Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Folkestone > Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
385 Canterbury Road, Densole
Densole
Folkestone
Kent   (Browse area)
CT18 7BG
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 138
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bob the Builder 9 reviews from this member

My first choice for a short drive to / from the ferry ports.

The ferry pitches are excellent with the washrooms very close. Yes, there can be a small amount of noise of other people getting ready to leave at 6am but that is hardly the fault of the campsite. Perfect for what it is.

Can get booked up at the last minute very quickly if a ferry is delayed, or people miss their ferry due to traffic. Best to book first as both times we went, there were notices saying ‘Fully booked, do not pull up unless you are booked in’

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 11peewee 5 reviews from this member

Although a very busy site it was not noisy, the pitches were large and level and drain well. The toilet block was clean with plenty of showers and toilets, there was never any chance of running out of toilet paper. The ground are well maintained with a generous supply of bunnies. Just opposite the enterance is a Newsagent / Grocer.

There is massess to see and enjoy in the area with bus stop close by into either Canterbury or Folkstone.

I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I will be returning,

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RubyShoesDay 21 reviews from this member

An excellent site for anyone travelling over to France via the Channel tunnel link. Great location 10 mins drive from the terminal. Staff were efficient and perfectly geared up for late arrival, early starts. The site is up to the usual high standard of the caravan Club, excellent toilet block, showers and such. The site has set up a separate area for channel crossing travellers prior to the entry into the barriered part of the site. This causes minimum fuss for all concerned. We stayed in this section on our way over to france, the pitches were a nice mix of hard standing for your unit but a grassed strip for your awning/canopy/seating which was nicer than all hardstanding.

On our return trip we decided to stay on this site again as we had driven over from Epernay. As we had arrived mid afternoon and did not need an early start we were placed in the 'normal' site which was very pleasant, plenty of open space and little if any noise from anything and just like any other pretty site! We visited the local pub for an evening meal and a couple of pints of 'flat' beer (us northerners like a head on our pint!).

Everyone on the site was helpful and cheerful but I suppose the sun probably helped with that one. We visit France fairly regularly due to it's passion for cycling, the site will now always feature in our visits. I cannot recommend it high enough if you want to break your journey up and need nice surroundings to relax and get a good nights sleep before the next leg of your trip. We even joined the Caravan club to save money when visiting the site. Glad we did as we now stay on lots of CC sites.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maltheman 5 reviews from this member

Found the site by accident and was so impressed, laid back nothing to worry about attitude from the lady in the office with attached shop and very reasonable pricing for shop and site fees, a bit daunting were the signs everywhere about no no's and rules but put that down to management having a new printer and laminator which in fact proved to be correct

Tent field is a wide very sloping area, we were advised not to camp at bottom as it can flood, shower and toilet is alongside and we found it very clean and well serviced.

We set up at top of field on level ground when the site was empty and went touring, on return a German family had set up closely, so close in fact their guy ropes crossed ours! Others had arrived and set up sensibly including a few who hooked up to the electrical hookups

Swimming pool was great for child clean and well kept

Bar and restaurant friendly and good value although a bit heavy on the chips with everything!

Will use again without doubt site is great

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chewie 30 reviews from this member

A perfect stop over for the Channel crossings. The service is absolutely superb; and we paid for our return stop-over when we arrived so had no hassles at all when we returned to the UK.

The facilities are standard Caravan Club and the floodlights in the ferry pitches are a nice security touch. The ferry pitches are quick and easy to access and a quick walk around the site proper revealed a lovely friendly place that I would recommend to anyone.

A quick word on Milestones Caravans nearby, we had a fault on our caravan brake lights and they quickly got the problem looked at and fixed to get us on our way; they are very handy and again heartily recommended to anyone who needs essential parts or maintenance either on the way from the UK or when you return.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: D S B 26 reviews from this member

A really nice site! The wardens were friendly and welcoming. We were pitched at the top end of the site which was only one row away from the 'one-night-stand' pitches, and before the security barrier. This worried me a little - not just because of the security issue, but because of the closeness to the short stay area. However, we were not at all bothered by late arrivals and early departures.

The individual pitches were adequate to large. Our pitch could easily take the caravan, awning and car on the hardstanding and was fairly generously surrounded by grass. The toilet facilities were up to the usual high

Caravan Club standard, and the site (being a Club site) represented good value for money.

The shop, opposite the entrance (also a post office) was adequate for 'local shopping', but supermarkets in Folkestone were but a short car journey away. Apart from Lidl, Sainsbury's was the closest, and Tesco was just one junction on the M20.

The site is ideal for those wishing to catch the ferry/tunnel to France, but is good for a longer stay also. Some might be inclined to visit Dover Castle (and the WW2 'Secret' war tunnels) and other castles along the coast. Those with children might be hard pushed to find a sandy beach, but the area is well worth a stay, with plenty of places to visit. We hope to return later on in the year.

Date of Visit: January 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Neil and lena 50 reviews from this member

Good site if your catching a ferry or Eurotunnel

Site wardens friendly and helpful

Toilets and showers good and up to C.C standards

Nice Pub 400 yards from site which is friendly and does reasonable food.

Small Tesco's 1 mile from site in Hawkinge Village

Also a small general store / news agent across the road from site which is handy if you need bread or milk.

The Top part of the site is for 1 nighter's who are catching ferry's or the channel tunnel and the lower part is for longer stays.

Will use again whenever were of to Europe

Date of Visit: January 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: MJT.MIKE 2 reviews from this member

Excellent position for Dover easy access especially for larger units

Very popular for ferry crossings

We arrived early hours after returning from Spain found our instructions easy to follow

Staff really helpful and friendly

Toilets clean and very warm plenty of room

Shop opposite for newspapers etc really friendly staff

Pub within walking distance but did not use

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Boardmans 8 reviews from this member

Just used as a stop over to and from France. Only 15 mins from Dover so convenient for the ferry, but worth a longer trip to discover the area as this is a really nice site.

Shop just over the road and a couple of pubs close by. Just a few minutes by car into Folkestone itself.

The Wardens are, as ever, really helpful and on this very busy site, particularly efficient. We didn't realise we should have paid in advance and this was not a problem at all. It's easier for the Wardens if this is done as it speeds up check in when busy - and it really does get busy in reception.

On our outward journey we stayed in the short stay area, which is designated for ferry users to minimise disturbance to other campers. No issues at all and considerate neighbours who made every effort to leave quietly.

2 weeks later and the site was quieter so sited in the main campsite. Nice grass pitch, awoke the next morning to find we were the only van in the grass area, around 12 others left without making much noise.

Play area for the younger kids and very tame rabbits wondering around.

Would recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jennifernn 17 reviews from this member

The site was very busy as it was a BH weekend, but the facilities coped well.

Since we were last here in 1999, more of the site has been given over to the 'Ferry Pitches', so we were down the far end where it was very quiet.

Only the toilet block in the ferry area has disabled facilities, so we chose a pitch right next to the water point and used our own facilities instead. The second toilet block does have all the other facilities including veg prep/dishwashing, laundry, and a very useful drying room.

Plenty of shopping opportunities within the area, including a brand new Lidl only a few minutes drive towards Folkestone.

Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4981 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019