitely use again.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NickW 12 reviews from this member

An extremely useful site for the channel ports and only ten minutes away from the tunnel.

There is a special area for those catching early ferries/shuttles. We have used this site several times and always found the wardens extremely helpful. There is a shop just opposite the site, and a small Tesco Store only a couple of minutes drive, where there is also a caravan dealer for those last minute accesories/spares.

Toilet Facilities are excellent as on all CC Sites.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beaky2 1 review from this member

Have visited this site at least once a year for the last six years. Found it to be an excellent site for touring Kent from. Facilities are very good as expected from a caravan club site and everything very well kept. Just visited again first time this year, very disappointed to find that over two thirds of the site has now been turned over to "overnighters" including most of the best pitches. The remaining 40 proper touring pitches are now very busy, plus the noise from the "overnighters" can be obtrusive at early hours. Wardens welcome was not the most cordial this year either. All a shame as this used to be a very good site I shall definitely think twice before returning again.

Date of Visit: November 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kahns 38 reviews from this member

This is typical Caravan Club stuff. The shower blocks are good, clean and warm, the motor home service point is easily accessible, the hard standings are about as level as most others (which means you may want to use levellers - we didn't bother) and a good information point.
 
The wardens are friendly enough, if not actually rolling out a red carpet when we arrived, and they seem to work hard to keep the site tidy and clean, even this time of year.
 
They have a separate short-stay area for cross-channel 'vans - this helps to reduce noise when arriving or leaving at odd hours in the night.
 
TV seemed good (reception not content) and we had mobile signals on Orange and Vodafone. An excellent little shop is right outside the main gates, selling papers and anything you'll need to prevent starvation, thirst or sobriety.
 
Buses for Canterbury or Folkestone stop within a few yards of the entrance. Canterbury is beautiful; Folkestone could be if someone loved it just a little bit more. Look beyond the tatty parts.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Di+Glyn_W 17 reviews from this member

Arrived late morning to find that the part of the site we were on was deserted! Great we thought - not so! We were in the top section, which is used by people either going out or coming into the country, looking for an overnight stay. So at 05.00am everyone who arrived late the previous evening is up and about hitching up to catch a ferry! The moral is - ask for a pitch in the lower section of the site if staying for several days.
A local military firing range also did its best to disturb a good night's kip, and only just failed. Oh! and tv reception only 'fair'.
Having said all that - IT'S A NICE SITE! Clean, tidy, fantastic facilities, and a shop across the road. Near to some great walks etc, kids had a great time, which meant so did we!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Charlstoney 1 review from this member

My husband and I recently visited this site with our small son. We borrowed a caravan for the trip and asked if it would be possible for it to be collected later than the 12.00 departure. We were told that we would have to book the pitch and pay for an extra day, even though no one would be using the caravan, or the site and facilities after we had departed shortly after breakfast. Apparently, there was not enough room and the site might have been full. As this was a Wednesday during school term, the site was half empty. As it was, we paid more than £70 for four nights anyway.

The children's play area is right next to the dog walking area. This means that the fence and gate into the play area is regularly sprayed with dog urine. On the other side of the play area is site's compost heap, which really smells - not a very pleasant environment for your little ones.

Although the toilets and showers were clean, I noticed that one of the showers in the ladies' block seemed to be permanently on, wasting a huge amount of water, while my husband mentioned that the lights did not work in the mens' shower.

Date of Visit: September 2004
Reviewer: JULIED444 61 reviews from this member

Great site, very friendly wardens. Toliet block clean and heated.
There is a small playground, and bikes are allowed. There is a dog walking area in the site. Site is open all year so will return when I do my booze cruise to France for Christmas! :-)

Reviewer: Kipperfeet 1 review from this member

May 2004
A lovely clean and tidy site with very friendly and helpful staff. Situated in a quiet location away from the main road which leads either to Folkestone (10 mins) or Canterbury (15 mins). There is no on-site shop but a local convenience store is only 5 mins walk away (it closes about 6.00pm) where most essential items may be purchased.
You do get the opportunity to have the pitch of your choice if it`s not too busy. We shall be visiting this site again at the end of this month (July) - it`s that good!

Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 69     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6217 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019